We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for one night with our 2 year old son. Had stayed at this hotel years ago so thought I knew what we were coming too but it is tired, a great shame. Decor in the bedroom was shabby with paper lifting off the walls. Wifi signal is pretty non existent even in main hotel kept coming and going. Breakfast was time consuming with people who entered after us being served their hot choices before we received ours. Staff were lovely but the background wasn't there unfortunately. Could be so much more especially given its location.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kbxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at Scotland's Hotel Pitlochry for two nights at end of a touring week.
Hotel is filthy, dark and miserable. My room was spacious but old and dark. Most of the staff are foreign but worked well. Corridors were dingy and smelly, a sort of stale smell. It was the same going from reception to dinning room.
We booked the 6 course taster meal for both nights in advance this was a big mistake, 1st course a 1" triangle of cracker and a pickle, that was it, Soup was served in a small coffee cup, the whole meal was £32.99 in the menu it wasn't worth £10.00 It was similar next night, we also booked a packed lunch for both days this was two slice of bread and a bottle of water, we didn't bother the second day. I believe they can cook but don't want to part with any food, also apart from breakfast if you even ask for water with dinner you will be charged extra. There's lots of eating places all better in Pitlochry.
The lift is dangerous for children as its about 100 years old and has no door on the inside.
This whole place needs serious upgrading.

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for one night in one of the executive rooms and decided to stay two, worth what we payed especially as its in Pitlochry.
Had a meal which was very good and great views from the room.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeteRRHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here on sat 2nd aug, large car park & main area & reception was nice & clean , got booked in & was shown to the building up from the hotel ,on opening the main door we were hit by a musty smell ! We had room 411 which was small ,bathroom was clean the bedroom had a big pink stain on carpet & grey marks on the roof very tired old room ,window frames were well over due a paint , we had a table booked at the steakhouse at the acarsaid which was great ! After our meal we came into the bar waited afew minutes nobody came to serve us ,so we went down to the fishers ,
Breakfast was ok nothing special & when checking out I waited for the "did you enjoy your stay with us ? " am still waiting ! £125 is abit high for this tired & dated hotel !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

just spent an overnight in this hotel...and it has seen better days ...staff lovely but flogging a very sick horse!!!...we tried to get lunch on sunday afternoon at 2.15 to be told they stop serving food at 2pm.....despite the menu saying food served until 3pm.....the smell in the small corridor upstairs is bad!!!...the spa was basic with just one young girl on her own doing treatments and one young man by the pool....HOWEVER...the sunday night dinner was lovely...and again the staff were great.....if the hotel was reviewed on staff alone it would be five star...but its not so sadly I would give it a miss......to expensive for what they offer

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is the second time my husband and i have stayed at this hotel. Would go back again however it is very dated. the evening meal and breakfast was lovely. We had a large room with a view which was great. If you order wine at dinner you will wiat for a while to recieve this. Lovely pool and spa.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliannamarrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This offer was not great value. Upon arriving at the hotel, out room was not ready, this despite conversations with someone regarding the unavailability of the spa, which we had specifically booked, but not to worry, someone called us to sort that out and managed to book us in over the course of 2 days. The conversation centred around arriving a little earlier on the Thursday to check in a little earlier and enjoy our first spa treatment. So listen, the spa is "good". It's very small, and the girls are knowledgable and very friendly. Good conversation and made me feel at ease. I enjoyed the treatments, but I didn't feelni was in a Spa as such. As far as the building goes, the decor and quality of the area is fantastic. This is a very old building, and the 2 or 3 spa rooms are the best part of the whole building.

Let's get on to the hotel stay. Never in my life have I been so disappointed in what I've been sold. Yes, this is an old building, but I would expect the internal design of the building to reflect the fact that this is a SPA.... It has the feel of a very old house about it, with more bars closed than open, and a very dirty appearance. Dark browns, old carpets and ancient wallpaper and curtains. If this place was operating as a homage to days gone by, then sell it that way... Market it properly. Don't market it as a Spa hotel. I don't feel comfortable at all in this environment, and neither did my wife.

I am also sad to report that , again despite having a conversation with a staff member before we arrived and informing said staff member that my wife and I were just married and looking forward to this break, we were booked for a TWIN ROOM!!!!! After a nervous few moments from the girl at reception, we were given a Double room. Great, but didn't it stink??? As soon as we opened the door, the stale aroma hit us in the face. Even worse when we opened the bathroom door. You would have thought they had cooked the breakfasts in that very room. It stank.... And the reason??? The vent from the kitchen only runs up the wall directly outside the window. Thanks for the warning, but also, no attempt within the room to neutralise the odour. No plug ins, air fresheners or any other device to help with this. Not to worry, only 2 nights to endure. And it was a deal, right???

No, it wasn't. Not really, when you consider that the cost of a double room per night is advertised at £125 per night, and that each of the spa treatments we were offered, when you divide the price of the full treatment by the offer treatment time, works out to be exactly the same as you'd expect to pay at full price. No deal!!!

Next time, I'm booking a travelodge, you know what you're getting, it's clean, and you get what you pay for. We'll have our spa treatments in a Bannatynes or somewhere of that ilk. We'll save money and still have a good time. I must admit, £370, not including the bill we had to pay on the way out the door was really rotten value for this trip. We have a highly established spa on our doorstep at home which would have cost us £50 less, including a 2 night stay which would have been a much better option in hindsight. Never again.

Final nail in the coffin, upon check out (and this might tell you all you need to know). Upon settling our relatively small bill, of the 2 people at reception, not a single one asked the fairly simple and standard question that you'd expect upon check out at every hotel.... "Did you enjoy your stay?" - They obviously knew what the answer would be.

Well done Wahanda, you took our cash in advance. Crerar, you can guess who we are and I really hope you get in touch to put things right.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Picasso151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £53 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing