We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party Night - what party night?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Christmas Party Night - what party night?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Just returned from a 2 night weekend Christmas Party Night break at Scotland's Hotel and Leisure Club in Pitlochry. The village and surrounding area really is beautiful especially at this time of the year with snow etc, pity the same cannot be said of the Scotland's hotel. The hotel was pretty much deserted on the Friday evening, and altough the room we had was comfortable, they probably could have put us in a superior room without any hassle to anyone.

The inclusive dinner menu was pretty restricted and nothing spectacular on offer, you could have had a steak but this was an excessive £17 supplement on top of the inclusive deal we were on. There was also no draught lager available and only bottled beer, throughout the hotel, very disappointing. This continued onto the Saturday as well so no effort was made to resolve the issue which was supposed to cater for a party night.but more of that later.

We both had chicken terrine which was bland to say the least. My wife opted for a trio of chocolate dessert which was so frozen solid she couldn't even break it open. Being the sole people left in the hotel, we promptly finished our dinner and left for a local pub up the road.

Cooked breakfast in the morning was ok, nothing spectacular and have had much better.

Now onto Saturday evening....we tried out the small lesiure facilities which were ok but the spa pool is fit for 4 average-sized people at a push, 2-3 people in the smallest sauna I've ever seen, and 4 seats in the steam "room". Pool is small but adequate. If more people had been around then we would have really struggled to chill out and relax.

Now the piece de la resistance.....the so-called Christmas Party night. There was us and a party of about 20 firefighters and their partners. They had their dinner and then left as there was no-one else actually attending the party. We finished our dinner and did likewise! I paid an extra £7 for 3 scallops, we had an average traditional turkey dinner and then my wife had half a melon filled with frozen solid sorbet and berries which she was told she had to scoop the melon out but she didn't have a trowel handy.

We left and thankfully found a wee pub in the village that had a good dj and good music so that salvage some of the Xmas spirit.

There are quite a number of really nice-looking hotels in Pitlochry - we just picked the wrong one and won't be back. We also wouldn't have bothered going if the hotel had told us that their party night only had a booking of 1 block booking!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, my apologies that you did not enjoy our party night I know we only had 35 booked but still could have made a party out of it if everyone had stayed. I'm sorry you feel our leisure club was too small most folk do enjoy using it and it's their for all guests. You have to remember this was during the bad weather that Pitlochry had recieved and we were getting cancellations and even guests not showing up.Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    532
    314
    219
    143
See reviews for
254
821
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Me and my girlfriend spent our birthday weekend here and were left disappointed by several key things you would expect to be top notch in a hotel charging so much!
For example, not once did I go to the bar without having to find someone to serve me. And not once was this apologised for.
The room and the location were excellent, no complaints at all and the leisure facilities were good according to my girlfriend. But the social areas are dull and univiting, there is little to no atmosphere in any area of the hotel. The evening meal was dissapointing and the breakfasts were fine at best.
All of these complaints could have been avoided if I hadn't been greeted with such a large bill at the end of it.
If you're looking to enjoy pitlochry, as it's such a beautiful part of the country, there are far better value hotels where you won't be overcome with the feeling you're being ripped off the entire time you're there!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toon89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time and poting your review, my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us I know it's a quiet time of the year the run up to Christmas can be very quiet and thats the only reason we only had a few staff on and agian my apologies that no courtesy was given when the barman returned. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Been here before a few times, but it's good to see that it is still as good as ever. The location is perfect for a weekend away or even longer to go sight seeing. The leisure centre was ideal to chill out in the pool and then a sauna in the cold evenings. Food was excellent for what we paid, and the service was as good as always. If you fancy something a bit more lively then the fishers pub at the bottom of the hill 2 mins away is good but not somewhere you would perhaps stay. so all in all, a great weekend, great time and ready to go again as soon as i can.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavieboyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us glad you got to re-charge the batteries not a bad thing to do prior to Christmas. Will pass your comments onto my chef glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us and then enjoyed the local nightspots. Thank you again for reviewing your recent stay with us

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alva, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

For a 3 star hotel this is really good value and so far the best we have stayed in. We went on a Saturday so we could take in the entertainment, a comedy show which was very enjoyable. All the staff are very friendly and helpful (especially Sarah on reception) and the room we had was better than any I have had in a 3 star in Scotland. The evening meal though not big portions, was delicious, and breakfast very good also. Will try to spend 2 or more nights next time so that we can have time to enjoy spa facilities too. Though the pool is on the small side we seen a few people swimming in it so I don't see a problem personally.

Room Tip: Our room was over the dining room and we didn't hear anything or anyone else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us, thank you for all your lovely comments and will pass your comments onto Sarah also who will be delighted at getting another lovely mention.Glad you enjoyed the Comedy night planning another late February or March. Will pass your comments onto my chef regarding the dining and thank you again for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights late November on Dinner, Bed & Breakfast. This hotel is good value for money, the room was nice and had all the needed facilities, bathroom lovely. The staff were all polite, friendly and professional but spread a little too thin over the depts at times.

The food was good value for money most of the time but needs a little more consistancy, as when it is good it is very good so they can do it and you expect this standard at all times.

Breakfast is great, good scottish produce and perfectly cooked with good choices.

The Health Suite - this is an added bonus really and pleasant for a swim and steam

Wifi - unfortunately does not work in all rooms (it didn't in ours), but can connect in main areas. it wasn't a major problem as i had Dongle with me.

This was my second stay at this hotel and i would definitely go back and would recommend it to friends and family. We came away feeling relaxed and chilled, which was our aim.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ModernMillie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us. Will pass your comments onto my chefs both good and bad and we have a settled team now. Glad you enjoyed the use of the leisure facilities while you were here. My apologies that the WiFi didn't work in your room will check and see what areas this affects and see if this can be sorted that all rooms can receive. Thanks again for reviewing your stay with us


Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23alan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

The window was open and would not shut. The bathroom could not be opened from the inside and toilet could not be flushed twice within 15 minutes. The room decor was tired and old-fashioned (note to hoteliers: not updating does not make it vintage style). The pool was not big enough to swim in and the gym had so few pieces of equipment, I lost the will to spend time there.
Dinner was nice. That is all.

Room Tip: Use another hotel - the rooms are not good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 23alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us. My apologies about your window would not close but can assure you this has since be fixed as with the bathroom door since you stayed with us in June. Our leisure facilities are as it states my apologies if you have thought we had a leisure club it's their for guests use and guests to relax in. Thank you for your comments on your dining will pass onto my chefs, thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us


Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

good friendly greeting from receptionist. room was extremely comfortable with tea and coffee, tv etc. restaurant food and staff outstanding. great central position in pitlochry. great value for moner.

Room Tip: suites are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and my staff looked after you so well and will pass your comments onto all thanks again for taking the time and posting your review

Kind Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing