We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Pine Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Trees Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Our overnight stay at Pine Trees was en route from Inverness,We were greeted in reception and signed in,immediately a young man appeared and took our cases to our room.We had a lovely room,all very traditional as this is an old and stylish hotel.Everything was spotlessly clean.Evening meal was excellent and staff attentive,nothing was too much trouble.Same again at breakfast,good service by friendly staff,most were foreign but spoke perfect English and were polite and courteous.The hotel is up a steep hill out of Pitlochry.It was a perfect stopover on our way home to York.

Room Tip: Cannot comment as I Didn't see any other rooms or location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186346Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write such a complementary review and we are also pleased that we were able to give you a relaxing stopover on your journey.
It would be a pleasure to see you again for a longer stay perhaps!!

Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    210
    55
    12
    14
See reviews for
100
496
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely house, clean and Room 1 is spacious. Very well staffed but almost overbearing. Dinner a little pretentious but I enjoyed my meal very much- chicken with gruyere and wrapped in bacon delicious. My partner stated his steak was tasteless although it looked superb. Wifi poor. Breakfast was disappointing; cooked breakfast offered meagre portions. Allow dogs so this is a big plus. Quite expensive for an overnight stay at almost £200;00 although this did include dinner and a bottle of rosé

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Being a very old building with very thick stone walls, the wi-fi is a challenge, but it is something we are well aware of and we are hoping to increase the efficiency and uasability of this later this year!
We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service but some issues take a little longer than others.

Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Booked on strength of TA reviews, and were not disappointed. The hotel is up a hill above Pitlochry at the north end, and away from any traffic noise in lovely wooded grounds. It is a steep, but short, walk in and back from town. We arrived to a friendly and warm welcome and an offer to carry our bags up to room 14; a nicely decorated little suite with a separate lounge area with a tea tray, TV, magazines, local info and a beautiful silver framed mirror on a display stand. It was all very homely, clean and relaxing and seemed amazing value for £120. The bed was a soft one for our tastes, but had a good deep mattress topper. I would have put the lounge area next to the ensuite and have the bedroom tucked at the end - which would be more practical for anyone staying up and using it during the evening. Just a suggestion, not a grouse. Everywhere and everything was so clean and the bathroom sparkled. Good quality Scottish toiletries and white fluffy towels - and thank goodness, a towel warmer so you had dry and warm towels at hand. The shower was really powerful and there was masses of hot water - sadly, a rare treat at so many hotels these days. We did book late in the day, and perhaps that was why, despite having asked for a quiet room, we ended up (in a superior room) on the first floor overlooking the car park. We were horrified at the lack of privacy this seemed to offer when first arriving, not to mention worried about the noise of all the cars outside our windows. In fact, once you sat down you were unaware of the car park below, and we did not hear any car door or guest noise - so that turned out better than expected. We did have a problem with the very creaky floors all around us though - it is an old building - and when the guests above us were in their room it was like a herd of elephants up there. There were also some pipes 'ticking' away constantly in the wall just by the bed head. As I said, an old building, so you have to make allowances. I would recommend asking for a room on the second floor to at least remove the noise of guests above you.

We did not eat in the restaurant as we ate at the theatre - but did have breakfast there the next morning. There were cereals, porridge, a small buffet selection and some juices, and a good selection of freshly cooked hot foods to order. My potato cakes were to die for, and with absolutely perfect poached eggs. However, all this was eaten with the staff standing only a few feet away and lined up just watching us as we were one of the early couples down. It was quite off-putting, we felt made worse because without any background music it felt as if they were also just standing listening to our conversation. I think a slightly different arrangement at the restaurant entrance could help. I have to note here though that every member of staff we met was very friendly and keen to be as helpful as possible.

The lounge stretches from reception, around a big fireplace and up to the stairs, and just begs you to lay out on one of the big squishy sofa's with the papers or a good book - if only we had had the time. There is also a wee lobby with some historical background about the house.

We really want to return there - the best recommendation there is! And we will try supper after reading the other glowing reviews.

Room Tip: ask for the second floor to avoid floorboard noise from guests above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for such a thorough review of our hotel and we are naturally pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to your return visit and certainly, on request, we will attempt to make sure that you have a second floor room if it is available!
Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

On recomendation from family my husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. From the minute we arrived the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our room had spectacular views with a little balcony. When we went down for our evening meal the staff in the dining room were fantastic and the food was excellent. Our only regret was that we were not staying longer but that gives us another reason to visit this wonderful hotel again. Thanks to everyone and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, Owner at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
We very much look forward to your return visit and are glad to hear that you were very happy with the recomendation!
Thank you for your kind comments.

Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My family and I enjoyed a 3 night DB&B last week at Pine Trees. We were there in March 2012 as well and had to go back to see if it was still as good. We were not dissappointed. For those who like excellent food, good choice on Menu and dishes that are beautifully presented, then this is the hotel for you. The staff in the dining room are just 1st class as are all the staff. Our thanks to everyone for another very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Speak to reception ( or e-mail) them before booking and tell them what you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, General Manager at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
We are delighted that you returned and found the same high standard of service that we do attempt to achieve and we also appreciate that you took the time to post such a complimentary review for us!

Valerie Kerr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just back after staying for two nights DB&B. Had to write to say that from the minute you enter the hotel you are made very welcome. David the Manager could not have done enough for us to ensure our stay was special. Sylvia on reception also was very attentive. The food is exceptional. I am in the food industry, and very difficult to please, though none of the staff knew this. So this is the normal for the hotel. We have a busy year travelling but will be back. Julia & Bill Hogg. Thank you x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, General Manager at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. Our aim is to focus on as many details as possible in order to ensure that your time with us is special. We have a very dedicated team and believe in spending time getting to know our guests.

It's always a pleasure to find out that we have achieved our goals and gives us enormous job satisfaction.

We very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards
David Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We went here for the weekend to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday . Weather was awful but the hotel more than made up for this . Privately owned and very traditional there was lots to look at in the public areas and service was friendly but never intrusive . We spent a lovely Saturday afternoon in the lounge having a few drinks and chatting with our friends , lots of fun board games to play and no TV with Sky Sports , a plus for us just because it was a nice change . Room was spacious a good bed and huge bathroom with lovely hot water.
Food in the dining room was varied,plentiful and very well cooked and presented , pace of service spot on.
Pitlochry itself is a pleasant town with walks for all levels of fitness on the doorstep . I would certainly recommend this hotel as an excellent experience offering good value for money .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jylivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathview, General Manager at Pine Trees Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It gives us enormous satisfaction to learn that our guests have savoured such a good time with us that they feel obliged to write about it.

We are all very dedicated to providing the best quality possible and i will ensure that our hard working team members are aware of your comments.

Looking forward to your return
Best wishes
David Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,813 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Trees Hotel

Property: Pine Trees Hotel
Address: Strathview Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Trees Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Trees Pitlochry
Hotel Pine Trees
Pine Trees Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing