We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a must when visiting Pitlochry”
Review of Pine Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Trees Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just back after staying for two nights DB&B. Had to write to say that from the minute you enter the hotel you are made very welcome. David the Manager could not have done enough for us to ensure our stay was special. Sylvia on reception also was very attentive. The food is exceptional. I am in the food industry, and very difficult to please, though none of the staff knew this. So this is the normal for the hotel. We have a busy year travelling but will be back. Julia & Bill Hogg. Thank you x

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, General Manager at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. Our aim is to focus on as many details as possible in order to ensure that your time with us is special. We have a very dedicated team and believe in spending time getting to know our guests.

It's always a pleasure to find out that we have achieved our goals and gives us enormous job satisfaction.

We very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards
David Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

We went here for the weekend to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday . Weather was awful but the hotel more than made up for this . Privately owned and very traditional there was lots to look at in the public areas and service was friendly but never intrusive . We spent a lovely Saturday afternoon in the lounge having a few drinks and chatting with our friends , lots of fun board games to play and no TV with Sky Sports , a plus for us just because it was a nice change . Room was spacious a good bed and huge bathroom with lovely hot water.
Food in the dining room was varied,plentiful and very well cooked and presented , pace of service spot on.
Pitlochry itself is a pleasant town with walks for all levels of fitness on the doorstep . I would certainly recommend this hotel as an excellent experience offering good value for money .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jylivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, General Manager at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It gives us enormous satisfaction to learn that our guests have savoured such a good time with us that they feel obliged to write about it.

We are all very dedicated to providing the best quality possible and i will ensure that our hard working team members are aware of your comments.

Looking forward to your return
Best wishes
David Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband treated me to a surprise stay in this hotel as a treat and I have to say what a treat it was!

From the minute you turn into the drive you are welcomed by a large beautiful Victorian mansion. It just gets better when you walk through the front door and are greeted by a proper fire which was burning wood when we arrived so smelled lovely as well.
We were greeted by a pleasant girl on reception and the manager was also about to help us to our room with our luggage.
He had a lovely manner and for the whole evening and the following morning he was available to offer any help we required.
There is a lovely lounge area around the fire which was popular at night and had various board games should you wish to pass some time.

We had the evening meal which was delicious. I had the fillet of beef which literally melted in my mouth and had the best chips I have had in ages. My husband had the lamb which was also great. We both had puddings but no starter as we knew we wanted dessert as the manager had told us during the day that they are home made each day!!

Later that evening the manager again helped me pick out a whiskey as I haven't really got a clue and he was very knowledgable and picked me one that I really enjoyed.

The following morning breakfast was just as good as the evening meal with the scrambled egg being amongst the best we have tasted.

Now to the room.

It was a lovely size on the second floor. It had a really nice bathroom with amenities that I wanted to use rather than the type you would only use if you forgot your own, they were lovely!
We had all that we required for a comfortable stay and the bed was really comfy as well.

So all in all a really great night and we will definitely be back.... Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandraoh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

It is always a delight to us if our guests are as enthusiastic as this about the services we are offering here at Pine Trees. This encourages the staff and motivates them to keep up the good work so we are appreciative of the time and effort spent on this review of us for which, many thanks - we will continue the good work!

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

From the wonderfully warm welcome, to the delicious dinner and breakfast, served in a lovely dining room with crisp white tablecloths and napkins, this hotel gets straight A's from us. The Victorian house is complemented by a new modern annex where the attention to detail when it comes to comfort is outstanding. Great staff and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Pitlochry - thank you.

Room Tip: Our room was in the Annex on the ground floor and everything worked, the under floor heating was a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRJWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and naturally we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - the new rooms in the annexe ar certainly proving very popular now!
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We have been coming to this hotel for 6 years now, as is one of our special places to stay whilst in the area.
However, as much as the hotel is as lovely as always, we feel the food and service is not quite as good as it once was. On a recent visit, we felt the dinner service was rushed by staff, who left no gaps between courses and tried to rush us into having our coffee ( even though it was only around 9pm ).
Once in the lounge relaxing, staff then came and turned the main lights off leaving just a few table lamps on. All in all we got the feeling we were not welcome to stay around for long. This had not been the case on previous stays.
In addition to this, the food felt dated, pre prepared,with bland vegetables and side salads. all in all the food was no more than mediocre.
We will come to stay again as we love this hotel, but may decide on B&B only in future.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view which face down the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

We are sorry to learn that you felt rushed during your meal with us - the staff will serve at whatever speed you wish if you prefer a more leisurely evening!. The food is all prepared and cooked to order in every instance.
During the evening, the main lights are routinely turned down leaving a more intimate atmosphere for the guests, with numerous lamps rather than central chandeliers, there is certainly no hurry for guests to leave - our staff are in attendance for as long as guests need them.
We do aim to give the guest the experience they require!

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We are just back from a very pleasant stay at the Pine Trees hotel on a DBB tariff. We upgraded to a superior room which was very nice and scrupulously clean.The food was fantastic and staff very attentive if not a little over the top!It was a little bit stuffy for our liking and I do not agree with dogs being allowed but having said that the 2 dogs which we saw caused us no problem I just feel when you pay the amount we did the hotel should not allow pets.Lovely hotel and we did have a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

We do advertise on our website that we are a dog friendly hotel so we do occasionally have guests who bring their well behaved dogs with them. They are not however allowed in all areas of the public rooms and are restricted as to where thay may go, so, as we have more than one lounge for the guests, there is plenty room for all!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Molyneux Suite which was absolutely first class. Huge apartment and really well appointed and priced very reasonably. Only adverse comment on the Suite was that the shower / bath were quite awkward to get into---would be a real challenge for anyone with a disability--no idea what other rooms are like
The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the main street and is located in its own private grounds. Plenty of parking available also. Restaurant was really nice and service was excellent with very attentive and efficient staff.
Food was good overall.
Would definitely return if visiting the area again!!

Room Tip: The suite is very impressive and well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

We are always appreciative of guests who have enjoyed their stay with us who take the time to post such a kind review on this site. Thank you!
The Molyneux Suite is certainly a unique room and is superb for any special occasions guests may wish to celebrate.
We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,093 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Trees Hotel

Address: Strathview Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £108 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Trees Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Trees Pitlochry
Hotel Pine Trees
Pine Trees Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing