We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff and a suberb view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Our room on the 2nd floor was easy to reach, clean & tidy with a great view over the valley. Dinner was great on both nights we stayed. Enjoyed a drink in the lounge before and after dinner. Staff are always on hand, polite and will cater for your needs. A good location, close to many starting points for some lovely walks. Will recomend you, thanks to all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biker1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

Beautiful views over the hills. A warm, glowing entrance and lovely public areas. Short walk into town. The bedroom furniture was a little more dated than antique. The meal was pleasant though I wouldn't rave about it.
I guess I expected a little more after reading some of the reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UKAingeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This small hotel feels like a country house from an earlier era. It is quiet and comfortable, with a friendly staff and excellent food. The traditional Scottish breakfasts are more than ample and the chef Angus McNab produces fine dinners.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erglmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My mother and I have just returned from a lovely one night stay at Knockendarroch. We decided on an overnight at this Hotel after reading the good reviews on here and we were not disappointed. The Hotel is beautiful with lovely elegant furnishings. Our room was large, very clean and comfortable with great views towards the river. Our evening meal was simply wonderful, the soup was the best I have ever tasted and I will be trying to recreate it for the family at home . After a wonderful sleep we were treated to a quality breakfast that set us up for the whole day. All in all a wonderful break topped off by a matinee performance of Kiss Me Kate at the Festival Theatre. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and it's attentive staff and superb food. Thank you so for for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineMcDCrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We arrived in Pitlochry expecting a wonderful night at the Knockendarroch Hotel. Check in was fast and professional, however, the second set of stairs to the room were not suitable to be carrying luggage up or down.

The room itself was clean and adequate in size, as was the bathroom. Dinner, however, was a real anti climax and left us feeling very underwhelmed. The service was slow and lacked the personal touch.

The food also was not good enough. The venison although on the small menu was not available and was substituted with lamb. The food lacked any seasoning and was simply hot but lacking any taste and a very big disappointment. We went for the cheese plate for dessert and this was the biggest let down as we paid £2.95 supplement for this. We received a small selection of cheese with oatcakes that were almost stale. The cheese (with the exception of the blue cheese) lacked any flavour and was not good enough.

We came to breakfast the next morning with low expectations and instead received a pleasant surprise. Excellent and fast service with a good selection of food, which was full of taste and flavour and really set us up for the day ahead, we only wish dinner could have matched this.

Overall a disappointing stay and although breakfast was fantastic, the dinner proved a real let down.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DJMWELLINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This was by far the best place we stayed on our trip through Scotland. I was travelling with my husband and parents and chose to stay here based on the reviews from our fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. Thanks for the tip! The rooms were lovely and the 3 course dinner, after a day travelling, was exceptional. It was beyond our expectations and we were pleasantly suprised by the quality and hospitality. After dinner we moved to the sitting room and continued our evening with other guests sampling a few scotches from the extensive selection. What a lovely place.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank AussieTraveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

As a solo traveller arriving in Pitlochry for the first time , I was overwhelmed with the professional and helpful guidance about the town and wider area.
The hotel has majestic views across the valley. A very traditional , but up to date hotel.
The hotel is very clean, my room was top notch with fab views. The food was delicious with a very scottish twist to the menu.
The service , was exemplary and I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy187051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Hotel
The Green Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Pitlochry
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 17 in Pitlochry
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £156 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing