We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island of bliss at the gateway to the highlands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Island of bliss at the gateway to the highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Excellent food both at breakfast and dinner. The decor is both contemporary and in keeping with the age of the hotel. The level of cleanliness and the attention of the staff were far beyond the tariffs that they charge for the rooms and facilities.
This is a real find and exceptionally well managed hotel. Service is discrete but personable and not overbearing. Liz keeps a watchful eye over the guests and she is a master of her craft in keeping standards in this small but well located hotel.
I will definitely returning soon.

Room Tip: There is only one bedroom on the ground floor (good if you are stair impaired). Bedroom 2 was deligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear andrew m, We do certainly aim to keep our standards as high as possible and it is rewarding when this is recognised by our guests, so thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    66
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
607
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fortrose, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for a two night February break, on the recommendation of friends, and found the Knockendarroch "perfect" in every way. From the inviting lounges with open fires, to the spacious bedroom and bathroom with quality furnishings,to the restaurant with superb and well presented food, including Highland produce,to the attentiveness of staff ,the Knockendarroch House Hotel offers delightful and perfect accommodation in a stunning part of Scotland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear margaret b, Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and very grateful to your friends for recommending us! We would love to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The warmest of welcomes, well-appointed rooms and the most relaxing lounges with log fires. A quiet and comfortable environment that all of our party appreciated and enjoyed. Topped off by genuinely delicious dinners and breakfasts - we will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJI14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear TGI14, Thank you for choosing the Knockendarroch as a meeting point for your party, and thank you for your kind review. Please come and see us again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I decided to treat my husband to a one night stay at the knockendarroch house hotel,and it certainly was a treat!
We were made very welcome(even by the cat who loiters at the door hoping to sneak in) and found every member of staff friendly,helpful and professional.
We were in room 2,a spotlessly clean, lovely bright room with all you would expect and found it to be very comfortable,the only slight criticism would be that the bath seemed a little shorter than normal,but adequate.
The dining room was cosy and the meal was faultless,I have been fortunate enough to eat at some very good restaurants, here and abroad, and the food at knockendarroch was as good as any of those with more awards.To be honest, if you are a plain eater the menu may not suit you,and when my main course of guinea fowl and my husband's venison arrived I thought the portions seemed a bit small but both meals were well balanced and filling and most importantly.... delicious.
Service in the restaurant was very good at dinner and then at breakfast the following morning.
I would be very happy to stay here again,in fact, I look forward to it, and would be happy to recommend knockendarroch hotel to anyone,especially" foodies".

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yivmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear yivmcc, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and delighted that you are looking forward to a return visit! Thank you for recommending us, we really appreciate it.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay in this great hotel in Pitlochry. The balcony room had a great view over the town and the valley. It was modern, warm, very well appointed and spotlessly clean. The bed was large and very comfortable and the en suite shower/bathroom was well stocked with quality toiletries. The service throughout was excellent. The staff were all very friendly and attentive without being at all intrusive. The food was superb on our dinner bed and breakfast package. Pre dinner canapés were served in the atmospheric lounge with leather chairs and comfortable settees next to two cosy log fires. Dinner in the restaurant is very impressive with an excellent choice of dishes in a three course menu featuring local produce. The menu was different each evening and the quality and presentation I must say compares with any high end hotel. (and I have stayed in many worldwide ). The local venison and lamb was so tender and perfectly cooked. Breakfast was equally as good. The whole hotel has a lovely warm welcoming atmosphere and is very conveniently placed for the town which is a few minutes walk only to the centre. We took advantage of a special winter offer so the value for money is superb. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fangbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Fangbuster, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are thrilled with your comments and glad you took advantage of our Winter Special rate. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Knockendarroch.
Best wishes
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Are you reading reviews in the hope that Knockendarroch could be that special hotel you've been looking for? Well, relax, this IS the place. We've just returned home from a 2-night stay (dinner, bed and breakfast package) to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Knockendarroch only opened for the season on Fri 7th Feb and it was full, which suggests they are doing something right. It's all been said by other reviewers - spotlessly clean, comfy bed, beautiful room, lounge with 2 real log fires, great breakfast and magical fine dining in the evening. The service is spot-on, friendly, attentive but never over-bearing. Relaxed atmosphere seemed to rub-off on all the guests, giving us the chance to meet and chat with some new people. There's also space to hide if you prefer. It's also a great base from which to go walking in the beautiful Perthshire countryside. There are a large number of walks with something to suit everyone, short, long, flat and hilly.
A balanced review should include some constructive criticism but if there was anything to moan about here, we honestly didn't find it. You might find cheaper accommodation but you won't find better. Terrific value for money and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are slightly more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Buddie58, Wow, thank you for your very kind review - our first of the season! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, especially as it was for your special anniversary. Please come back to see us again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Its the 2nd time we've stayed here and its well worth it. The service is lovely, the rooms are warm and comfortable and the food is wonderful. Especially love the pre-dinner canapés in the lounge. The leather chairs and fireplace is awesome! Makes you feel like your in another time zone. Really great how they use local products and traditional foods - exciting for a non-Scotish person!

Room Tip: View of the town - deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear spumkin, Thank you for returning to the Knockendarroch and for taking the time to write a review. So glad that (as a 'non-Scottish person') you enjoyed our locally sourced food and our roaring log fires. It would be lovely to see you again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 12 bedroom 4 star hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. All rooms are individually styled, with an option to choose from larger premier rooms or rooms with private balcony. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing