We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Burntisland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

A warm welcome, well appointed rooms and a delightful menu await you at this Perthshire gem. The house itself offers spectacular views and the staff could not be more helpful and discreet. We hope to visit again with more of our family to enjoy a truly home from home experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InchviewHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    68
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
624
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Although we only stayed one night, my husband and I had a lovely time at the Knockendarroch hotel! It is a proper hotel while only being four stars this is only due to the lack of extra facilities - everything else is wonderful! Staff are really wonderful and everything is done with constant care and attention. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and dinner was wonderful! They could have scrimped or encouraged us to pay for extras such as coffees or the more expensive dishes and yet not only did they include all this, they also served little extra's such as some lovely aperitifs. The only small complaint we would have was that the water was fairly cold in our beautiful bathroom. I suspect this was due to many people showering at the same time, as the hotel was quite busy and it is a country house hotel so perhaps it has an old boiler system?! We didn't complain as we were there for such a short time but had we, I have no doubt the kind and helpful staff would have sorted the issue. We will defiantly be back and have no worries recommending this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamloops bc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

My wife and i spent 2 nights at knockendarroch on march 30 and 31. We were treated royally by the friendly and efficient staff, our room and bathroom were clean and spacious with lovely views, and the meals were excellent. Would definitely stay there again and would strongly recommend it .
d. j. mc combie, Kamloops, B.C. canada

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jethart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Checked this place out online for a last minute stay....really enjoyed it. Lovely big clean room, and a fabulous lounge room with beautiful decor. Dinner and breakfast were great, and the staff very friendly and helpful. All in all, excellent value - would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highland_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

Just returned from a night at knockendarroch Hotel, went with my husband for his birthday a nice quiet night without the children and thats what we had. A lovely hotel very clean with great service, had a large room with beautiful views of the town and hills. Dinner was of excellent quality as was the breakfast. Very relaxing, close to town and staff very friendly. Only critisism would be tv reception is terrible and only 4 channels but that just encourages you to go out for a longer walk in the beautiful countryside so maybe no bad thing. Well worth a visit and reasonable price for the quality of food and service. Cant imagine anyone would find much to complain about but you always get one.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, Warwicks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

We arrived in Pitlochry without pre-planning and under a little strain after abandoning a tired, bare pub/b&b a few miles away. We received a warm welcome on arrival at this newly refurbished and characterful hotel and quickly had dinner, bed and breakfast booked for that night. Our room had a brand new bathroom and a comfortable, contemporary feel. Outside the depths of winter the balcony would have made for a relaxing place for a pre-dinner drink.

Once settled, we quickly descended to the lounge and ordered dinner from a sofa by the fire. The period features in the dining room give it a grand but not over the top feel and the food was superb. Hearty but stylishly presented. We retired back to the lounge for coffee and sampled the wide selection of malt whiskies from the drinks menu; one of which is made at the Adredour distillery only a mile or so away.

Breakfast was another pleasure - the haddock and poached egg particularly - and with that our brief but instantly relaxing stay was over. Not that we had to be out by 10am as in our Edinburgh hotel, around 11am I think.

I'd criticise Knockendarroch if I could but we left utterly satisfied, and not only because it saved us from a spot of bother. I even proposed the next day!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobJW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

We had a fantastic stay at Knochendarroch. It has recently reopened after some redecoration and upgrading of some rooms. We received a friendly welcome and enjoyed a lovely drink in the sumptuous lounge in front of a roaring fire before going up to our room. The room was spacious, very clean, and certainly a place you felt immediately comfortable in.
We had booked dinner in the restaurant, which was an absolute joy. A varied menu, but small enough to know that everything would be freshly made. The food was of a very high quality, and would certainly not be out of place in some of Scotland's more famous restaurants. I believe they have a new chef this year, and he has been a great addition to the staff! Alongside an extensive wine list, and some great malt whiskies, this was a meal to remember for us.
We could not fault our stay in any way, and we are looking forward to heading back soon. A great place to stay and great food. Thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBali61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing