We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Return Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Return Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

After a two year gap, we returned to this excellent hotel to find everything as well organised as ever. A lovely room, splendid food and a most helpful and friendy staff who have all been there for a while now. This continuity shows through in the service.
Having stayed in several Pitlochry hotels, we would rate this as the best and one that we already plan to return to next month.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barney067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear barney067, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are a well formed and established team but always looking to make improvements! Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Best wishes
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    66
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
607
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

12th to 14th April 2013 - Where do I start? In November 2012, my now wife and I first contacted Liz and Elaine regarding our plans to have a low key small and intimate wedding inviting only close family and friends. Our wedding party totalled 24 people and we found that the Knockendarroch hotel fitted our needs exactly. The hotel is full of character, with chic modern touches and is exceptionally clean and well presented. The hotel sits within private grounds only 200 metres from the Main Street in an elevated position. The views over the surrounding landscape are absolutely beautiful. We wanted to get married by a registrar in the hotel itself and this involved negotiations with the local authorities. What I can say is that as the wedding date approached, Liz and her team at the Knockendarroch were great to deal with and nothing was too much trouble. They handled our requests with ease, changing small details to ensure that my wife and I had a perfect day. This was the Knockendarroch's first wedding and all I can say is that you would never have known. From the moment we arrived, my wife and I were made to feel very special indeed. From Champagne reception, to the ceremony and then onto the wedding meal, we could not have asked for more. The wedding meal was not a set menu and guests’ choices were catered for individually. My compliments go to the chef who prepared a truly wonderful and first class meal, which was enjoyed by all. The staff were very friendly, polite and attentive too, ensuring that all the needs of guests were attended to.
All in all, my wife and I had a truly enjoyable and memorable occasion and Liz, Elaine and the team went above and beyond to ensure that our weekend went to plan. We cannot thank you enough for this fantastic break in the Knockendarroch Hotel. We will see you on our wedding anniversary! Thank you and kind regards, Richard & Pauline, Edinburgh.

Room Tip: All rooms are very luxurious and comfortable. The two bedrooms with balconies offer spectacular view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Richard and Pauline, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your wedding at the Knockendarroch. We could see that you were both smitten with the venue (and each other, of course!) and were only too happy to do our best in helping to make your day perfect. We wish you both the very best of happiness together, and would love to welcome you back on your Anniversary!
Best wishes
Liz, Elaine, Angus, Mar, Maria and the rest of the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed one night in room with a balcony and and wish we booked 2 nights. Had sandwiches and scones with home made jam and cream in the lounge on arrival, followed by a fantastic meal later in he evening, breakfast was also fantastic. Table service for all meals and drinks and service with a smile. Bedroom like the rest of the hotel was spotless and very comfortable. Faultless .

Room Tip: Everything is first class so would be happy with any room, it's just personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear HelenMorgan11, Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay with us. Sandwiches and scones in the lounge are always a hit. It would be lovely to see you again - maybe for 2 nights!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is chic whilst homely with excellent facilities. The staff are very friendly; attentive whilst not overbearing. Everything is considered including phoning to ascertain if you need collection from the railway station. Overall, the experience was exceptional - I was sharing a twin room with my elderly Mother and we both enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Wilma1922, Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your trip home. We really like your description of the hotel, 'chic but homely', and we are very glad you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us. Please come and see us again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for two relaxing nights for her birthday. All the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and I phoned a few days before our arrival date to arrange a small birthday cake and a particular bottle of champagne, which was not on their menu, and it was all sorted out.
The menu was well balanced and the food was beautifully cooked and tasty. A couple we talked to before dinner on the first night said they stay there twice a year and the food is to die for. They are not wrong.
The room we had is lovely and you can adjust the temperature ,unlike some hotels we have stayed in, so that you can get a decent nights sleep in a really comfy bed.
The lounge is the perfect place to relax before and after dinner with log fires and plenty of whisky.
The hotel is close enough to the main street to walk there easily but far enough away to be really peaceful. you are not going to be disturbed by traffic noise or pubs.
I am not one for writing reviews but, I really wanted to thank all the staff at the hotel for making our stay so good. they did everything right and we couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveC240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear SteveC240, I am very glad you decided to write a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and it is really thoughtful to thank the team. We know how important special occasions can be, so we were only too happy to arrange your requests for your wife's birthday. It would be lovely to see you again sometime.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Outstanding stay at Knockendarroch House Hotel. Went for one night and opted for the balcony room with provided wonderful views. Service, cleanliness & food exceptional. They have recently won tripadvisor awards and they deserve this without question. This is a unique small hotel where you will feel relaxed and comfortable throughout your stay. Compliments to the chef - the dinner as well as breakfast was first class. Thank you. (We will be back)

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are wonderful - we had a peek in a standard room and this was equally as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Jennifer015, Thank you so much for your review which highlights all thing key things we strive to achieve for our guests: relaxation and comfort, good food, friendly service, and cleanliness. We are only a small, private hotel, but we feel very proud when we get it right for our guests, so thank you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Kockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

If your looking for Peace and Tranquillity go no further, I was glad it was snowing for an excuse to stay in. Comfy sofa's next to log fire being served freshly ground coffee with yummy home made shortbread, what more could you ask for.
Rooms were clean, warm and comfortable, staff were pleasant and attentive, Food was Fabulous with just enough to choose from, wine list was good value for money with some excellent choices. We definitely would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear karen s, Our log fires are always popular, especially when it's snowing outside! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the weather, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Liz and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 12 bedroom 4 star hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. All rooms are individually styled, with an option to choose from larger premier rooms or rooms with private balcony. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing