We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genial Staff, fine dining and a beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genial Staff, fine dining and a beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

Our stay was to relax and gain some quality time after a stressful period. This was provided by attentive staff, a lovely room and fine dining.
We had opted for the Bed, Breakfast and Dinner option and this proved to be an excellent choice, as the menu was both varied and delicious. We cannot rate our stay highly enough, as we were made to feel extremely welcome by staff running a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank punchblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    66
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
608
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

Our room on the 2nd floor was easy to reach, clean & tidy with a great view over the valley. Dinner was great on both nights we stayed. Enjoyed a drink in the lounge before and after dinner. Staff are always on hand, polite and will cater for your needs. A good location, close to many starting points for some lovely walks. Will recomend you, thanks to all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biker1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Beautiful views over the hills. A warm, glowing entrance and lovely public areas. Short walk into town. The bedroom furniture was a little more dated than antique. The meal was pleasant though I wouldn't rave about it.
I guess I expected a little more after reading some of the reviews.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKAingeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

This small hotel feels like a country house from an earlier era. It is quiet and comfortable, with a friendly staff and excellent food. The traditional Scottish breakfasts are more than ample and the chef Angus McNab produces fine dinners.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erglmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

My mother and I have just returned from a lovely one night stay at Knockendarroch. We decided on an overnight at this Hotel after reading the good reviews on here and we were not disappointed. The Hotel is beautiful with lovely elegant furnishings. Our room was large, very clean and comfortable with great views towards the river. Our evening meal was simply wonderful, the soup was the best I have ever tasted and I will be trying to recreate it for the family at home . After a wonderful sleep we were treated to a quality breakfast that set us up for the whole day. All in all a wonderful break topped off by a matinee performance of Kiss Me Kate at the Festival Theatre. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and it's attentive staff and superb food. Thank you so for for a lovely break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMcDCrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

We arrived in Pitlochry expecting a wonderful night at the Knockendarroch Hotel. Check in was fast and professional, however, the second set of stairs to the room were not suitable to be carrying luggage up or down.

The room itself was clean and adequate in size, as was the bathroom. Dinner, however, was a real anti climax and left us feeling very underwhelmed. The service was slow and lacked the personal touch.

The food also was not good enough. The venison although on the small menu was not available and was substituted with lamb. The food lacked any seasoning and was simply hot but lacking any taste and a very big disappointment. We went for the cheese plate for dessert and this was the biggest let down as we paid £2.95 supplement for this. We received a small selection of cheese with oatcakes that were almost stale. The cheese (with the exception of the blue cheese) lacked any flavour and was not good enough.

We came to breakfast the next morning with low expectations and instead received a pleasant surprise. Excellent and fast service with a good selection of food, which was full of taste and flavour and really set us up for the day ahead, we only wish dinner could have matched this.

Overall a disappointing stay and although breakfast was fantastic, the dinner proved a real let down.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DJMWELLINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

This was by far the best place we stayed on our trip through Scotland. I was travelling with my husband and parents and chose to stay here based on the reviews from our fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. Thanks for the tip! The rooms were lovely and the 3 course dinner, after a day travelling, was exceptional. It was beyond our expectations and we were pleasantly suprised by the quality and hospitality. After dinner we moved to the sitting room and continued our evening with other guests sampling a few scotches from the extensive selection. What a lovely place.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 12 bedroom 4 star hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. All rooms are individually styled, with an option to choose from larger premier rooms or rooms with private balcony. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing