We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fine place in a great little town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Elmwood East

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jim S
Bristol VT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fine place in a great little town”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent a week at Elmwood in mid-September, 2016. Jennifer was very helpful, picking us up at the train station and showing us the best places to shop & eat and the easiest paths to get around the village. The apartment was clean & cozy and had a splendid sunset view over the village. The house is far enough from the main through-road to be quiet and close enough for easy walking. Pitlochry is a little gem, full of friendly people, boasting a world-class theater, and a center for hiking & biking trails throughout the surrounding Highlands, We concluded we could happily live there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJB72
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A warm welcome set the tone”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

After four weeks of living in one room in hotels and in B and Bs, it was wonderful to have a separate lounge/dining/kitchen area, as well as a separate bedroom and bathroom and small entry hall. The kitchen was well-equipped, including such things as plastic wrap and lidded containers for picnic food. This was the first time we’d been asked to feed the electricity meter, but in one week, we barely used £2 worth, and that included using the washing machine.
Elmwood is well-located, being within walking distance of the main street and all that it has to offer. It's a longer walk to the Festival Theatre across the river, but a very pleasant one on a fine day.
What set this accommodation apart was the wonderful, warm welcome from Jennifer, who greeted us like old friends and instantly made us feel at home.
If we had the opportunity to revisit Pitlochry, we'd certainly stay at Elmwood again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyBat...
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well appointed and convenient”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Well appointed apartment in quiet location just a few minutes work from eateries and railway station. Plenty of off road parking. Ideal for visiting Perthshire's lochs, forests and tourist attractions. Lovely hosts. Would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment, centrally located yet in quiet area”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Centrally located only 5 minutes walk from Pitlochry High Street with its many coffee shops, small hotels and bars plus shops and a little over 1m minutes walk from the Festival Theatre it is ideal for staying for a theatre break and in the local area there are numerous country walks.
Good base for touring the Perthshire Highlands.
The flat is clean , comfortable with good cooking facilities ideal for a couple situated just a couple of streets form the Town Centre but in a quiet location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet central location easy reach of facilities in Pitlochry
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirandapa...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“peace and quiet”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

this is our second visit and it was as lovely as our first. We were met from the train station by our host and soon we were in our lovely apartment. Even though it is only about a 10mins walk to the main shopping area it felt very tranquil and had a great place to sit out and admire the view. Lovely in the evening with a glass of wine.
While the apartment is not large it has everything that a couple need. A quiet bedroom, nice lounge and a well equipped kitchen area.
We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: close to town but still quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penderhog...
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a fantastic week at Elmwood”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I cannot praise this rental flat highly enough!

My wife and I stayed here recently for a week after I competed in the Etape Caledonia (great event in fantastic weather!).

The facilities after a recent revamp by the owners - thanks Alan great standard of workmanship - are second to none and ideal for a couple up in Highland Perthshire.

Jennifer and Alan - the owners - could not do enough for us and made us very welcome.

We are already booked for next year and hope the weather is as glorious then as it was for our week in May.

Great holiday rental, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome - this is the 6th time we have stayed here
Liked least: Nothing, it was superb!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyWCoo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great spot, very comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A lovely flat, well equipped and comfortable. Easy access to shops, train station and buses. Plenty of good walks nearby. Also the owner very kindly picked me up from the station, and imparted some useful local knowledge, which was a bonus! Recommended.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing