We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights. It was the perfect base for our holiday in Scotland. The hotel itself is very charming. The rooms are lovely, spacious with beautiful scenery. The staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Stayed 1 night in a standard room and 3 nights in a superior balcony room. Both rooms were very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellerMalta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear TravellerMalta100, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to welcome you back at a future date.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We won a two night stay at a charity raffle and knew nothing about the hotel. The staff, particularly Maria on reception, were excellent- attentive, chatty and helpful. food delicious- best we have had in a hotel and far exceeded expectations of a relatively small place. Will be back as a paying guest!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith130586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Keith130586, So glad you enjoyed your stay and delighted that you plan to return. Thank you also for supporting such a good cause.
Best wishes
Liz, Maria and the rest of the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My partner managed to book this by mistake, the house is stunning, full of period furniture and original features. The staff were super efficient whilst still being friendly and dinner was beautiful.
Town is a 5 minute walk down the hill, I'm not sure which way one of the reviewers came in but I didn't see a council estate and it was certainly quiet if it was there.

He'll be a keeper if all his mistakes are this good!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mel405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mel405, Thank you so much for your kind review. Yes, we also think he's a keeper! Please come back to see us again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were on our way back from the Highlands to Edinburgh and needed a stop. Pitlochry was the right place. The Knockendarroch House Hotel looked nice in our tour book. We got the last room available for the night we needed it. When we came, we understood. It is a wonderful place with a very welcoming and efficient staff. We enjoyed staying there as well as visiting Pitlochry and the nearby Edradour Distillery. Quiet night and great breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jefgocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Jefgocal, I'm so glad you found the Knockendarroch from your tour book! Pitlochry is indeed a great location en route to and from the Highlands. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Best wishes
Liz and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For anyone , like me , who prefer the smaller hotels to the large ones , this hotel should be number one on your list . Liz and her very efficient and professional team are not just completely on top of their jobs , but are very friendly and so helpful . The breakfasts and dinners are of an exceptionally high standard .I have eaten in Michelin star restaurants and I do not exaggerate in saying that we were presented with food of at least a similar quality .
The bedroom we were in was very comfortable , roomy and tastefully decorated.
We are definitely going back for a long weekend in the autmn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gordon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear gordon o, Thank you so much for your wonderful review - our chef is delighted with your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After a 10 day tour of Scotland staying in bed and breakfasts we decided to spend our last 2 nights in a hotel. I have given this an average rating because of the drive into the hotel as you have to come off the main street in Pitlochry and drive through a council estate and the entrance is opposite that estate. The view from our bedroom also looked over that estate as well. Having said that the room was very well furnished and the bed was comfortable although we did have a leaking shower head which had to remain lying down in the bath (which was mentioned on checking in) and also the toilet seat was loose. We did not feel it was good value for money. The staff were very helpful at all times and gave us great advice on where to go in the area and the breakfast was also good. We did not eat in the hotel but ate out in the town as it only took 5 minutes to walk it.
Pitlochry is a lovely town with some amazing walks nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank DelightedKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear DelightedKent, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review. The Knockendarroch is a Listed Victorian building set in 1.5 acres of elevated grounds. We are only a short walk to all that Pitlochry has to offer, yet nestled in a quiet, residential part of the town with glorious views of the surrounding area. We hope to see you again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What a great place to stay, small and very friendly hotel. Room had a stunning view, well furnished, clean and a very comfortable bed. We had breakfast and evening meal, food was outstanding. Everything about this hotel is spot on, we look forward to returning. Many thanks to Liz and her team.
.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Yvonne P, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the Knockendarroch, and thrilled that you plan to return!
Best wishes from all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Hotel
The Green Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Pitlochry
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pitlochry
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £156 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing