We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food, Great Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Great Room”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We had visited a couple of years ago, and were determined to return this year. Having made the booking at late notice we were not disappointed. Dinner was fantastic, washed down wit Edradour Whisky, made locally, and the breakfast was truly splendid.
Our room was even better than last time we stayed, with a great en-suite and lovely view.
Would thoroughly recommend a stay!

dickydonut

Room Tip: Luxurious Room & en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickydonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear 'Dickydonut', Thank you for returning to the Knockendarroch and for taking the time to write a review - it is nice to hear that we lived up to your previous visit. Yes, Edradour is a popular whisky choice given it is so close. It would be lovely to see you again sometime.
Best wishes from all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    71
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
659
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a very warm welcome and ongoing attentive care during our stay here. Staff were friendly but professional and seemed to take a real pride in their work. They were knowledgeable about food, wine, local attraction etc. Breakfast and dinner were excellent.
We booked a room with a balcony so we had great views. Would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royston63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear 'royston63', We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would return at a future date. Your comment on friendly and professional service is exactly what we try to achieve.
Best wishes from all the Team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

A really good find. We had a lovely room very comfy and clean. The chefs produce the most delicious food.
The staff were all very courteous and helpful. We really do not have anything other than very positive memories of a too short, but extremely pleasant stay in a very warm and friendly hotel. Thank you to all.
Tina McLaren & Chris Newton

Room Tip: We had room number 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisinstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear Tina and Chris, We aim to offer a friendly and professional service and a warm welcome to all of our guests, as well as the best quality local produce - so thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed these aspects of your stay with us. It would be lovely to see you again. Best wishes Liz and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expat in Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two days while exploring Central Scotland. The public spaces in the hotel are really lovely and the staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and could have eaten there both nights, it was really top-notch--we enjoyed it more than one of the "Top Picks" mentioned by one of our guides.

My only criticism of the hotel, and the reason I am not giving it five stars is our room. It was nicely decorated, enough space, and clean, but in a horrible location. We were in room number one and between the dining room and the kitchen and behind the reception. As a result, we could hear anyone coming or going and when the breakfast started in the morning, we were up as well. It didn't end up being too big of a problem for us as a lot of the guests were older so it was quiet in the evening, but with a different crowd there it could have made our stay intolerable. And since we were on the ground floor we had no view whatsoever.

As long as you avoid room #1, you can have a lovely stay there. I'll stay again if I'm back in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid Room #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear 'expatgrl', I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and rated our food so highly. We have many different types of rooms and our ground floor room is actually our most requested, but I am sorry that it was not suitable for you. I am very glad that you would like to return as we would love to see you again. Best wishes. Liz and all the Team at Knockendarroch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Of England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My partner and I have just returned from our two night stay and what a lovely hotel this is. From the moment we walked into the reception area, the staff were friendly, helpful and pleasant and this continued throughout. The bedroom was spacious and very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had breakfast and an evening meal on both days and we enjoyed the variety of beautiful cooked food. We received complimentary drinks on the second night due to dinner being ten minutes late. I thought this was very professional of the staff to do this and I felt they were truly sorry for the delay. I would deffinately book again but for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattycakes46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Dear 'KarenP45', It was lovely having you both stay with us and I am very glad that we might see you again at some future date. Best wishes Liz and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife and I are just back from a weekend visit here. The room was bright and comfortable. Service provided by the very friendly staff was excellent, and the meals were very good. We would certainly consider coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euanp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear 'euanp1', We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and a trip to the theatre. It would be lovely to see you again.
Best wishes
The Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welwyn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We recently enjoyed a three night break with elderly parents at Knockendarroch. The staff and service were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The food continues to be odf the highest standard with great use of local produce. A tip is you can do a weekend from London to Pitlochry by rail - no changes and there by dinner !

Room Tip: Check out the views from rooms 9,10 and 11 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pottse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear 'pottse', we really enjoyed seeing you all again. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay and for taking the time to write a review. Best wishes.
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,783 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing