We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pine trees hotel”
Review of Pine Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Trees Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“pine trees hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

excellent hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. Would definitely stay again. The food was was first class and served in very pleasant surroundings. They obviously employ a quality chef who takes a pride in his work.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    202
    51
    12
    14
See reviews for
94
476
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed in the Pine Trees last year and were very impressed by both the general standard and ambience as well as the quality of the food in the restaurant.

This year we decided to visit once more as part of our honeymoon. We were once again impressed with everything on our visit. We booked the Molyneux Suite and enjoyed a spaciousness and elegance that fitted well with the occasion. My one, minor, criticism is that the layout of the bathroom can make getting in and out of the bath and (luxury) shower slightly awkward.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and, altogether, it fitted our needs absolutely. The Perthshire countryside and Pitlochry itself are quite stunning with the hotel enjoying spacious grounds that echo the rural beauty.

We will be back - and probably before our anniversary!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens have a great view to the hills. The Molyneux Suite, though a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TheEdCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spent one night in the Molineux suite in our way to the highlands.
Pitlochry is right in the middle of Perthshire and really deserve a visit.
This is a family run hotel, surrounded by a beautiful garden, really quite and hidden by Pines! You have to go uphill and the view from the suite is stunning. The four poster bed was roomy and cosy and really keep you warm over night. The room is spacious and divided in two, a sitting area and a night area. Curtains are beautifully made and help to keep out the sunlight.
Although well maintained, bathroom decor is out dated and when you get out from the bath you land directly on the toilet and there is a huge step as well, really bad and dangerous design. You will find complementary water in the room but you are charged for the journal, which wasn't declared as complimentary but it is in many places so the lady at reception should say that is not complementary at all.
It was convenient having dinner there, although average age of guests was 80 years old! We felt a bit uncomfortable especially with the maitre that is taking orders (so serious!) whilst the rest of waiting staff is warm and welcoming and look after you! The food was good but nothing extraordinary. We had salmon roulade a starter (quite good but too easy to do for a restaurant) and as a mains hare (fantastic) and lamb (a bit dry). I enjoyed the creme brulee with grand marnier and the apple tart with rhubarb. But I would expect more from the dining experience, however I liked a lot the freshly made Scottish Breakfast the day after, a real treat before an entire day of travelling.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are little compared to the suite, I would suggest the annexe as more valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivian191199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We've stayed at other hotels in the area but the Pine Trees is by far the best. The staff are excellent - friendly and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable if perhaps a little on the sparsely furnished side. What really makes the hotel so special are the. Earls. The food is excellent and the service in the restaurant is well above average.
The hotel itself is in a very nice location and is only a short stroll into the town.
Certainly recommended if you're in the Pitlochry area.

Room Tip: No real tips on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have stayed at the Pine Trees Hotel on several occasions to break our long journey from Northwest England to family in Aberlour.
This hotel is a wonderful old building with great areas for relaxing in front of roaring log fires with a wee dram of Scotland's finest. The Restaraunt serves fantastic dishes with ingredients sourced locally when possible.
The sweeping staircase leads you to the well appointed bedrooms with on suite facilities, coffee, tea and biscuits available in each room.

A great place to stay and within walking distance of the town

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgdavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Excellent service - attentive without being intrusive.
Good food, well presented.
Comfortable lounge.
Lovely grounds, quiet and relaxing but still close to all amenities in Pitlochry.
Clean, comfortable room.
Easy parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RileyKandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in the suite which was huge and confy.
Dinner and breakfast (included in the deal) were very good.
A nice place to stay. Very close to the village which is very caracteristic.
Definitely I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabing76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Trees Hotel

Property: Pine Trees Hotel
Address: Strathview Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Trees Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Pine Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Trees Pitlochry
Hotel Pine Trees
Pine Trees Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing