We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wnderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wnderful stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in room 501 accross the road from the main hotel. At first i thought it may have been a little expensive, then i experienced the service. The staff were fantastic. I have never seen staff work as hard to keep customers happy. Breakfast was very good however i did think the fruit juice could have been better. I really enjoyed myself and wold not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busterboy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us i'm glad you enjoyed your break in room 501 a cracking large room, thank you for your lovely comments.
Thank you for the comments about my staff their a cracking hard working bunch and helpful too. I'm glad you've found us the perfect hotel and we hope you'll visit again soon


Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    537
    316
    221
    144
See reviews for
254
825
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here for one night as a stop-over on the way north. Our room was pleasant - clean, comfortable and spacious.

My partner is vegetarian, and although I'd stated this when I booked, there was very little choice for her on the cooked breakfast menu, and it took a bit of negotiating with the staff to get something suitable.

We'd considered paying a visit to the leisure club, but it was closing when we arrived at around 1930...a shame as after a day's travelling I'm sure half an hour in there would have done us both good.

Despite those negatives, still an enjoyable stay in Pitlochry.

(oh...and a rather quirky open-fronted lift.....I'm suprised they're allowed this in these days of health & safety)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, my apologies about the lack of vegetarian available for breakfast i hope my staff managed to sort this out for you. Our leisure club is only open 7.30am to 7.30pm daily with very few requests after this time. Our lift is unique and safe with health and saftey. Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is the worst hotel and spa I have ever visited. I use a Wahanda discount voucher and appreciate the voucher only cost £99, but the value was said to be a lot more. The hotel looks lovely from the outside but is clearly only 2 star on the inside. We did not use the spa facilities as to access them, you have to walk right through the middle of the dining room. Not to the side of diners, but inbetween diners tables! The room we were allocated was a small double, clean and fresh, but very dated and a view over the roof of the kitchens. We asked to move or upgrade but were told the hotel was full and that another couple had already asked to move rooms and they had taken a twin as their room was so bad. To lock the bedroom door you have to push a button on the inside of the handle turn it and pull from the outside to ensure it is locked. Full scottish breakfast was included, which consisted of cold, hard, reheated food and no baked beans as they don't do beans with breakfast. Extremely disappointing hotel. I will not visit again and would not recommend to anyone else. The free wifi access is so poor you can't even pick up emails.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OlderNbolderHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thier are other ways to reach the leisure club without going through the restaurant again my apologies you were'nt told about this. Our WiFi is normally very good with good connection, my apologies this wasn't working correctly during your stay.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The bed was really hard, the dining room was used as a corridor to and from the Health Club whilst we were having dinner, thet forgot about us at breakfast and one of the tea cups was cracked. We were served dessert wine with our starter and the chardonnay when it came was warm. The main course was canteen food. We will find a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us my apologies if you found our food not up to our normal standard i will investigate this and my apologies about the walk way we do try and re-direct when dinner service is on. Hope you'll try us again in the near future

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The room was a suite in one of the annexe buildings and spacious, modern and very clean. Beds are firm and weren't comfortable however others may think differently. Perhaps a mattress topper might be a solution to those who prefer a softer bed. The shower pressure is very poor so don't expect anything close to a power shower experience.

Guests at annexe buildings have to cross a road to get to the main hotel for meals and unfortunately there is nowhere to hang soaking wet coats once you arrive at the dining room. A coat rack would be of benefit.

The main hotel can be described as shabby chic but it has a certain charm about it and does have a rather friendly feel.

The staff are pleasant however the dining room staff in particular appeared to be stressed and over-worked.

The dining room is the focus for main criticism. The dinner menu choice is good, however the wine choice is lacking somewhat and requires some review. An expansion of the white wines and particularly Rose would be beneficial. Offering screw top bottles for £16 plus is astonishing.

Although the dinner menu choice is good, sadly the food quality doesn't always match up. The soup was delicious and the salmon wonderfully cooked. however there was disappointment with meat dishes and vegetables which were particularly undercooked. The staff were rather quick to absolve the chef after a foreign object was found in one of the meals, declaring that some of the food is bought in from a third party . Given the locality and the access to local meats and fish, that came as a surprise.

My advice would be go for bed and breakfast only. The additional cost of choosing a la carte options is considerable. There is a good variety of restaurants nearby offering high quality food at reasonable prices. Better to take a walk and sample those establishments instead at dinner time.

Breakfast food is good with a large choice on offer however some aspects are rather peculiar. The menu describes a "brace of poached eggs on toast" as one of the items. In fact, you are given one rather tiny egg in the middle of a bit of dry toast. Now I'm sure a "brace" refers to two or more, so how this relates to a single poached egg is a bit of a mystery.

The coffee is truly awful. Best decribed as "catering tin" quality. It appears to be of cheap quality with a bitter taste. It reminds me of the urn coffee that catering companies like to serve up at company meetings. Strangely, but perhaps quite thankfully, neither coffee nor tea is on offer after dinner. Having sampled the coffee at breakfast, a stroll out of the hotel after dinner to a local cafe offering good quality coffee was in order.

Be wary if you suffer from any disability which limits your mobility as certain rooms in the annexe buildings will be totally unsuitable. I was surprised to see an extensive gravelled entrance area to one of the annexe buildings which would prevent wheelchair access.

Overall it was good, not great. A return might be in order in the future however eating dinner at restaurants away from the hotel would be the choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us my apologies if you found our food and wine not to your liking we do use our company standard menus and wine list but will look into all your comments.Hope you'll try us again and would make sure your allocated a room in the main hotel

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel was the worst hotel my wife and I have ever stayed in, this was supposed to be a special hotel for us as it was our anniversary but it had Filthy carpets, Wallpaper hanging off, room was dirty, kettle was dirty and the area surrounding the tea/coffee facilities was dirty, the towels were not changed until we asked them, the bath was not cleaned until we asked, the information on the welcome sheet was poor. The first room (142) we were given was over the service area which was dark and dingy, we asked for a move and were given (244) which was brighter but still dirty. Nowhere to sit at night and talk with the other guests as the only place there was to do that was a public bar in the hotel. We have stayed in B&B's that were a lot cheaper and a lot nicer. The full Scottish breakfast was poor.
I would not recommend this place ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennoxton48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us. My apologies that you found our rooms to be poor in size and standard we do have Executive rooms and Suites if you wish to pay that little bit extra and again my apologies that housekeeping overlooked your room on the Monday which was addressed as soon as you let us know.

The information about rooms is on two forms the first a letter signed by me telling about leisure opening times and fire alarm testing and a wee welcome from myself and the 2nd is in the top drawer which is the full bedroom folder which details everything from what taxi to use to breakfast and dinner times and places to visit.

The maintenance of the hotel does have a rolling programme and is been continuously updated and repaired just like any other hotel, with the hotel being older needs more TLC which it now gets.

Lounge space we have 5 different areas for our guests to relax in two of them being bar areas then there is lounge space either side of the bar which can sit around 50-60 persons total.

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us and hope you'll return soon.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Big old fashioned hotel in busy little tourist town. Service was good both in reception and in the restaurant. Seems to cater for families with children, which gives a nice friendly feel to the place. My room which was a single, was perfectly adequate and the bed comfortable. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller5_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time and posting your review. Yes we are very busy just now with young families as we have ample family rooms and Pitlochry is very central with plenty to do. Glad you enjoyed your dining with us for both breakfast and dinner and we hope you'll return again soon

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing