We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Morag Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morag Cottage B&B
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed here on holiday last summer.
Each word isn't enough to explain how beautiful is this cottage.
The room was very clean and nice wt private bathroom
The owner and his wife were very gentle.
I suggest this place also for the good breakfast.
I cannot say anymore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francylee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Morag Cottage B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We made a last minute decision to spend the night in Pitlochry en route to Ullapool from London. We pulled off the A9 and stopped at the first 'lovely looking' B&B - what a treat. Morag Cottage is a terrific place to spend a tired night. The owner made us feel very welcome and gave us advice on where to get a good meal. The room was en-suite, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious the next day and all freshly cooked. If you're looking for a B&B in Pitlochry I would highly recomend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trashcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Regular visitors to Morag Cottage. Hosts always friendly. Lovely rooms. Smell of freshly brewed coffee in the morning says it all. We'll be back. Highly recommend this B & B if you are looking for a place to stay in Pitlochry.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Recently stayed at morag cottage for 2 nights and a very pleasant 2 nights it was! rooms were lovely and clean,good location, good hospitality and a tasty breakfast! would definatly return to this friendly B&B!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Arrived at 9pm for a one night stay! Looking for an early night as we were up early the next morning for a rally! On arrival we were shown to own room and told if we were going out to take our key as the owner was going out for the night! So we did, when we came back the owner was still there but so were many of her friends, then more arrived and we assumed they were waiting on everyone arriving before they went out for the night! Wrong, about 10pm loud music started which vibrated through the floor of our room, then singing, giving them the benefit of the doubt I let it go on till about 11 30pm and it still carried on, do I got out of bed and off down stair when I met one of the ladies in the corridor who asked almost sarcastically are we keeping you up, well yes of course you are! So the music carried on for another 15 or so minutes then went off but the singing and loud talking continuted! Eventually the ladies were picked up and we were able to get to sleep, unfortunately we were wide awake so this took some time! At about 1 30am we dosed off! Sadly our alarm was going at 7am to get up and ready for the rally! As we were not far from the stage start we decided to have breakfast which was served at 8 30am! We sat at the table and were asked what we wanted to eat and drink! 20mins later we got tea and coffee and warming toast, then the breakfast came! Microwaved bacon, runny scrambled eggs( I did ask for well scrambled) and not an appology in site! Wee have stayed in many b&bs over the country and the normal questions were expected as we paid the bill ( good sleep, comfortable room etc) nothing, not a single thing! I couldnt believe that she didn't apologise for the noise at least, she knew I had been down to complain, I heard her talking about it the second time I went down to ask them when the noise would stop! All this is really really unfortunate as we plan to have a weeks holiday in the Pitlochry area and as this had been a beautiful place to stay we would have come back and booked again but after the service and party and no appology we won't be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staceym44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucy12186411, Owner at Morag Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

I tried today to discuss this with Stacey over the phone ,she put the phone down on me.Regarding the review,i had two friends in to visit,and they left at midnight in a taxi,no complaint was made to myself at any time,not once never mind twice.
Regarding breakfast,,i never micro wave the bacon,it is always grilled.I cannot remember exactly how long breakfast took but i would be very surprised if it was 20 mins before they had tea, the coffee was freshly brewed and ready.
No complaint was received at any time until this review.Discussions at breakfast did not raise any concerns on their behalf and other guests did not have any complaints either.I also have a visitors book for comments,Stacey has not entered any.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Maureen was a delight. So authentic! Right on the main road through town, which made it easy to find and close to downtown. Quite. Charming, bright breakfast area. Room was very clean, excellent bedding, bed and towels. However small with a tiny clean bathroom. That was the only downer, but overcome by the other qualities. We spent two nights there and enjoyed this delightful town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upnorthDPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Friendly atmosphere, nice rooms, excellent breakfast.
Close to the city center, bars and restaurants; everything within walking distance.
Hosts are very friendly and open to a nice conversation.
Well worth revisiting!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Moulin Hotel
Moulin Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dundarach Hotel
Dundarach Hotel
#15 of 18 in Pitlochry
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annslea Guest House
Annslea Guest House
#36 of 65 in Pitlochry
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#3 of 65 in Pitlochry
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morag Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morag Cottage B&B

Address: B&B 163 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Pitlochry
Also Known As:
Morag Cottage B&B Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing