We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed for a night in August - dinner, bed and breakfast. It was great. Spotlessly clean room, the bed was very comfy and we had a nice view over the surrounding hills. Dinner was amazing and the breakfast was really nice too. The hotel is very well maintained and has quite a bit of genuine character to it. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear James C, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the views and the character of the hotel, which we also love. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes Liz and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    66
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
607
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

This independent, privately owned hotel makes a welcome change from the average chain hotel. OK, chain hotels have their plus points – generally you know what you’re going to, but they tend to be impersonal, soulless places that you quickly forget. Not so this hotel.

We visited this hotel for three nights a Big Birthday celebration. For us, it ticked every box.

The hotel itself is in a quiet location, but within a 5 minute walk of the main street running through Pitlochry.

The welcome was very warm and genuine. We were shown to our room and were given help with our luggage (this was welcome; there is no lift, and my wife does not travel light!) The room was pleasant, a reasonable size, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean.

The service standard throughout was superb. Staff members were highly attentive without being intrusive; nothing was too much trouble. I cannot praise them highly enough. We saw a young lady called Mar mostly, and she was especially helpful.

Dinners were very pleasant, relaxed affairs, beautifully cooked and well presented. Gaps between courses suited us very well; not so fast as to make you feel rushed, and not so slow as to make you feel forgotten. The change of menu each evening was also appreciated, as were the canapés offered with the pre dinner drink. Breakfasts were fine too. If you’ve ever experienced a fried egg sitting on a hotplate in a self service arrangement, you will appreciate the breakfasts here; they were cooked to order.

The hotel provides early dinners for those visiting Pitlochry Theatre as we did on one occasion – and the really nice touch was that complimentary transport was provided to and from the Theatre.

One final touch – it was my Big Birthday on the final night, and my dessert was especially decorated marking the occasion! Excellent!

Overall, a great stay. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone. I would definitely stay again when in Pitlochry.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Honest-Jim, Thank you for choosing the Knockendarroch for your special Birthday celebration. We are so happy that you enjoyed the whole experience and grateful for you taking the time to write about it. It was lovely seeing all your family come together and it was our pleasure to make sure it went as smoothly as possible.
Best wishes from all the Team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just home from a visit to Pitlochry - we enjoy the Festival Theatre greatly, this time we saw the very amusing Pam Ayres.
We stayed at the wonderful Knockendarroch House Hotel. Beautifully decorated and furnished, immaculate in every way. The Staff are so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble and the meals are truely delicious; we can't wait for our next visit in November. Many thanks Liz and your superb team. See you soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sqwarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear sqwarker, We do our very best to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay with us, and it is very rewarding to receive such positive feedback - so, thank you. We, of course, very much look forward to welcoming you back in November!
Best wishes, Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

At the beginning of May this year my wife and I visited the Knockendarroch for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay so we decided to return this week to celebrate my birthday. We were not disappointed as we were well looked after by Liz and her team. Our room was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The meals, both dinner and breakfast, were excellent. Indeed we are looking forward to our next visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear GeorgeAli, Thank you for choosing to come back to the Knockendarroch and for taking the time to write a review. It's a pity we didn't know it was your birthday! We all very much hope to see you both again.
Best wishes, Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from the Knockendarroch Hotel after a two night stay gifted to us by our children for our 40th wedding anniversary. This hotel is a jewel in Pitlochry's crown! The staff couldn't have been more helpful, pleasant and genuinely warm.

The food, at dinner and breakfast is outstanding, with the dinner menu changing daily.

Our room, which had a small balcony was immaculate (the standard throughout the hotel), well furnished and fresh. The bed was huge and so comfortable. I have to comment on the towels, as they were snow white, thick and "fluffy". The balcony was a bonus, as the weather was excellent, and I got some great pictures as a memento.

The lounge is comfortable and very pleasant to sit in. One of the things that impressed me was the immaculate standard of the painting of the cornices and ceiling roses in the lounge and dining room - great workmanship.

We were kindly given a complimentary drink to celebrate our anniversary,

Downside - we only had two nights and could happily have stayed at Knockendarroch for much longer.

Congratulations to everyone who work hard to make this hotel experience just a wee bit special.

We will most definitely be back..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear tamtheman, Thank you so much for your kind review and recommendation. It makes us very happy to know that you both enjoyed your special anniversary at the Knockendarroch. Yes, the cornices and ceiling roses are intricate - and the painter was very relieved when he had finished! Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay, it means a lot to us.
Best wishes from all the Team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

what can we say, this place was a delight in all respects. we stayed 5 nights and ate in every night. The food, the service and the accomodation was all a delight . Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was of a very high standard and delicious. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and look forward to visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beardyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear beardyboy1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us - including dinner each night. It would be lovely to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes, Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The Premier room was a lot smaller than we expected and looked a bit tired BUT the quality of decoration was very good. The Spanish lady who seemed to be the mainstay of ops was excellent. She couldn't have been more helpful; she got the small things right that make the difference between good and excellent service. The food was fantastic. So, don't let first impressions put you off. It's a great place and we will go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBBO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear ROBBO57, Thank you for recommending the Knockendarroch. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and the service - Maria is very happy with your comments. The hotel has undergone major refurbishments over the past three years and your room was redecorated just a few months ago with Zoffany wallpaper. We would love to see you again so please give us a call and we can match the best room for you - maybe one of our balcony rooms which are more contemporary with great views.
Best wishes from Liz, and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 12 bedroom 4 star hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. All rooms are individually styled, with an option to choose from larger premier rooms or rooms with private balcony. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing