We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gets better and better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Spent two nights here with my wife and two friends. We had originally booked two twin rooms but were given an upgrade to two double rooms in the Hotel annexe. This was the best ever stay in this hotel. The rooms were excellent, spacious, comfortable, and relaxing. As this was our friends first visit to this hotel, they were really impressed.
We had booked DBB and to say the food was great is an understatement, a six course taster menu was served on both nights, different courses each night. My wife requires a gluten free diet and this was no trouble at all to the excellent restaurant staff.
We have previously stayed at this hotel several times but all the staff from the reception to the restaurant were so friendly and efficient. This hotel has now become my joint favourite along with the Craiglynne in Grantown on Spey. A very big thanks to all the staff in the hotel for making this a memorable stay. Mr Crerar you can be proud of your staff in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask the receptionist for the type of room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Webee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

My Mum and I stayed at the Scotland Hotel in April 2014 for 2 nights. Upon arriving at the hotel we managed to get the one remaining parking space available as there's not many available for the size of the hotel. We found the hotel to be a bit dated in reception/hallways etc but it sort of added to it's traditional charm a bit. We had a twin room - quite small but very clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location....up a quiet street but a minutes walk from the main street with shops and cafes. Breakfast was beautiful. A huge choice of cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt etc then your choice from the cooked menu. I highly recommend the cinnamon french toast with a side of bacon mmmmm! The staff are very friendly and helpful too! The spa is small but clean and usable. Nice bonus if the weather's bad. All in all I would recommend the Scotland Hotel for a short break even although it would benefit from a little refurb. But if you look beyond that and appreciate it for what it is then you'll have an enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing the hills/railway line in the main building, not the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PollyPaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good points, excellent food . Had the "taster menu" which is six courses , all quite small portions and I was hungry an hour or so later but never the less delicious and i do have a large appitite.Nice. Pool area with sauna and steam room. Comfortable bar areas with warm atmosphere and friendly staff. Great breakfast all top quality food.

Bad point , the room. Very tired and dated. Blistering wallpaper , poor paint job , large bathroom but ancient Lino on floor gave feel of an old public baths. Overall room was more akin to a hostel than a hotel.
However room was clean and would probably return because good points compensate. Was also good value £60 pp dbb

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wangdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here for my Stag weekend, with 6 friends we where in family suits and they where quite cramped. and the room I was staying in had Damp water stains on the walls, The windows only opened Half an inch and it was 27 degrees outside so when we came back from playing golf it was like walking in to a oven. The Bar seemed over priced and only had a limited selection of beers. But the pub up the road was great!! The best bit about this hotel is the swimming pool and steam room we spent quite a lot of time in there. Over all it was not the worst place I have stayed in but was just too over priced for what you where getting

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quite so any would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Where to start! This was the second time we've visited and have visited other Crerar hotels. Very small bedroom, bed against the wall, no bedside cabinet - but the shower was good. Stayed on a DB&B deal (dinner on first night only thank goodness). Seemed to become invisible to staff as soon as we entered the dining room whether for dinner or breakfast. Chef was incapable of making a poached egg which wasn't hard in the middle and staff had to be reminded several times over that we were still waiting on our breakfast. I did have high hopes for the second morning, but to no avail. Once again we waited about 20 minutes for breakfast to arrive and once again my poached egg was hard. Eventually settled for bacon on toast - not acceptable. Staff were very apologetic about the slow service from the kitchen. We won't be back!

Room Tip: The separate house had nice rooms, not sure about the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audbodCumnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Nice clean wee rooms, despite booking a double room, we got a twin. No hassle there but it was roasting through the night and outside was very noisy with people heading home from the pub. The decor could do with a bit of updating and there's a horrible musty smell that meets you at quite a lot of corners of the hotel.

The meal at night is a 6 course taster type menu which wasn't clear how it operated. The first course, smoked duck was disgusting and the following bruschetta was terrible. Things picked up slightly with the watercress soup and the beef but overall it was a big disappointment even before the waiter spilled gravy all over the table. Was so bad we didn't even bother going down the second night, booking a restaurant instead. The supplement you have to pay at the restaurant for alternatives to the 6 courses was expensive too so that helped make the decision. With the weather being warm, naturally we had worked up a bit of a thirst. We weren't offered any water or drinks with our meal. The wine we took through was stuff we had bought from the bar in the hotel. Eventually I was able to get some water.

Breakfast was okay the first day with a selection of cold buffet stuff. You can order tea/coffee and there's a half decent cooked breakfast and other things. The second day breakfast was a complete disaster. They were so short staffed we had to queue at the door for 10 minutes before even getting to our seat. Once we told the told the person our room number and it was crossed off the list, we were ushered to a table of their choice. Tea/coffee was ordered and arrived promptly but that was where there the service stopped. A good 45 mins passed before I was able to order a couple of eggs. People were kicking about the door waiting to get in, only to find that their experience included forgotten orders, wrong orders, hairs in their food etc.

The spa was okay but nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Madeinchelsea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I liked the rooms but I didn't really like the restraint I liked the food but u had to wait around 2 hours for the whole dinner but the breakfast is superb and has a lot of choices unlike the dinner. I loved the hotel so I would go back.

Room Tip: Near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Correce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £53 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing