We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views and good access to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and good access to town”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Beautiful views over the hills. A warm, glowing entrance and lovely public areas. Short walk into town. The bedroom furniture was a little more dated than antique. The meal was pleasant though I wouldn't rave about it.
I guess I expected a little more after reading some of the reviews.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKAingeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    70
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
639
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This small hotel feels like a country house from an earlier era. It is quiet and comfortable, with a friendly staff and excellent food. The traditional Scottish breakfasts are more than ample and the chef Angus McNab produces fine dinners.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erglmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My mother and I have just returned from a lovely one night stay at Knockendarroch. We decided on an overnight at this Hotel after reading the good reviews on here and we were not disappointed. The Hotel is beautiful with lovely elegant furnishings. Our room was large, very clean and comfortable with great views towards the river. Our evening meal was simply wonderful, the soup was the best I have ever tasted and I will be trying to recreate it for the family at home . After a wonderful sleep we were treated to a quality breakfast that set us up for the whole day. All in all a wonderful break topped off by a matinee performance of Kiss Me Kate at the Festival Theatre. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and it's attentive staff and superb food. Thank you so for for a lovely break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMcDCrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We arrived in Pitlochry expecting a wonderful night at the Knockendarroch Hotel. Check in was fast and professional, however, the second set of stairs to the room were not suitable to be carrying luggage up or down.

The room itself was clean and adequate in size, as was the bathroom. Dinner, however, was a real anti climax and left us feeling very underwhelmed. The service was slow and lacked the personal touch.

The food also was not good enough. The venison although on the small menu was not available and was substituted with lamb. The food lacked any seasoning and was simply hot but lacking any taste and a very big disappointment. We went for the cheese plate for dessert and this was the biggest let down as we paid £2.95 supplement for this. We received a small selection of cheese with oatcakes that were almost stale. The cheese (with the exception of the blue cheese) lacked any flavour and was not good enough.

We came to breakfast the next morning with low expectations and instead received a pleasant surprise. Excellent and fast service with a good selection of food, which was full of taste and flavour and really set us up for the day ahead, we only wish dinner could have matched this.

Overall a disappointing stay and although breakfast was fantastic, the dinner proved a real let down.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DJMWELLINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This was by far the best place we stayed on our trip through Scotland. I was travelling with my husband and parents and chose to stay here based on the reviews from our fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. Thanks for the tip! The rooms were lovely and the 3 course dinner, after a day travelling, was exceptional. It was beyond our expectations and we were pleasantly suprised by the quality and hospitality. After dinner we moved to the sitting room and continued our evening with other guests sampling a few scotches from the extensive selection. What a lovely place.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

As a solo traveller arriving in Pitlochry for the first time , I was overwhelmed with the professional and helpful guidance about the town and wider area.
The hotel has majestic views across the valley. A very traditional , but up to date hotel.
The hotel is very clean, my room was top notch with fab views. The food was delicious with a very scottish twist to the menu.
The service , was exemplary and I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy187051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We recently stayed at the Knockendarroch hotel on our way south from the Highlands and would highly recommend that you make this a "must stop-over"!

The hotel is one of the most amazing places we have stayed whilst on holiday in Scotland, from the moment we arrived we were greeted with the utmost respect and nothing was too much trouble. On arrival we were shown to the residents lounge where we relaxed with a glass of wine before being shown to our room.

The bedrooms are very tastefully decorated and we had the most comfortable nights stay , attention to detail is everywhere - even down to the pillows, best nights sleep in a long time!

The food and service at the hotel is first class, staff friendly but discreet. Location is so peaceful and secluded yet minutes from the centre of town.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a short break, overnight stay or theatre break at Pitlochry`s famous festival theatre.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borderslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing