We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Are you being served? NO...!!”

Pitlochry Festival Theatre Restaurant and Cafe
Ranked #17 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, International, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Summer Season 2014 at Pitlochry Festival Theatre, called Home Again, is a weekly run of six different plays over six days in celebration of Scotland's second Year of Homecoming! Whisky Kisses, The Yellow On The Broom, Perfect Days, The Admirable Crichton, Passing Places and Mr Bolfry make up this years exciting and diverse collection. Much more than plays, Pitlochry Festival Theatre is also the setting for a whole host of Sunday concerts, Active Arts workshops, tours and talks, or take in a visit to Explorers Garden to help make your trip to PFT even more special! "The stylistic equivalent of a West End producing theatre, set against a picture-postcard backdrop of rolling Perthshire hills!" The Herald
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Are you being served? NO...!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We visited the Café for tea and cake prior to the performance of Passing Places (Excellent & Very Funny) on Thursday 7th Aug 14. Our order was taken and served around 20 minutes before the performance and the offer to have more hot water was welcomed. However, when we went back for more food, Alison, the server was at a table talking to her friends. After waiting at the counter for around 5 minutes, during which time, both Alison and her friends had looked over, but continued talking. It was clear that talking to friends was more important than serving customers. As the performance was now almost due to start, we had to forget the idea of any extra food and drinks. The nature of pre-theatre food and drinks require speedy service and staff standing around talking within 15 minutes of the performance does not work in this environment. Take your retirement Alison or try WRVS... its a bit slower and more like your pace...!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    67
    14
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Culinary Delight”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Most tender meat dishes I have tasted in any restaurant. Vegetables beautifully cooked. We attended three theatre performances and all the meals were excellent and very good value. The menues were amusing, all related to the plays Staff most attentive and surroundings relaxing and pleasant - and no rush to get to the theatre.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giles c, Public Relations Manager at Pitlochry Festival Theatre Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Hello Jinty,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review - our chefs will be pleased! Great to hear you enjoyed your visits here, we hope to welcome you back for another bout of standout theatre and excellent food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had delicious lunch of venison casserole. Have been dining in this restaurant whilst on holiday, for nearly 30 years. The food is always good, and the views are wonderful. Service is efficient and very friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giles c, Public Relations Manager at Pitlochry Festival Theatre Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Hello Janice,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, its wonderful to hear from our returning customers! Great to hear you enjoy your visits and we hope there will be many more for us to welcome you back :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner served very efficiently”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had dinner before going in to see Whisky Kisses. We were incredibly impressed. The food was all delicious, but what was at least as impressive was the timely, efficient and friendly way we were served. A great advert for Scottish tourism!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renfrewshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giles c, Public Relations Manager at Pitlochry Festival Theatre Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review; so wonderful to hear the hard work of our fantastic staff is appreciated, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to us here in Pitlochry and I hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two excellent meals”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We dined in the restaurant on two evening prior to attending the performances in the Theatre.The food and the service are excellent and we find it much easier to arrive early which means no problems with parking and the timings of the meals are ideal.
6.30pm Dinner 8pm Performance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobbyCHelensburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giles c, Public Relations Manager at Pitlochry Festival Theatre Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Hello Bobby,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit here and hope to welcome you back soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pitlochry Festival Theatre Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Pitlochry Festival Theatre Restaurant and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing