We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but Quiet and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Oh no! This was one more place that we stayed and hated to leave! Our room was spacious, well thought out and comfortable. Beautiful stone Victorian structure, comfy, spacious room with nice bathroom, big fluffy towels, very comfortable bed, pretty room and most important, a helpful and friendly staff.

We ate dinner here one night and the food was beautiful. Fresh and delicious. Choices of apps, mains and dessert for £24.95. Well worth it and since we were staying here, we could just wander off "to be" after dinner.

We also drove to Allean forest, saw the "queens view." Justly famous!
It's a quick few minute's walk to town and we walked to the fish ladders and beyond from here as well. We enjoyed the peaceful decor and slept wonderfully in a comfy bed. It's lovely. Just arrive and then melt into bed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bravo-cinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear bravo-cinzia, Thank you for your kind review of your stay last year. Yes, the hotel is very well situated for the town, the local attractions and the beautiful surrounding countryside, so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and Highland Perthshire. It would be lovely to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Team at Knockendarroch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Knockendarroch is a beautiful period building, a short walk from Pitlochry town centre. I felt as though there is a real commitment to quality in every aspect of our experience. The public areas are decorated to a very high standard, with log fires and comfortable chairs, they are a great place to relax in. My room was spacious, comfortable and filled with high quality furnishings. The choice at dinner was narrow but very good from first class canapés through to dessert. Where the choice didn't suit, alternative options that were not on the menu were offered which we really appreciated. The wine list was my only disappointment. At £28 for a bottle of basic Rioja crianza, I thought it was overpriced. The wines I would liked to have tried were around £40 which I thought was too much. The staff were excellent throughout and very welcoming. Overall, a high quality hotel that I look forward to experiencing again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Boondoggler, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Knockendarroch. We are delighted that you found it a quality experience and we greatly appreciate your comments.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoyed a couple of nights on a half board basis and loved every minute. We needed to chill out after a hectic few weeks at work and found Knockendarroch the perfect retreat. The room was spotlessly clean, with lovely soft fluffy towels and superb views. The heating made the room very cosy, perhaps a bit too warm for our tastes but it wasn't an issue to adjust the radiators to our perfect temperature.


The evening meals were superb, with a different menu each night, each course being cooked to perfection. The drinks were reasonably priced whilst the breakfasts were the perfect start to the day... Lots of hot filter coffee, fab cooked breakfast and lashings of toast.


What was refreshing was the age mix of the guests... We met a couple of lovely couples in their twenties, some retired couples and others in between. Sitting in front of roaring fires after dinner allowed all the guests to chat and mix well, although they could have their own space if they so wished. The staff were friendly and very efficient, making us feel very much at home.

All round, this is a great hotel for those wanting good food, comfort and relaxation while being only a short walk from the main high street. Well worth returning to any time of year.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank caldeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear caldeany, So glad you were able to relax and chill out at the Knockendarroch. Please come and see us again, any time of year!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The beautiful formerly Victoria lodge house, the staff gave us a lovely warm welcome when our arrival. Our room had clean, warm comfortable & good view of Ben Vrackie, in the lounge room, there has two log fires, lovely smell fire burns for ages since my childhood. It give us relax to enjoy drinking, chatting & reading. the meals, breakfast & evening dinner has served excellent food quality, we love it. Yes, Knockendarroch hotel is one of the best hotels, we has seen it ever our pleasure visiting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear kenneth b, Thank you for your kind review. The log fires are always popular with our guests and it is lovely for us to see them relax and unwind. It was a pleasure having you in the hotel and we hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A supremely comfortable Victorian house: warm and cosy with most attentive staff. We took our Golden Retriever and he was made as welcome as we were! The Premier room we had had a lovely view over the valley below and was spotlessly clean & the bed was very very comfortable. The public areas are quiet and the log fires make them perfect for a winter break.The chef prepares excellent, imaginative cuisine and it's presentation was superb. This charming hotel is ideal for a short visit, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Go a little further and book a Premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romanyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear romanyjim, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you both (and Ben) enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have just returned home from three days away at this wonderful hotel. The warmth of welcome is second to none, attention to detail in every aspect is outstanding, and the cooking sublime. Quite simply the best hotel we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. As a home from home it's perfect. Thank you for making our stay such a total pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JammyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear JammyBear, Wow, thank you so much for such a wonderful review of your recent stay. The pleasure was all ours, and we very much hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We are just about to leave after our first one night stay at this truly lovely small hotel. From the moment we arrived, we felt spilt and at home. This Victorian house has been beautifully decorated in a contemporary country house style entirely sympathetic to the architecture. Log fires burn, the beds are SO comfortable and the dinner, of great restaurant quality served with a quiet style.

This is a wonderful place for a relaxing, friendly, high quality, non-pretentious getaway. Spoil yourself!!

Room Tip: We travelled with our dog so were in a back room but it was absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swantour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Swantour, Thank you for your lovely review which captures the essence of what we strive for. Please come back for longer next time!
Best wishes
Liz and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,981 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Hotel
The Green Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Pitlochry
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pitlochry
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £157 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing