We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect chillout .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect chillout .”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a couple of nights on a half board basis and loved every minute. We needed to chill out after a hectic few weeks at work and found Knockendarroch the perfect retreat. The room was spotlessly clean, with lovely soft fluffy towels and superb views. The heating made the room very cosy, perhaps a bit too warm for our tastes but it wasn't an issue to adjust the radiators to our perfect temperature.


The evening meals were superb, with a different menu each night, each course being cooked to perfection. The drinks were reasonably priced whilst the breakfasts were the perfect start to the day... Lots of hot filter coffee, fab cooked breakfast and lashings of toast.


What was refreshing was the age mix of the guests... We met a couple of lovely couples in their twenties, some retired couples and others in between. Sitting in front of roaring fires after dinner allowed all the guests to chat and mix well, although they could have their own space if they so wished. The staff were friendly and very efficient, making us feel very much at home.

All round, this is a great hotel for those wanting good food, comfort and relaxation while being only a short walk from the main high street. Well worth returning to any time of year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank caldeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear caldeany, So glad you were able to relax and chill out at the Knockendarroch. Please come and see us again, any time of year!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    70
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
639
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The beautiful formerly Victoria lodge house, the staff gave us a lovely warm welcome when our arrival. Our room had clean, warm comfortable & good view of Ben Vrackie, in the lounge room, there has two log fires, lovely smell fire burns for ages since my childhood. It give us relax to enjoy drinking, chatting & reading. the meals, breakfast & evening dinner has served excellent food quality, we love it. Yes, Knockendarroch hotel is one of the best hotels, we has seen it ever our pleasure visiting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear kenneth b, Thank you for your kind review. The log fires are always popular with our guests and it is lovely for us to see them relax and unwind. It was a pleasure having you in the hotel and we hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A supremely comfortable Victorian house: warm and cosy with most attentive staff. We took our Golden Retriever and he was made as welcome as we were! The Premier room we had had a lovely view over the valley below and was spotlessly clean & the bed was very very comfortable. The public areas are quiet and the log fires make them perfect for a winter break.The chef prepares excellent, imaginative cuisine and it's presentation was superb. This charming hotel is ideal for a short visit, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Go a little further and book a Premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romanyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear romanyjim, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you both (and Ben) enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have just returned home from three days away at this wonderful hotel. The warmth of welcome is second to none, attention to detail in every aspect is outstanding, and the cooking sublime. Quite simply the best hotel we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. As a home from home it's perfect. Thank you for making our stay such a total pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JammyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear JammyBear, Wow, thank you so much for such a wonderful review of your recent stay. The pleasure was all ours, and we very much hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We are just about to leave after our first one night stay at this truly lovely small hotel. From the moment we arrived, we felt spilt and at home. This Victorian house has been beautifully decorated in a contemporary country house style entirely sympathetic to the architecture. Log fires burn, the beds are SO comfortable and the dinner, of great restaurant quality served with a quiet style.

This is a wonderful place for a relaxing, friendly, high quality, non-pretentious getaway. Spoil yourself!!

Room Tip: We travelled with our dog so were in a back room but it was absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swantour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Swantour, Thank you for your lovely review which captures the essence of what we strive for. Please come back for longer next time!
Best wishes
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was booked up for a quick break and for by birthday
Great hotel, ideal location and outlook over the town
very friendly staff
service first class
the fire in the main reception was ideal, need on of these at home
Dileas the dog has a great time, even though there was a cat!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e-oggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear e-oggie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your Birthday at the Knockendarroch and that Dileas also enjoyed her stay! We hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

What I have to say has already been said.

I'm a bit of a perfectionist, and having stayed here on a few occasions have found the prefect place to unwind.

The staff are brilliant.

.Will be back in the very near future .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodyguardscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear bodyguardscotland, I am so glad we continue to meet your 'perfectionist' standards! Delighted that you are able to unwind at the Knockendarroch, and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing