We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, beautiful and extremely welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
1 review
“Perfect, beautiful and extremely welcoming.”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

An extremely professionally run hotel with a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. Rooms are fantastic and staff are amazingly helpful. Restaurant and food is top quality and realistically priced. Spacious, clean and located yards from the main street. Will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferryveedubz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us, my apologies that i seemed to have missed this review, glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Scotlands, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    536
    316
    221
    144
See reviews for
254
825
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2011

I am sorry to say that our stay in this hotel had to be the least value for money ever and I am not sure how long ago the brouchure pictures were taken but I guess a long long time ago - either that or they have a very good photographer, Rooms could not be further from the truth. Ours was foisty, old, tiny and so so sparce! The view from our bedroom overlooked a row of tin huts that staff visited often, shouting and smoking etc...Looking forward to some nice treatments - unfortunately we were informed when we enquired that they do not have any staff to carry out treatments?? Food menu was very limited and uneventful.
Hotel lacks atmosphere and any form of luxury .......very dissapointed

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letdown04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us, I wish all my rooms had fantastic views but sadly they don't, my apologies for my staff making such a noise will make sure this is controlled for future guests staying in that room. Unfortunately I'm still seeking to employ a therapist as this would finish off my leisure club again my apologies. The hotel does have a rolling maintenance programme in place now. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The hotel is in a good location in the centre of town, close to local shops, restaurants, pubs and walks. We stayed here as part of a package which included dinner, bed and breakfast; it was £85 for both of us for the night and although we had an enjoyable time, I would be reluctant to pay any more. A lot of the hotel is very tired looking and would benefit from refurbishment; the communal areas including hallways, staircases and the lift could do with new carpets and a lick of paint.

Our room, was in fact, fairly well decorated; it wasn't huge and the bed was smaller than we expect from hotels but it was clean and had a wonderful view of the surrounding hills.

We used the spa which had everything you would expect; pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. There was, however a children's swimming lesson taking place while we were there which slightly distracted from the relaxing, calmness you associate with a 'spa'.

In the evening, we had dinner in the restaurant. The quality of the food varied significantly; the soup was under-seasoned and the vegetables were undercooked but my partner had a beautifully cooked piece of sea bass and my desert of sticky toffee pudding was delicious. I would agree with the previous comments about the very rushed service during our meal; it certainly wasn't a leisurely experience.

Overall, I think that a fair few years ago (possibly the 70's judging by all the dark veneer doors) this would have been luxurious retreat but these days it seems a bit unloved, particularly the communal areas. It is possible that a refurbishment programme is happening in stages, as the spa and our room were of a much higher standard than the rest.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Smith_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us and thank you for all your comments good or bad helps me identify what areas I need to urgently work on and speed of service is coming up to frequent just now. We do swimming lessons both Monday and Tuesday 3.30-6pm thats all hope this didn't ruin your swim.We currently have a rolling maintenance programme in progress and wll eventually get her ship shape again. Thank you again for your comments


Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkintilloch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

dreadful place dated and grubby in public and private areas staff on the whole seemed quite willing but their grasp of the english language was very poor. room on the whole not to bad but main room door looked as if it had been broken into in the past. room also shabby in areas for example dirty cups, peeling paintwork in wardrobe area door handles hanging loose. we must have been above the staff area as at 2.35 am we were disturbed by quite a lot of noise. food very average beef was grey and tough and pudding dreadful but the worst was breakfast. We were eating our cereal when our cooked breakfast arrived and had to pick up our bowls as food just place on the table.
my husbands breakfast was wrong {2 types of egg no mushrooms} we tried to point this out ignored by first member of staff second one stinking of stale smoke did eventually understand what we were trying to say and took the plate away , plate was returned minus the poached egg but trails where egg had been still visible. toast cold butter dish has been used previously not washed out and more butter just put on top, small jars of jam {tiptree individual jars} when i opened both the marmalade and the honey had been used and just left for the next guest. very poor basic standards seem to be the norm in the hotel. I have stayed in place that on the face of it were classed as basic but the beat this place hands down. Very poor value for money and a terrible advert for a scottish tourist hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for your comments I'm not sure when you stayed here but can only apologise as I have only been here 3 weeks now and have had a lot to contend with but I know were making inroads. I can only apologise that our service was not Crerar standards we will improve.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Was fearing the worst after reading recent recommendations but it seems like we were staying at a totally different hotel.

Check in was quick and painless. Our room was on the third floor, seemed to have been done up fairly recently. Nice and clean, very spacious and a great view out over Pitlochry. Only down side was the shower. You'd have to be about 5'6 to actually fit under it.

Visited the pool, sauna and steam room which were all great.

Our package included dinner and breakfast. Both were good and of a decent level - nothing spectacular. Only downside was the lack of space between courses. As soon as one plate was finished another was laid down - didn't make for a very leisurely time.

All in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us, good to read you enjoyed your break with us and even visited our leisure club. My apologies if you thought our dining room service was too fast have been working on this to slow the delivery down as not everyone wants to race through their meal. Thank you again for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Bar - went to the bar on two occassions the first time we waited so long we ended up going to the pub across the road and the secon time waited around 5 min for someone to come and serve us. Restaurant - went into the restaurant at 8pm and we were back in the bar for 8.45 - felt very rushed and they did not give you anytime between courses. The room was not in the hotel building it was in the building next door which was very unpleasent especially in the rain. The room its self was supposed to be excecutive but it seemed very standard felt like an office(very tired looking) could do with getting a refurbishemnet. On a better note the location was great as was the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaafla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us, my apologies that my bar person was posted lost on a couple of occasions I think had him serving wine in the dining room. The restaurant service we are working on and for a large hotel we do sometimes have to serve people fast to get the tables reset and hopefully this will change as we progress onwards and upwards. We now have a rolling maintenace program in operation to catch up with all areas needing attention.
Thank you again for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Pitlochry is a beautiful town with many hotels, some good some not so and some like this one pretty average. On checking in, it would be nice to have a receptionist with a personality and who could actually crack a smile. The rooms we had were very well furnished, beds comfortable and the bathrooms nice with the exception of the plug being slightly too small for the sink therefore if you want a wash, make it quick!!! When we went to the bar, there was one problem - no barman!!! When one did eventually appear after having to be fetched, he ran out of something then promptly disappeared never to be seen again! Dinner was another rather sparsely staffed affair. Although the dining room was busy the staff was very thin on the ground and in fact there was a couple who had been forgotten. The whole building is in need of a good lick of paint and when we were sitting in the foyer, there was a rather large leak in the ceiling with a lovely blue tub to catch the drips in the main thoroughfare. All in all it was fairly good value for money but if you want first class staff and plenty of them, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillypurpleeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us and my apologies that we seemed understaffed this has been dealt with and both areas of concern are now fully manned. We now have a rolling maintenance program in place to catch up with all the items you mentioned and especially the dripping roof. We are working very hard to get Scotland's Hotel running nice a smooth and thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing