We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Doesn't disappoint”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here a few times most recently when I went to see The Enchanted Forest. Welcoming Receptionist, lovely room and a filling breakfast, couldn't ask for more.
Located in the centre of the lovely town of Pitlochry it has a good pool for relaxing, lots of areas for chilling with a drink and competent staff.
There are lots of walks to go outside the hotel with great views of the countryside.
I will definately return.

Great for a long weekend/midweek break.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taranisGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to visit the Enchanted Forest whilst in the area it's been a great activity. Thnak you for your lovely comments will pass onto my staff and look forward to your next visit thanks again


Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    546
    325
    234
    155
See reviews for
266
844
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

we stayed at this hotel for 3 days on bed and breakfast .rooms were quite spacious,very clean and tidy food was excellent, bed was very comfortable. used the spa facilities a couple of times which were excellent. staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us at Scotland's Hotel. Glad you enjoyed your 3 day break with us and all went well, will pass your comments onto George my chef and my front of hotel staff. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed for three nights in room 244 very pleased with the room very clean and warm. Reasonable size room and kept very clean by housekeeping staff.Breakfasts were good and enjoyed the Dinners plenty of choice . Just got to remember to book for Dinner.
Staff were very pleasant and service was very good.
Did not use the Leisure Facilities though looked pretty good. Would not hesitate in coming back on return visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brack11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us, glad you enjoyed room 244 and the housekeeping staff kept it nice a clean. You need to remember to re-book your dinner daily now but glad you enjoyed both service and meals always helps. Thanks again for a lovely review and see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Friendly reception with no problems at check in/departure.
Room was nice and clean - bit old fashioned in style but this suited the style of the hotel, bathroom had been renovated and was modern with some nice complimentary accessories
Leisure club had a nice pool and sauna/jacuzzi, note no steam room. Changing rooms recently modernised and nice and clean.
All meals were superb - excellent choice at breakfast, with a great variety from the table d'hote, fast efficient service with hot plates -excellent.
Definately worth a visit - this hill in the area are fantastic

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schottlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for talking the time to review your recent stay with us. Thank you for such a lovely review and yes my steam has been giving me problems of late its back up to 80% and just waiting on a new part. I will past your comments onto George and his kitchen team as you enjoyed his meals and menu choices.Thank you again for such a lovely review and hope you'll return again soon.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2011

stayed in rooms 212 & 216 for 3 nights. Rooms were good size with large bathrooms. Staff worked really hard as they were understaffed due to some leaving at end of season but hotel had remained busy, this had little impact on our stay and they were smiling all the way through. The inclusive dinner menu had 3 starter, 4 mains and 3 desserts but we did pay a supplement on some nights. We did have to send one meal back which was replaced immediately with an alternative without question. rooms were clean and response to faulty light was quick. it's true the floor slopes but this the case in many old hotels. pool and jacuzzi were lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerakcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time and posting your review, glad you enjoyed your break with us and that any problem you had was sorted with minimal fuss thats nice to hear. Room 212 with that wee sloop your right its an old hotel just glad it didn't cause you any dificuties, I will pass your kind comments onto my staff hey certainly have been kept busy, thank you again for your review and hope you'll be returning again soon

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We only stayed here for one night while we visited The Enchanted Forest but wished we had booked longer. The family room we got was large, as was the bathroom, and both were really clean. The leisure facilities were excellent although the changing rooms could have been better. Many of the parents took their children into the ladies or mens communal changing rooms rather than use the family changing room, which was really the disabled toilet. This is okay if the children are of the same sex but is very awkward when they are of the opposite sex and you are trying to change in front of them. The breakfast was really good and could not be faulted. We did not eat there at night as they said they only had a slot at about 5.30pm or at 9pm so cannot comment on the food available. The hotel information folder in the room said they had limited room service available 24 hrs and a menu would be in the folder. There was no menu. We asked at reception and were told that they do not have a room service menu at present and gave us the dinner choices menu for that night. Useless. Overall, I really enjoyed the hotel as did my partner and son. Will hopefuly be back. Oh, and go and visit the Enchanted Forest. Totally amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay, glad you enjoyed your break with us and your room was clean and comfortable with plenty room for all. Thank you for your comments about the leisure facilities and will make sure housekeeping check more regular on the changing rooms.Nothing beats a good breakfast to start the day glad you enjoyed, the room service menu we had been changing and was out of action just for a week till this was updated my apologies if this upset your plans. Glad you enjoyed the enchanted forest its been a very busy 3 weeks for them and Pitlochry. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

On arriving, we were disappointed to find that the spa treatments were fully booked during our stay - apparently people book these in advance - so one of the reasons we had chosen this hotel was instantly removed. It would have been useful to have been told of the need to book in advance when I rang up several weeks before to confirm that there would be therapists available during our stay. That letdown apart, the room was of a good size and the leisure facilites were fine.
Breakfast was a mixed experience. On each of the three mornings we had to ask the staff to serve us as they rushed around like headless chickens - clearly the restaurant was understaffed. Once our order was taken, however, the food came extremely quickly and was tasty.
Several incidents were amusing at the time but indicate that the hotel needs money spending on it. One morning I got stuck in the lift, but I was freed quickly as this appeared to be a routine incident. Later that morning my son cut his toe on a sharp object in the bedroom (not the rolled up pair of somebody else's socks that we found behind the TV!) and was rinsing it in the bath when the shower curtain rail fell on him! When we came back that evening the rail had been screwed back into the ceiling - for the fourth time, judging by the number of holes in the ceiling - ready for the next unsuspecting guest.
One evening we rang reception and she answered 'Fawlty Towers' - sums the place up!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suarez07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments. Being that were a very busy Spa hotel treatments do require to be booked in advance as we advertise on all web sites to avoid disapointment. Our restaurant team are very well trained for the number of guests we deal with on a daily basis and although the restaurant may appear busy they know exactly what their doing and I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast. I must say i was rather surprised about the sock behind the tv as our tv's sit on top of the dresser. I hope your son's toe is ok now.The shower curtain was fixed as soon as possible as my maintenace man was not due in till late that afternoon and couldn't understand how this had come but put back up using longer screws. I do object to calling us "fawlty towers" as do work very hard to keep all guests happy and I'm sure non of my staff would have said that. Thanks for taking the time and writing your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,811 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing