We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed for three nights on a b&b basis. The suite , room 126 was cosy and very quiet . We were up at the crack and had breakfast at 7.30 each morning. The staff on duty each morning were friendly and helpful. The Gym and pool were great and i had a great sauna. My only gripe would be that the room did not have a view and outside the window , there was an Air Con unit that you could hear as you were falling asleep.. We booked through Booking .com back in March and the week before we were due to go i checked online and they were looking for double what we had paid for their remaining family room.....I thought this was a bit much, but seems it is common practice when demand outstrips supply.....Pitlochry is a nice wee Town with plenty of choice of eating places that fits every budget.....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcCurg, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2010
Many thanks for your kind words ,myself and my team look forward to welcoming you bak in the near future
Kind Regards
Peter McClurg ,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    532
    313
    219
    143
See reviews for
254
821
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Stayed two nights in this friendly and well-managed hotel. Comfortable rooms at a reasonable price, a good variety of excellent food, and always helpful and attentive staff. The spa offers the perfect way to relax after a day exploring what is some of the most beautiful scenery in Scotland. Would definitely come back. (And I'm not at all surprised that the delightful East Europeans on reception have decided not to return home!).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcCurg, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2010
Many thanks for your kind words, as you stated it is a really beautiful area where we are situated and some of the views from our guest rooms are spectacular, hopefully you will return in the near future
Kind Regards
Peter McClurg
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Absolute rip off. Old fashioned and very tired. Our dining experience was absolutely hysterical, reminded us of the "waldorf salad" sketch in Fawlty Towers. First dinner we were served someone elses food but that was nothing compared to the shambles that was to come. First morning breakfast, helped oursevles to juice, fruit, cereal etc and waited for someone to take our cooked breakfast order, and waited, and waited and waited. 20 minutes later the penny drops and the manageress takes our order. Again, waiting waiting waiting. After a further 30 minutes the "food" arrives. I opted for french toast with bacon, one soggy slice of bread and one, yes one, rasher of bacon. The cost of this breakfast was deducted from the bill and we left with a complimentary bottle of wine.

The evening meal was so bad we just had to laugh. It was beyond belief. We ordered a bottle of wine. The starter arrived before it, so we decided to wait to have wine with this, yip, you've got it, 20 minutes and 3 requests later we finally got, a glass of wine. When I advised the hotel manager (who was waiting tables???) that we ordered a bottle he said "well have that just now until we sort it out". Eventually our bottled arrived, which is just as well as the glass of house white could only be used for cooking. The "beef" that was delivered would have been better placed on the sole of your shoe. Overcooked, fatty and vile. One bite was enough. Again, the cost was deducted from our bill.

Unless you have money to waste and want to lose weight, avoid this hotel at all costs. Overpriced, shambolic and in desperate need of a refurb.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fonz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcCurg, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2010
May I start by apologising for not meeting up to your expectations here at Scotland's Hotel here in Pitlochry,however I was so surprised that you felt the hotel did need to be brought into the 21st Century.
On site here at Scotland's we have 72 fully refurbished bedrooms, not all with fantastic views but all designed to enhance the guest experience ,Tea coffee making facilities and all with new flat screen TV's which have just been installed. In your review you mentioned you were unhappy with the beef we served on our recently introduced Dinner menu and on checking with the manager and team on duty I believe we offered you our complete Ala Cart'e Menu of which commands no less than a selection of approximately twelve choices of mains courses all specially designed by Crerar Hotels Group Executive Head Chef ,of which you decided against. Wines you stated you felt were of a poor cooking Quality, we offer our guests a full selection of wines from our extensive wine list of which offer a selection of 35 bin numbers on the main list specially selected wines on the Crerar Classic wine selection not to mention the choice of three Champagnes. Our wine ranges in price from £14.95 to £49 per bottle of which we feel offers a good variation to please all tastes,
I am as stated profusely sorry for the short fall in our standards and will review all areas of our business that you feel need attention ,on this occasion I can only thank you for your constructive critisisms. As with all guest feed back we do take it most seriously and use this to help to achieve our ultimate goal, Guest satisfaction
Kind Regards
Peter McClurg
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pitlochry hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Fortunately we only booked a one night stay here, our 'double room' was tiny and it had the smallest double bed I have ever seen or tried to sleep in. The bathroom was modern and clean, with an excellent shower, but had nowhere to lay anything down.
Our experience in the dining room for breakfast was weird to say the least, we were taken to a table and seated but not told where to find cereals etc, not offered tea or coffee but were asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast, we chose our items, located the yoghurts and cereals and just as we started to eat these the cooked breakfast was brought to the table! its appearance took all of 3 minutes from ordering so couldn't have been freshly cooked. We then had to ask a waitress if we could have tea, coffee and toast, her surly response was 'have you not been asked that already'. We have paid a lot less to stay in places which were a lot better than this. The service and the welcome were cool and made us feel it was a tourist rip-off to people who were passing through and probably would never be back again, well we certainly won't and it gave a poor impression of 'Scottish hospitality'.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcCurg, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Dear Guest
I can only apologise for the short fall in our usual high standards here at Crerar Scotland's Hotel.
As with all guest comments we do take them most seriously and use them to improve the guest experience here at the Hotel .
On this occasion I can only thank you for your constructive criticism and only hope that you may return in the near future as to allow us to re-instate good faith in the product we offer here at Scotland's
Kind Regards
Peter McClurg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Thi shotel has seen better days and is now looking tired and in need of modernising and renovation.They claim all rooms have a view of the hills. None of our party's 4 rooms had a view other than the road, a fence or a wall so if views are wanted, do not accept a room in the old bank building over the road.
The night porter on our stay was not licensed to serve alcohol so forget drinks after 11:30.
An early breakfast promised to my brother was not delivered and he couldn't even gain entry to the main building at 5:00 am despite ringing the bell and phoning the number posted on the door for the porter.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogibuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcCurg, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Dear Guest
I can only apologise for the short fall in our usual high standards here at Crerar Scotland's Hotel.
As with all guest comments we do take them most seriously and use them to improve the guest experience here at the Hotel .
On this occasion I can only thank you for your constructive criticism and only hope that you may return in the near future as to allow us to re-instate good faith in the product we offer here at Scotland's
Kind Regards
Peter McClurg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunfermline
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

all the staff were friendly and helpful. the food we had ordered was good and the service was fast and efficient .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcCurg, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Many thanks for taking time to review Crerar Scotland's Hotel, as with all guest reviews we do take them most seriously,It actually helps us to move the Hotel forward on this occasion I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Peter McClurg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

I stayed at Scotlands Hotel in May this year with a group of friends who were all riding the etape caledonia. This was my second stay here and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable and good value Hotel right on the edge of the Highlands. The surrounding scenery alone is worth the trip but the friendly atmosphere and staff who without exception would do anything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible is a unique feature. Add to this the comfortable rooms and carefully prepared food and you have a place well worth a visit.And dont forget to treat yourself to a relaxing massage!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip_childs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcCurg, General Manager at Scotland's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2010
Many thanks for your kind words, hopefully you will return in the very near future
Kind Regards Peter McClurg General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotland's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotland's Hotel & Spa

Property: Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Address: 40 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotland's Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Scottish family hotel .5 mile from train/bus stations; in city centre; splendid views over Perthshire Hills & Lochs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scotland's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotland`s Hotel And Leisure Club
Scotlands Hotel Leisure
Scotlands Hotel Pitlochry
Scotland's Hotel & Spa Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing