We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only all hotels were like this!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“If only all hotels were like this!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

As you approach this hotel by car or taxi from the town, you pass a few council houses and think 'hmm this is odd!' - then suddenly you curve up a driveway and you're in another world, arriving at a noble Victorian villa with a view of the hills and valley

The moment you enter, your shoulders go down in the mellow softly lit foyer with its fireplace and antiques and paintings set off against deep red walls

The welcome is genuinely friendly and efficient and you are orienteered to know where the lounge and dining rooms are before being taken to your rooms. Before the climb (no lift) you choose your time for dinner and are advised to come down early for canapes and drinks in the lounge - oh, this is my kind of place!

It has only 12 rooms and you need to have a think what you want: the rooms on ground and 1st floor in the old house are superb victorian with all mod cons but only 2 have front facing rooms with valley views

On the 2nd floor in the old house are modernised attic rooms and 2 of those have balconies with tables and fabulous views. If you're a party of 4 or 3 as we were, you could take these two (9 and 10) and feel completey private with only your party using the balconies

There are other rooms in the small extension that are as smart and comfortable but with less character; if in this part, go for the 1st floor front facing

The prices reflect the grandness of the rooms, the luxurious victorian being the most pricey and the annexe rooms the least

If you stay here be sure to take the dinner B & B package as dinner is superb: you do have delicious canapes and drinks in a beautifully appointed lounge. Staff is friendly however and the atmosphere relaxed so its not at all stuffy. You read the menus, choose and are called when dinner is ready

And what dinners! Food is 5 star with local produce perfectly cooked and presented. There's a wide choice of carefully chosen wines and they start at very reasonable prices

When we were there we had starters such as ham terrine, delicate mackerel with citrus salsa and courgette & almond soup. Mains were outstanding such as confit gressingham duck, hake and perfect lamb. You must force yourself to have dessert, which can be delights like elderflower panacotta and raspberry sorbet, frangipani tart or local cheeses with home made oatcakes fig salami grapes and apple

Afterwards - of course! - there is real coffee, petits fours and liqueurs in the lounge. They have a wide choice of malt whiskies too and its a shame not to sample one or two. I love the strong peaty ones from the west like laguvulin and isle of jura but they can advise according to taste. Other guests are mellowed out and friendly and from all over the world - you can find yourself chatting to Canadians, Japanese or any nationality you care to think of

A special mention goes to the fact the staff truly helps if you have a dietary requirement; I need to eat gluten free and they provided GF bread, crackers and tweaked some dishes to mimimise problems for me

Breakfast is almost as good as dinner with continental, full scottish, haddock and poachie or smoked salmon and scrambles available. Breakfast coffee is good and porridge beautifully cooked. Try it with cold milk and a little salt!

Every detail is well covered; comfortable beds, good showers lovely au lait toiletries and super large absorbent bath sheets. Its just excellent! My only - my one and only - issue was trying to get the shower cool enough and get an even flow - but I do like it unusually cool and could live with it as there's a shower attachment for the bath too

Pitlochry (5 minutes walk down a pathway) is tourist central but it has some good souvenir shops and coffee/lunch venues. We didn't try any restaurants as nothing would have parted us from knockendarroch house dinners!

Every year at the summer drama festival time you can have an early dinner and there's a complimentary bus to the theatre. We didn't realise this but it can add to the relaxation of a break if you time your stay and book ahead

You can also use the hotel as a base for a break as Pitlochry is between Perth and Inverness and in an area packed with places of beauty like Killiecrankie and history like fabulous 800 year old Blair Castle

You can get here easily by train coach or car from the south or north with the nearest airports being Glasgow or Inverness

Every way you look at it all roads lead to Pitlochry and this amazing hotel. Warning however; nothing else will seem as good afterwards, you will become quickly addicted and will have to go back

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear nellScotlandWest, Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent stay! We are really glad you all enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for your kind comments. Please come back to see us again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    70
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
639
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Knockendarroch House on our last night of our mini-moon in Scotland. It's such a lovely and inviting hotel. It's like a boutique hotel with an old worldly charm. The house itself is gorgeous from the outside and it is situated up on a hill so the views are fabulous. We were put in the Bell Tower room which was quirky and fun. We enjoyed having some pre-dinner drinks in the drawing room with the early evening sun pouring in the windows. The most memorable thing about our stay at this hotel is without a doubt the food. Every part of our evening meal was superb and outstanding. It really is a major PLUS for the hotel.

Room Tip: Bell Tower room is quirky with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDoherty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear GDoherty79, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted you chose the Knockendarroch as part of your "mini-moon", and very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, particularly the food!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived late afternoon after a beautifully scenic drive from Glasgow with a number of sightseeing stops. We could see the hotel as we approached since it sits on a hill. What we saw was a lovely stone building set in a picturesque landscape but the up-close reality was even better. The welcoming staff member (Maria) was delightful. She quickly oriented us to the property, answered our questions, arranged the time for our evening meal and took us to our room. The room was picture perfect. Sitting at one corner of the building on the upper level (UK 1st floor, US 2nd floor) it was large and airy with windows on two walls providing spectacular highland views. It's the room we'll request next time both for its comfort (we slept like babies and couldn't help but nap in the easy chairs) and for those aforementioned views. The en suite bathroom was efficient, with a tub shower, a towel warmer and first-rate toiletries.
Now for the food. Breakfast and dinner are taken in the hotel and are wonderful (more about that later). The staff throughout our stay were well trained, personable and obviously eager to make all guests' stay memorable in a positive way. They hailed from Romania and Spain and would be very welcome employees in any 5-star establishment with which we are familiar. Breakfast was made to order and taken in the dining room. Good selections of cooked meals and baked goods. Dinner began in the drawing room where pre-dinner drinks were served, the evening's menu perused and orders taken. When it was time to enter the dining room, we were efficiently seated and the meal service began. Now, here's the really impressive thing. The chef was able to offer a choice of 4 appetizers, 4 main courses and 4 desserts every time: nothing simplistic, everything innovative, everything sourced from local growers. There must have been 10 chefs working all day to produce what we were offered! Remember, this hotel has fewer than 10 rooms. Unbelievable. This was really high quality fare.
All too soon our 2 nights had passed and we had to manhandle our bags down the single flight of stairs. The staff was very willing to help but I had to work off those spectacular dinners. This hotel is truly a highland gem.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a large, beautifully appointed double room with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allidoistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear allidoistravel, Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. The team are delighted with your comments. We would love to welcome you back at some future date.
Best wishes
Liz, Maria and all the Team at Knockendarroch
P.S. We only have 2 chefs in the kitchen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights and felt like home from the very first moment. A very warm welcome was followed by a tour through the house where we could choose from two rooms.
Food, be it breakfast or dinner was delicious. Service was outstanding so hard to find anything that can still be improved.
Pitlochry as a village is also very nice, has lots of laces to go to for dinner or drinks. Also lots of sights are around or can be reached by car.
Its just been fantastic here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christoph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Christoph H, It was lovely having you both in the hotel and also really good to see you making the most of al that the area has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments about your stay with us.
Best wishes
Liz and all the Team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked at the last minute on the basis of the trip advisor reviews after having seen some truly dire hotels in the east of Scotland. It shows the strengths of trip advisor as it was a gem of a find.
Small with only ?9 bedrooms but had no feel of a b and b - more boutique hotel - spotlessly clean with modern decor but still having a country house feel. Beautiful views across the hills and the town with large settees and real fires it was cosy and luxurious. Really great friendly staff - but the real plus here was the food. Highs class restaurant food - unusual menu beautifully prepared and presented. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: They all look good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver1460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Diver1460, Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay at the Knockendarroch. Glad you found us, and please come back to see us again!
Best wishes
Liz and the Team at Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend at the Knockendarroch. A beautifully situated and appointed country house hotel (despite the horrors of a COUNCIL ESTATE nearby - good grief they'll be letting the natives out next!!) - (see Delightedkent)
The hotel was beautifully furnished with lovely touches of tweed, and the food was an absolute joy. Could not have done better in a top restaurant - beautifully cooked and presented. Well done to the chef. The staff were so friendly and helpful - nothing was the slightest bother. An added bonus was the possibility of early dinner and complimentary transport to the theatre.
Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear norroy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we too hope that you will return soon!
Best wishes
Liz and the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We first stayed here in early July and only because we could not get into Killicrankie House, who recommended Knockendarroch as an alternative. What luck! Thought we'd try it again on our next visit( we are house hunting) and Liz fitted us in at short notice. Just as good as before and service ,room and food are exemplary. Understand the earlier comment about its position but the house was there long before the council estate which is perfectly tidy but the houses are drab,that's all. As you will probably spend most of your time looking at the mountains this is not an issue!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear PSJ54, Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing to return to the Knockendarroch. We hope your house hunting is going well!
Best wishes
Liz and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing