We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Year Break”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My sister and I stayed for three nights over New Year and had a fantastic time. This was our second stay at Scotland's. We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip trip and were very much looking forward to our New Year Stay. Scotland's did not disappoint and our expectations were surpassed!
The food was excellent as was the entertainment provided over all three nights.
The highlight for us though was Donald and his team of staff!. They were extremely friendly and welcoming and although they were all very busy (as expected as the hotel was full) they were efficient, very friendly and genuinely seemed to be enjoying their work.
We met a lot of nice people, many of whom rebooked for this year on their departure - that says it all really!
We will definitely be back, hopefully very soon.
Thank you Donald and Staff
Elaine, Pam (and Millie) Tulloch

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, glad you ladies enjoyed your new year break with us and you Millie thank you for all your lovely comments and will certainly pass onto all my staff even Stan....hope your booking back again for new year also, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    540
    320
    224
    151
See reviews for
256
834
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here after New Year for 2 nights on a package which gave us bed and breakfast with dinner on the first night with a bottle of wine and full use of the leisure facilities. Overall impression on arrival was an older style hotel with an antiquated lift. We got to choose whether we wanted a walk in shower or shower over the bath. Bedrooms were fine. Tea/coffee making facilities are in all rooms and free WiFi is available although somewhat patchy at best. Room 210 had a double aspect and lovely views with a very recently upgraded bathroom. The only drawback was that the windows were painted shut and there was no way of airing the room. Room 243 was in the extension. Not a great outlook but close to the larger lift with acces to the car park and leisure club. The whole hotel was warm and clean. The staff were all lovely. They are friendly, informed and helpful.

The set dinner menu was a bit restricted and we ended up selecting our mains from the a la
carte (at a reduced rate). We all thought it would be an easier system to simply give you a credit to spend on dinner rather than having a seperate menu - a small detail. Breakfasts were pleantyful and good. There was a mixture of self service and waiter service.

The pool, sauna and steam rooms are small but children were having great fun in the pool and it was easy to monitor them. An employee was in attendance poolside the whole time quite unusual but welcome. Towels are provided.

The hotel has scope to offer so much with a range of public rooms and lounge bars although not all in use. We discovered the public bar had opened on the Friday and a very good duo were
playing howerer there was no mention that we saw in the main hotel area. A missed opportunity.
The location is just off the main street and they are missing a trick in not having a sign promoting themselves. All in all it gave us exactly what we had gone for. A chance to relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, glad you enjoyed your couple of days after the new year, the windows do open in room 210 but only a small way due to health and safety. Very surprised that nobody said we had entertainment on the Friday night normally put a notice at reception for this. Thanks again for your review


Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A family party for a twixmas break. Reviews left us concerned but we all really enjoyed our stay. All the staff were very helpful and looked after us well. Standard rooms as expected in a 3* hotel and family room was spacious. Food was good with an excellent choice. The décor is a bit dated and some areas do need attention but on the whole it is well presented. The leisure centre was clean with all the facilities you need the kids all had a ball. The entertainment provided on the last night was superb and was enjoyed by all of us from youngest to oldest. On the whole fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turasmarabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, glad you all enjoyed your festive stay with us and thank you for all your lovely comments, thanks again for your lovely review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdour, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent a 3 night twixmas break here. Reviews left us a bit concerned on arrival. We shouldn't have worried it was very good, we had 3 rooms the standard rooms were modern but smallish. Our family room was lovely and spacious. The general decor is a bit dated but it's a 3 star hotel in Pitlochry, what do people expect? Food if anything was nearer 4 star quality and staff very helpful. Especially reception, barman and nightshift porter who stayed on to do breakfast and was a bit of a character. Kids loved the pool which was clean and modern. Overall a great value break.

Room Tip: Family rooms in main building are huge with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thanks for your kind review each to their own for their comments were sadly not every cup of tea, anyway I,m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for review again.

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at Scotland's Hotel 12-14th December 2013. The location is central and not far from several good restaurants, which turned out to be a godsend!

The hotel decor is very tired with baggage damage evident on many of the doors. Take care when using the lift; it is a very old design. There is no inner door so get well in to the compartment and do not allow children to operate it on their own.

The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren; a few discrete signs may help guests to navigate the corridors.

We experienced very poor service; I had to search the hotel to find someone to tend the bar in the evenings, as did several other guests who had arrived in the bar before us. For most of the time the staff were noticeable by their absence; “The Marie Celeste” would have been a better name for the hotel.

The pool facilities were good however I noticed that the attendant sometimes wandered off. As my companions both have heart conditions this was a nagging worry. The sauna was small and four users would fill it. The opening hours were a little restrictive.

Our room faced out on to Toberargan Road; my sleep was disturbed by heavy traffic noise and noise from a nearby bar.

The restaurant was very poor; a vegetarian dish described as “Roasted vegetables with pine nuts” appeared to consist of crumble pastry and burnt broccoli, bacon was served in place of Parma ham and bacon was mixed through the Bubble & Squeak though this was not mentioned in the menu. In a similar vein a 2009 bottle of wine was substituted in place of the 2007 bottle ordered. On our first evening we were going to the theatre at 19.00 so booked an early meal for 17.30. Our starters did not arrive until 18.20 and by and large the meal was awful.Once more, the staff were noticeable by their absence. We raised a complaint; an apology was made and the price of the meal refunded. We ate out at The Auld Smiddy Inn the second night; warm, friendly atmosphere, attentive staff, excellent food at reasonable prices - a total contrast!

We have stayed here several times in the past and I cannot recall any issues then; sadly my impression is that standards have slipped in recent years.

Room Tip: Do not take a room facing over the roads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, sorry to read you never enjoyed your meal with us on your 1st nights stay with, regarding staffing depending how busy we we're depends on how many staff were on duty and nearly all our staff multi task at this time of year you can,t afford to have to many staff on and yes sometimes you have to wait it's not our intention. Sorry to read you had a poor sleep due to the noise from traffic on the street. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our 2nd 4 night xmas break was again relaxing with good service,( except on the last night when 1 barman was attempting to take over100 orders whilst a dozen or so waiting staff coped fine), good value meals, a 4 course xmas lunch with no cooking or washing up required and scones or sandwiches, tea and coffee usually available.
Our room lacked heat from the radiator and felt a bit damp and a bigger bed would have been better( premier inn size). Bathroom was great as was the shower but for shorter people it would help to be able to reduce the showerhead height when the pressure isn't great.
We used the pool which is fine for relaxing and the sauna and steamroom are small but adequate.
A short walk takes you to range of shops which covers all needs. Would recommend a walk up to Moulin where the Inn has good local beers and a roaring fire.
Less than an hours drive from Dundee we knew we'd be pretty sure of getting there in dodgy weather but would like to try elsewhere for xmas but still recommend Scotlands.
Yes, most staff were foreign but were pleasant and helpful.
On checking out our barbill was overcharged by £12, charged for a bottle not a large glass of wine!
A woman behind me said she was aware of an "overcharging on drinks scam". Surely not!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alistair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, glad you enjoyed your Christmas break with us again, my apologies you were charged wrongly for a bottle instead of a glass and can assure you this was a human error I do apologise, this was a one off. I,m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalgety bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having read recent reviews about this hotel it was with some trepidation that we undertook their twixtmas package. Twenty of us in 9 rooms were delighted with the overall presentation and cleanliness of our rooms. Breakfast was excellent and although portions at dinner were just adequate the quality was good . Service was very good with Donald leading a fine team. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 561maryb561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldMacleod, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for all your kind comments and glad to be of service, thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
859 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,783 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing