We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Went away on a couples break and stayed here. Our room was comfy enough and very clean though corridors did feel like they needed a refurb. Bed not the comfiest but still got a good night sleep. We were on a DBB deal and the food was out of this world, amazing but unfortunately service wasn't the best. We had to wait for the bar staff to take our drinks order halfway through our starters and at breakfast waited ages for a menu but these are just little things. Receptionist also not the friendliest but a good stay and great value for money

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us and glad you enjoyed your meals with us, my apologies that our service was not our usual high standard. Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    532
    314
    219
    143
See reviews for
254
821
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently at the hotel and I was quite disappointed. Staff were all ok. Walking to my room I was greeted with a stale smell and a pile of dirty sheets on the floor in the corridor (that was still there 3 hours later after dinner). The dinner was average at best, and spotted a hair in it. The room itself suffered from a lot of noise from the street out side, the mattress was rock solid and the vent in the toilet was disgusting the amount of dust on it. The selection of cold foods at breakfast was very limited. Pitlochry is a nice place though...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenChiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Scotland's Hotel, sorry your stay with us was not as good as you expected off us, my apologies about the dirty linen being left outside your room my housekeeper must have overlooked this until later in the day, again my apologies that you never enjoyed your dinner or breakfast with us, not sure what was missing from our cold buffet display as normally something for everyone choice of 6 different cereals 4 juices fruits and spreads all the rest comes from the kitchen. Sorry you found your room was noisy the night you stayed with us. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel on a short break in Scotland, it was a lovely place to stay and the staff were very helpful. We had a package which included breakfast and dinner. And I have to say it was great value. The evening meals were great with an excellent selection to choose from as well as being beautifully presented.
At breakfast you had more choice than I expected from basic cereal and toast to a full Scottish breakfast and finnin haddie.
The other plus point for this hotel was the spa which you get full use off and it's a perfect way to relax after a day of exploring.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spatterson79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for all your lovely comments I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

This has the potential to be a fabulous hotel but the building and fittings felt tired and some of the staff didn't seem to know the hotel very well. The receptionist at check-in sent us a very long way round to our room, we soon found a much quicker way by a staircase the recptionist didn't know about. And none of the restaurant staff on the first night knew anything about the "this month's wine promotion" despite the huge poster right outside the door. We ordered a Suavignon Blanc and the waiteress asked "red or white?"! Our room was big, and despite overlooking the street there was very little noise at night. The lighting made it impossible to read in bed (and no, it's not just an age thing) and the wardrobe door was so badly fitted it often juddered open of its own accord. Our package included dinner on the first night. This was OK but nothing to get excited about and probably wouldn't have been worth the asking price. Breakfast is a self service cold buffet with table service for cooked breakfasts. Service here was inconsistent - prompt some mornings, very slow on others. There's a tiny gym whose machines are overdue for replacement. I'd imagine that all the leisure facilities could get impossibly busy when the hotel is anywhere near full. Having said all that, some of their inclusive and semi inclusive packages offer great value as long as you don't expect perfection.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigellachie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I do have a few new staff that are still settling in and finding their way around but they'll get their soon were always training our staff and the next course is wine this month. The hotel its self is an old building which does need a lot of TLC I do agree with you their but it is as I said an old building we do our best. The gym is due a refurb but don't know when we again do our best to keep all the equipment in working order. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Having read some reviews prior to our arrival, we were sort of fearing the worst. But we were well impressed with much of what the Scotland hotel had to offer. The positives include terrific location, right in the centre of Pitlochry, but off the high street and a bit way from the railway line. The room was compact, clean and functional. The staff were friendly and attentive, with the evening meals tasty and traditional. The Crerar autumn offer was EXCEPTIONAL value for money and we were delighted with our two-night stay - we will definitely return to Pitlochry and will consider this hotel again. Yes, it is a bit tired in places and is certainly not 5-star, but with the Spa and gym onsite, and wine and meals included in the deal, there really is nothing to complain about! Thank you Crerar for this wonderful deal - I hope we can do it again next year

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on our Autumn Gold deal, thank you for all your kind comments and glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

When 4 of us arrived to check in we waited ages for the receptionist to appear (although the sign states reception is manned from 8am-8pm!) She then took us to our room outside the hotel and up the road!!! On returning to reception to ask if we could have rooms in the hotel she checked who we had booked through and said Expedia should have told us we would not be in the hotel but 'thats one of the companies that does not bother to tell people!' She couldn't have care less - really bad attitude! This hotel really needs a lot of TLC - we wont be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, sorry about the delay in getting you checked in my receptionist would have been taking other guests across to their rom also, the reason my receptionist would have checked your booking is to see what type of room you were after i.e. double or twin bedded, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killie
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just returned from a2day break.Check in quick and informative.First impression of the room was spacious and very nice,on further inspection carpet needs to be stretched as it was very uneven and not very safe to walk on.One of the drawers had rubbish left by the previous guest.Bathroom was very dusty down the front of bath panel .Toilet seat was very stained and needs replacing.One of the Windows had mildew all along bottom .Sheet had a hole in it.Run out of toilet roll.Housekeeper needs to check these things all get done properly.
THIS was the 5th time we have stayed here so was a bit disappointed This year .Set menu 19.95 a bit limited in choice of main,sweets were lovely.Breakfast very good .To finish on a positive the pool area was lovely and the Michael Buble tribute night was excellent.Staff very pleasant

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazaKillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for your mixed review my apologies that your room wasn't,t to our normal standard will certainly speak with my housekeeper about this, the menu,s in place have been since February and are changing very shortly sorry you never enjoyed them, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing