We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend break”
Review of Pine Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Trees Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We booked a very last minute two night break to this delightful hotel where we had stayed the previous year and loved it. We were not disappointed although this time our room was small and cramped but that was due to the late booking, so we didn't mind. There is nothing more relaxing than sitting in front of a log fire with post dinner coffee and drinks in the beautiful lounge. The staff are wonderful, efficient and solicitous, and the views from the dining room are extremely pretty. We will definitely go back and plan to do that more frequently.

Room Tip: We paid extra on our first visit for a superior room and it was wonderful - large with views over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mallow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in the annexe. A calm, luxurious oasis, just behind the main hotel. I believe there are some additional annexe rooms which will be ready by the end of this year. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Food was fantastic and one of the best breakfasts we have ever had in a hotel. Only one slight gripe, is that the restaurant was absolutely freezing cold. A result of the very cold temperatures outside and the old Victorian windows. However, helpful staff provided an additional heater next to our table on our second night which helped! All in all a lovely relaxing stay, attentive staff and comfortable surroundings. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Annexe rooms are a real treat. Modern, luxurious and with a boutique feel. Main hotel rooms more tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank shonao458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We only stayed one night - part of a birthday celebration but we loved everything about the hotel (which I first stayed in - on business - 25 years ago). It is out of town but close enough to walk in. In winter it exudes a cosy, warm feeling with colours and furnishings to match. There are plenty of small areas which offer a range of lounging options and ideal spots to relax with a newspaper and the drink of your choose.

Our room (25) was a superior double and was very comfortable with an intriguing opening through the main window on to a small outdoor terrace - just big enough for two. In warmer weather ideal to sit and admire the view. The bed was comfortable, the furnishings fine for this type of hotel room and the bathroom modern.

Food is very good indeed and while I sampled from the familiar game/meat associated with this type of hotel my wife was also delighted with the vegetarian options. There is a decent wine list covering a range of prices including the not-too-expensive. Breakfast was excellent - cooked to order and with sufficient options to allow variety over a longer stay. Staff were very pleasant, attentive and efficient.

Free wi-fi too!

Recommended

PS this is a dog friendly hotel (though we are between dogs at the moment)

Room Tip: Try room 25 for the little terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sakiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

What can I add to all the glowing reviews which the Pine Trees has rightly received.
The hotel is a former country house which has been sympathetically adapted .From the moment you step in the door you sense that this not just going to be another hotel stay, but a gracious experience.
Having come for a romantic getaway weekend the initial positive impressions were enhanced by the warm friendly welcome received at reception.
The hotel is tastefully decorated in warm calming colours, has beautiful public rooms with lots of comfortable sofas and chairs, numerous little intimate nooks and crannies plus charming period artefacts which augment the country house ambience and experience.
The food is to die for, exquisite flavours and presentation , served by friendly attentive but not intrusive staff.
My choice of Scallops followed by Pheasant was a gastronomic delight.
Breakfast made a perfect start to the day, extensive choice and everything cooked to order, our choices of one a full Scottish Breakfast and one Smoked Haddock with a Poached Egg were so tasty and beautifully presented .
The attention to detail throughout everything the hotel sets out to achieve with regard to client satisfaction is testament to all the highly complimentary reviews the hotel receives .
I am delighted to reconfirm all the highly complimentary and positive reviews written by others.
We had a wonderful stay !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyespyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just back from this years visit to the Pine Trees and it still does not disappoint. Food is still amazing, service is still top class and the thing which really emphasises this is the fact that most of the other guests we spoke to were repeat visitors like ourselves.
Food is stunning, lots of game and fish, breakfast is wonderful, lots of choice, I had smoked haddock with poached egg, fabulous. Wine and beer is very reasonably priced with a decent selection. The dining room and lounges are comfy with lots of intimate nooks and crannies.
The staff are always very pleasant and attentive without being too 'in your face'
This is about our 6th or 7th visit and will not be our last.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budsmistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is beautiful. Perfect for a romantic getaway with your partner. We were coming to Pitlochry for the Enchanted Forest so plucked a hotel out of thin air and it couldn't have been more perfect. A 10min walk from the main street in Pitlochry, really easy to find and well sign posted. We arrived at the hotel and were amazed by the beautiful grounds the hotel is in and the look of the hotel itself. We were welcomed by some very friendly, helpful staff. The male member of staff offered us newspapers in the morning and an evening meal in the hotel that night then walked us to our room and offered to carry our bags. It really felt like the 5 star treatment. Our hotel room was in the neighbouring cottage and it was stunning. A large room with a sofa and TV plus a huge walk in waredrobe! The bathroom was great too and they provided bottles of water and the usual tea, coffee, hot chocolate and shortbread. The cottage even had a living room that you had to walk through to get to the room which was lovely. It had books, a pack of playing cards and a chess set there. It would have been ideal for anyone at a loose end. We skipped the evening meal and went for a wander into Pitlochry instead. Later in the evening, we returned to the hotel for a drink and it was lovely. Cosy and comfy with lots of nice decor to look at. That night, I had the best sleep I've ever had in a hotel. The bed was so comfy and the hotel was so quiet (despite it having plenty of guests). We woke up feeling refreshed and ventured into the hotel for our breakfast. We ate in the garden room with beautiful garden views and the staff were like ninjas they were so quick with your breakfast! They guided us to our seats, offered us tea or coffee. I chose tea and my partner and I went to scope out the foods on offer. We picked up some fruit juice and a croissaint and by the time we got back, the tea was on our table, as was a rack of toast! I hadn't even noticed the waiters passing us! We were then given time to look through the menu where they offered the normal fried breakfast essentials or you could have haddock or kippers etc! Very fancy! We opted for bacon, egg, sausages etc and were very pleased with it. You could have a huge variety of food from the buffet. Cereals, fruit, pastries etc. All very nice. After this, we checked out and were about to leave the hotel when we noticed some paths going down into the trees. We decdided to go exploring and were amazed to find lots of hidden paths through the gardens! Absolutely beautiful, especially with the autumn leaves covering the paths. Can't recommend this place enough. My partner and I were blown away by how good it was.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesskirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at the Pine Trees for one night when we visited the Enchanted Forest. We had a room in the annexe and it was absolutely beautiful - very spacious, tastefully furnished, warm room,a large, comfortable bed, walk-in wardrobe (which was very handy for drying off our soaking shoes and jackets following our visit to the Forest!) and a modern, well-appointed bathroom. The breakfast was plentiful and the scrambled eggs were probably the best I've ever tasted. Staff were always extremely polite and helpful.
The hotel is a short (uphill) walk form the town centre which could be a challenge for those who are less fit but car parking at the Pine Trees is easy and plentiful.
Should we visit Pitlochry in the future, we would certainly try to book the Pine Trees. It's not the cheapest hotel in town but you certainly get value for money here. While I would again choose a room in the more modern annexe, I'm sure the rooms in the main building would be of the same high standard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
409 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Trees Hotel

Address: Strathview Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £108 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Trees Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Pine Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Trees Pitlochry
Hotel Pine Trees
Pine Trees Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing