We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Vang Vieng, Laos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay here”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Knockendarroch House Hotel is wonderful. Myself and my boyfriend stayed here a couple of weeks ago for three nights and would definitely go back. The staff were so nice and helpful and the food, breakfast and dinner, were great. We had a wonderful view from our room and the hotel also sells discounted tickets for Blair castle which we took advantage of.
The hotel is only a 2 minute walk from the town center and there is plenty to do in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 2 which was lovely, comfortable and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megs2491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear 'megs2491', Thank you for your review and the great photographs of your room and view. We are only a short walk to the town centre but the elevated position means we get good views over Pitlochry. I am delighted you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you again.
Best wishes, Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    71
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
649
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stay in Pitlochery a couple of times a year because it is a good centre if you are , like us, very fond of Perthshire. For our latest trip we fancied a change of place to stay. A dangerous thing to do, there are so many dodgy places out there masquerading as 'Hotels'. We picked The Knockendarroch House Hotel after reading Trip Advisor reviews and we picked a cracker. Our room was superb, pristine and with wonderful views across the valley. The food is very very good with daily changing menu's, not 'Michelin' but the price isn't either. The owner and her staff made us very welcome, providing assistance with the luggage etc. They could not have been nicer. They even seem to get a nicer class of guest staying here too!!
Number one on our next trip north.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear 'Philateley', We are so glad you gave us a try! - and absolutely thrilled that we are top of your list for your next visit to Pitlochry. We very much look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Really enjoyed staying at this place for the weekend, we booked a balcony room (which is an extra £20 a night), it was small but nicely decorated in a modern style, with a little balcony. Nice room, not suitable for people with limited mobility though, it's up 2 flights of stairs, the second flight being really steep (not a problem for us). Nice firm bed, quality linen and great towels. There's no fridge in the room, but there's tea and coffee making facilities, and the ladies there offered to chill my special bottle of wine which I'd brought with me.

Service at this place is great, the staff can't do enough for you, the Euros were on during our visit and the staff very kindly delivered our desserts and coffee to the room so my partner didn't miss his football!

The food is really nice here, a small menu and it's all fresh. The menu is limited (ie 2 fish choices less choice in the red meat) and it is 3 courses + petit fours. Portion size is small which is good when there are 3 courses on the menu. There was a vegetarian option as well.
Desserts were really nice. They make their own little breadrolls, which are lovely.

Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and very nice, I really liked their scrambled eggs (and I am well fussy about eggs!)

Most of the clientele were a lot more " mature aged" than us, and the hotel is very popular with theatre goers, they do an early dinner for people going to shows at the Pitlochry Theatre.

Hotel is handily situated for the main shopping street of Pitlochry, up a hill, 5 minute walk, in a quiet residential street.

Overall we really loved our weekend here, it was a quality experience.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms on top floor are great, for the fitter person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusansBackInScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear 'goodchick, We are delighted that you really enjoyed your weekend at the Knockendarroch. Yes, the views from the balcony rooms are great for those who are able to climb two flights of stairs - fortunately, we do have rooms to suit everyone. We are only too happy to be of service, including desserts in front of the TV to watch football! We very much hope to see you again. Best wishes from Liz and the rest of the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon england
Level Contributor
230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here with our 11 year old son, and really enjoyed it, beds were lovely and comfortable.
Food in the restaurant was outstanding, in fact my husband said it is the best steak he has ever eaten.
We have booked again as we enjoyed our stay so much.
The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.
Two things, this is an old house and the floorboards do creak a little and you can hear people walking past your room because of this, if you are a light sleeper you may need to ask for a room where people walking past wouldn't be a problem. The Scottish air normally knocks me out cold at 10pm every night so not a problem for us.
The Second is the room service menu, is limited to soup and sandwiches,which is fine but with a tray charge PER PERSON, I think it was £5 each, it really makes it totally un-affordable, I can only assume it is done to put guests off of ordering room service. But over all I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozziefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear 'mozziefood', Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and had a good night's sleep. Thank you also for your helpful comments (we'll make it clearer that a tray charge does not apply to soup and sandwiches), and we very much look forward to seeing you next time!
Best wishes
Liz and the rest of the team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

we stayed for two nights at this lovely hotel, and found the accommodations charming, the rooms large and with lovely views, the staff exceptionally friendly, and the food truly excellent. would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_trac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear 'd_trac', thank you for recommending the Knockendarroch Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of your company next time you are in Scotland.
Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed just the one night on our tour of Scotland. We had a birthday celebration dinner which was excellent. Our premier room on the top floor was spotlessly clean, had lovely decor and a great little balcony with fabulous views. The bed and bedding were lovely and contributed to a really good nights sleep.
All the staff were friendly and most helpful. Stairs to the top were a bit daunting but probably good for us and the team were more than happy to carry our luggage up and down.
All in all a lovely if short stay.
Recommended

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johncuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear 'johncuk7', Thank you so much for your kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed your birthday dinner - and a good night's sleep during your tour of Scotland! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Best wishes from all the Team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was the second visit my wife and I have made to this hotel and I am please to say I found the place to the same high standard as our first trip. We stayed in room 2 this time and found the decor tasteful, beds comfortable and room spotless. Breakfasts were great and the evening meals delicious (I recommend the Thai Chicken curry). The staff are friendly and attentive but not to the extent of being intrusive. Views from the bedroom lounge area were brilliant and thankfully the weather was good. Had the bonus of seeing the jubilee beacon ablaze on top of a nearby mountain accompanied by fireworks, some stirring music and complimentary fizz laid on by the staff. A wonderful visit.

Room Tip: Room 2 - 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear 'Gary P', Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. It was lovely to see you both again and I am so glad you enjoyed the room, the service and the food. I'm glad you could join us for the Jubilee Beacon and fireworks which turned out to be a fun evening. We very much hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes, Liz and the rest of the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing