We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Have just returned from a two night stay at the Knockendarroch House Hotel. My wife and I had decided at the last minute that we needed a wee break and on the advice of a friend we booked a short stay here and we are glad we did. The rooms were very comfortable, and we experienced both standard and superior rooms. The standard room was extremely well appointed and spacious but lacking the fantastic views of the similarly appointed superior room 4. The food was excellent with varied menus on both nights and the staff could not have been more attentive in a very helpful and friendly way. The public lounge with the open log fires was extremely comfortable too. Our very short visit to this most comfortable and friendly hotel will hopefully be repeated soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear 'GeorgeAli', Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you and we are delighted that you took your friend's advice!
Best wishes, Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

Spent two nights DBB at Knockendarroch and booked on basis of great reviews. We were not dissapointed, it lived up to our best expections. Room on top floor with small balcony and great views to the river and South was modern with all facilities expected of a well run hotel. Dinner and breakfasts faultless.Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alimactoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear'alimactoo', Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back - can't guarantee such good weather!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Knockendarroch for a 3 night DBB winter break at the end of March. We chose the hotel after reading previous reviews on this site and were not disappointed. The hotel is up a hill, but well placed for quick access to the centre of the town. The accommodation was excellent, rooms were exceptionally clean, bright and airy, well furnished and the tea tray was re-stocked each day. We were in a standard room as the superiors were already taken, but had no issues with the size of the room and we had great views over the houses to the hills beyond. The staff were excellent, great service throughout the stay and had suggestions for places to visit and walks in the area. The meals were fabulous - breakfast was very, very good, but dinner was exceptional, with menus changing each day of our stay. The lounge area with log fires was very welcoming before dinner and a chance to chat with other guests, many of who were return visitors. A must is a visit to the Edradour Distillery, which is walking distance (through the woods and well signed), from the town.

We had a great stay and would definitely return if we visited this area again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSCDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear 'GSCDurham', It's nice that you took advantage of our 3 night Winter break as it gives you plenty of time to enjoy the hotel and the local places of interest. The log fires are a big hit with our guests in Winter and the Autumn, but over the last few days they have been sitting outside taking in the sun!
We hope to see you again. Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights April 2012. Having read all the great reviews on trip advisor we had high hopes. They were all met.

The room we were in (3) was lovely. A good size, spotless, and well appointed. It had nice views too. The public lounge area with it's 2 open fires was a nice spot to sit and have a cuppa in the afternoon or after a meal too.

We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights, and both nights the food was lovely. At £25 a head for a 3 course meal with coffee it was also good value. The meat was always perfectly cooked and the portions were just about spot on I'd say.

Breakfasts were good too.

The only thing I would mention (and should have done when we were checking out, oops) that could be improved on at meal times (and this is both breakfast and evening), was attentiveness to drinks. Our water jug and glasses sat empty both nights, as did our drinks glasses. A very minor point I'll agree, but a point all the same.

As a lot of other people have mentioned, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. All of the serving staff and front of house staff made us feel completely welcome and at home.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Knockendarroch.....in fact I already have to my neighbour.

Room Tip: Didn't see any others, but room 3 was a corner room with 2 windows, and was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frootloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear 'fruitloops', Thank you for your review and feedback with we greatly appreciate. Thank you for telling your neighbour!
Best wishes, Liz and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Friendly staff who could not do enough for us. we stayed in the four poster room over easter so the hotel was full, however I could not fault it, as the servce form the staff was faultless throughout or stay. Everything in our room was in immaculate condition and I loved the modern Scottish feel using muted tweeds in the curtains and cushions giving the room a luxurious feel. The room had lovely views, quiet location, very comfy bed (with good quality sheets). We had dinner on 2 nights, good choice of menu and food superb. The menu had a good choice using fresh local ingredients. I had duck one night and lamb the next, both cooked to perfection. Freshly cooked breakfast and as much toast and coffee as required. Its only a few minutes walk to Pitlochry anf there are good walks from the door, so need to move the car. I almost don't want to tell anyone so it doesn't get booked up for our next stay....

Room Tip: four poster room is a good choice with plenty of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishwifie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear 'scottishwife', Thank you so much for taking the time to write a reivew of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our newly refurbished four poster room. We do aim to keep a subtle Scottish feel to the hotel whilst keeping a current twist so we are glad you approved!
Best wishes from us all, Liz and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We spent the weekend at this hotel and couldnt fault it. The staff were lovely, the food was excellent, gorgeous room with fantastic views, great location close to town centre. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SShearer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Manager at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear 'SShearer83', Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your couple of days at the Knockendarroch.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We have just spent three nights at Knockendarroch which met all our expectations and more service, rooms,staff were all perfect. The thing that made this weekend was the food it was fab one of our party is really fussy bet even he tried things and said it was good top marks to the chef.We will be recommending the knockendarroch to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186534Shazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear '186534Shazza', Thank you for your kind comments on your stay at the Knockendarroch. We are delighted that all of your party enjoyed the food! Thank you for recommending us.
Best wishes, Liz and the Knockendarroch Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,939 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pitlochry
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 17 in Pitlochry
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £156 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing