We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We're can't wait until our next visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“We're can't wait until our next visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived late afternoon after a beautifully scenic drive from Glasgow with a number of sightseeing stops. We could see the hotel as we approached since it sits on a hill. What we saw was a lovely stone building set in a picturesque landscape but the up-close reality was even better. The welcoming staff member (Maria) was delightful. She quickly oriented us to the property, answered our questions, arranged the time for our evening meal and took us to our room. The room was picture perfect. Sitting at one corner of the building on the upper level (UK 1st floor, US 2nd floor) it was large and airy with windows on two walls providing spectacular highland views. It's the room we'll request next time both for its comfort (we slept like babies and couldn't help but nap in the easy chairs) and for those aforementioned views. The en suite bathroom was efficient, with a tub shower, a towel warmer and first-rate toiletries.
Now for the food. Breakfast and dinner are taken in the hotel and are wonderful (more about that later). The staff throughout our stay were well trained, personable and obviously eager to make all guests' stay memorable in a positive way. They hailed from Romania and Spain and would be very welcome employees in any 5-star establishment with which we are familiar. Breakfast was made to order and taken in the dining room. Good selections of cooked meals and baked goods. Dinner began in the drawing room where pre-dinner drinks were served, the evening's menu perused and orders taken. When it was time to enter the dining room, we were efficiently seated and the meal service began. Now, here's the really impressive thing. The chef was able to offer a choice of 4 appetizers, 4 main courses and 4 desserts every time: nothing simplistic, everything innovative, everything sourced from local growers. There must have been 10 chefs working all day to produce what we were offered! Remember, this hotel has fewer than 10 rooms. Unbelievable. This was really high quality fare.
All too soon our 2 nights had passed and we had to manhandle our bags down the single flight of stairs. The staff was very willing to help but I had to work off those spectacular dinners. This hotel is truly a highland gem.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a large, beautifully appointed double room with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allidoistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear allidoistravel, Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. The team are delighted with your comments. We would love to welcome you back at some future date.
Best wishes
Liz, Maria and all the Team at Knockendarroch
P.S. We only have 2 chefs in the kitchen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    66
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
611
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights and felt like home from the very first moment. A very warm welcome was followed by a tour through the house where we could choose from two rooms.
Food, be it breakfast or dinner was delicious. Service was outstanding so hard to find anything that can still be improved.
Pitlochry as a village is also very nice, has lots of laces to go to for dinner or drinks. Also lots of sights are around or can be reached by car.
Its just been fantastic here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christoph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Christoph H, It was lovely having you both in the hotel and also really good to see you making the most of al that the area has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments about your stay with us.
Best wishes
Liz and all the Team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked at the last minute on the basis of the trip advisor reviews after having seen some truly dire hotels in the east of Scotland. It shows the strengths of trip advisor as it was a gem of a find.
Small with only ?9 bedrooms but had no feel of a b and b - more boutique hotel - spotlessly clean with modern decor but still having a country house feel. Beautiful views across the hills and the town with large settees and real fires it was cosy and luxurious. Really great friendly staff - but the real plus here was the food. Highs class restaurant food - unusual menu beautifully prepared and presented. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: They all look good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver1460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Diver1460, Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay at the Knockendarroch. Glad you found us, and please come back to see us again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend at the Knockendarroch. A beautifully situated and appointed country house hotel (despite the horrors of a COUNCIL ESTATE nearby - good grief they'll be letting the natives out next!!) - (see Delightedkent)
The hotel was beautifully furnished with lovely touches of tweed, and the food was an absolute joy. Could not have done better in a top restaurant - beautifully cooked and presented. Well done to the chef. The staff were so friendly and helpful - nothing was the slightest bother. An added bonus was the possibility of early dinner and complimentary transport to the theatre.
Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear norroy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we too hope that you will return soon!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We first stayed here in early July and only because we could not get into Killicrankie House, who recommended Knockendarroch as an alternative. What luck! Thought we'd try it again on our next visit( we are house hunting) and Liz fitted us in at short notice. Just as good as before and service ,room and food are exemplary. Understand the earlier comment about its position but the house was there long before the council estate which is perfectly tidy but the houses are drab,that's all. As you will probably spend most of your time looking at the mountains this is not an issue!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear PSJ54, Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing to return to the Knockendarroch. We hope your house hunting is going well!
Best wishes
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is now the second time we have stayed at the Knockendarroch and it did not disappoint the 2nd time. The food is great, the rooms are very comfortable and the service is really first class. nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear GordonT, We are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit and glad that we are keeping up our standards! It would be lovely to see you again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is one of the really best hidden hotels I have been to ! Only 13 rooms so make sure you book before you drop in. Liz the owner has done a great job with this old mansion. The rooms are delightful. And the service & friendliness is 5 star. It´s a pity there´s no lift but you just have to learn to take only what you need for a couple of nights. If not they´ll carry your luggage up to the rooms.
The view from the bedroom or lounge is typically Scottish hillside and stunning.
What ever you do, take dinner there. At 25 pounds a person for 3 courses from a chef that should really be in a Michelin restaurant is bargain not to be missed.

Room Tip: Second floor a the front with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wasp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Wasp2010, Wow, thank you for such a great review. Glad you took advantage of our special upgrade price for dinner and I'll pass on your comments to the Chef! Please come back and see us again.
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 12 bedroom 4 star hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. All rooms are individually styled, with an option to choose from larger premier rooms or rooms with private balcony. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing