We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
devon england
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here with our 11 year old son, and really enjoyed it, beds were lovely and comfortable.
Food in the restaurant was outstanding, in fact my husband said it is the best steak he has ever eaten.
We have booked again as we enjoyed our stay so much.
The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.
Two things, this is an old house and the floorboards do creak a little and you can hear people walking past your room because of this, if you are a light sleeper you may need to ask for a room where people walking past wouldn't be a problem. The Scottish air normally knocks me out cold at 10pm every night so not a problem for us.
The Second is the room service menu, is limited to soup and sandwiches,which is fine but with a tray charge PER PERSON, I think it was £5 each, it really makes it totally un-affordable, I can only assume it is done to put guests off of ordering room service. But over all I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozziefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear 'mozziefood', Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and had a good night's sleep. Thank you also for your helpful comments (we'll make it clearer that a tray charge does not apply to soup and sandwiches), and we very much look forward to seeing you next time!
Best wishes
Liz and the rest of the team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    73
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
69
665
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

we stayed for two nights at this lovely hotel, and found the accommodations charming, the rooms large and with lovely views, the staff exceptionally friendly, and the food truly excellent. would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_trac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear 'd_trac', thank you for recommending the Knockendarroch Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of your company next time you are in Scotland.
Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed just the one night on our tour of Scotland. We had a birthday celebration dinner which was excellent. Our premier room on the top floor was spotlessly clean, had lovely decor and a great little balcony with fabulous views. The bed and bedding were lovely and contributed to a really good nights sleep.
All the staff were friendly and most helpful. Stairs to the top were a bit daunting but probably good for us and the team were more than happy to carry our luggage up and down.
All in all a lovely if short stay.
Recommended

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johncuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear 'johncuk7', Thank you so much for your kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed your birthday dinner - and a good night's sleep during your tour of Scotland! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Best wishes from all the Team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was the second visit my wife and I have made to this hotel and I am please to say I found the place to the same high standard as our first trip. We stayed in room 2 this time and found the decor tasteful, beds comfortable and room spotless. Breakfasts were great and the evening meals delicious (I recommend the Thai Chicken curry). The staff are friendly and attentive but not to the extent of being intrusive. Views from the bedroom lounge area were brilliant and thankfully the weather was good. Had the bonus of seeing the jubilee beacon ablaze on top of a nearby mountain accompanied by fireworks, some stirring music and complimentary fizz laid on by the staff. A wonderful visit.

Room Tip: Room 2 - 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear 'Gary P', Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. It was lovely to see you both again and I am so glad you enjoyed the room, the service and the food. I'm glad you could join us for the Jubilee Beacon and fireworks which turned out to be a fun evening. We very much hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes, Liz and the rest of the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We spent one night at the Knockendarroch Hotel as we travelled home from Orkney. The hotel was spotlessly clean and we stayed in a standard room which was very pleasant. Dinner was fantastic as was breakfast and we received a very warm welcome fron Maria. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful-we loved Pitlochry too-it reminded us of Banff in Canada. So thanks to you all and we will be back.

Room Tip: First floor premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear 'angela I', Thank you for your positive review of the Knockendarroch. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to return at a future date. We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes Liz, Maria and the rest of the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were looking forward to staying in this hotel as it was the most highly rated in Pitlochry. We were disappointed as we thought it would be excellent, but it was only very good.

We warmly greeted on arrival when the receptionist arrived after we pressed the bell in the hall.

Our room was on the second floor. It was accessed by a relatively steep staircase which would present a problem for some guests. The room and bathroom were relatively small but scrupulously clean. The decor was bland, inoffensive and unremarkable. The toiletries provided in the bathroom were indifferent and not worth taking home. The bed was comfortable. Another good feature Was the provision of complimentary bottled water. The highlight of the room was a small balcony equipped with a small table and two chairs. This had very good views.

We asked for a bucket of ice and this was provided promptly - with a smile.

We looked forward to dinner but we were disappointed as we expected it to live up to the outstanding reviews on this site. The menu was uninspiring and did not have the creativity, flair or finesse of the five star reviews: the food was very good; it was not excellent. The wine list was limited and expensive to boot.

Breakfast was very good and it was served promptly. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, the full breakfast, the tea and coffee were good. The orange juice was not of the highest quality and I don't like paper napkins.

Overall this was a very good hotel which clearly meets the needs of almost all of its clients. The staff were friendly and attentive; the hotel was comfortable; and the food was very good. However, it is relatively expensive ans not a five star excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear 'Crystal2161', Thank you for your review. I am glad you thought we were very good. The balcony rooms are great for panoramic views of the valley, and perhaps you will choose a premier room on our first floor for your next visit!
Best wishes from Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have just returned from a three nights stay at Knockendarroch & would recommend this hotel. The staff, food and room were all first class.

Room Tip: We had room 15 which had a small balcony and views over the valley. The bathroom also had a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear 'Christine E', Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the views of the valley from your balcony room.
Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,809 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
877 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing