We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcoming hotel with exceptional staff and lovely food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine Trees Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A welcoming hotel with exceptional staff and lovely food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Loved our stay here. So clean, so pretty and very welcoming. The staff were all 5 star attentive and the food was better than many 5 star hotels I've stayed in. Loved this cosy "castle like" hotel and would love to have been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    200
    50
    12
    14
See reviews for
91
468
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

After reading some average reviews concerning this hotel I felt I had to put my comments on record.
We have been visiting the Pine Trees for `in between` breaks for several years now and visit at least three times each year which include either the Xmas or New Year package.
We always take the suite if its available as we have a dog and appreciate the extra room although we have also stayed in other rooms and have always found them to be spotless and very comfortable.
The staff have changed little over the last five plus years and this speaks for itself.
They are like a friendly family and are totally comitted to making your stay a happy one.
Many of the staff trained at the prestigious Gleneagles before moving north and settling with Mrs Kerr at the Pine Trees..where they have stayed!..that should tell you something about the level of professionalism.
From the moment we arrive we are made to feel special and welcome.
Each member of staff as we first meet always greets us with a smile and welcomes us back.
The food is very good but bear in mind this is a private small luxury hotel not a large west end establishment with a kitchen full of top chefs so don`t expect a huge and diverse menu but in saying that there is always several choices of meat and fish dishes including vegetarian and always they are cooked to perfection.
If the menu has a weakness it is probably in the dessert department but as said this is not a large hotel with several specialist chefs..and a bill to match!..so bearing that in mind it is top notch.
I can`t say enough about this hotel and this is high praise from myself as our main holiday usually involves some of the best hotels in the world.
Dining at the Cliff in Barbados is special but so too is looking out over the snow on the lawns while sipping a nice wine on Xmas Eve at the Pine Trees.
As an example of the care taken we arrived on Xmas Eve to find a decorated tree in our room and a welcoming gift and bottle of wine.
We only visit the Pine trees for a break a few times a year as an `extra` but I always look forward to it and will hopefully be returning for many years to come.
The owner Mrs Kerr is highly professional and cares very much about her guests wellbeing and manages the hotel to an extremely high level.
Criticisms?..honestly can`t think of any other than perhaps lines defining parking spaces rather than relying on the guests to park properly which they often find difficultybin doing.
Also I would like to see a larger screen tv in the suite..its ok but the room is such a fabulous size it means someone of my years finds the old eyesight struggling to view it from the plush sofa!
Looking forward to my Autumn break already.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere on the Highland Main Line
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Walking into the Pine Trees takes your breath away. It is so invitingly sumptuous and I am in awe of the hard work which must go into keeping every square centimetre of the place spotlessly clean; after the deep, rich colours and materials in this country house type hotel, the impeccable cleanliness and shine on every polished surface is the next thing you will notice. The short climb up a steep gradient from the centre of Pitlochry is well rewarded even before entering the building by the pleasure of the sweeping drive through the evergreens, the fresh scent of pine resin so apparent as you approach. If you are lucky you may even spot a deer, a red squirrel or an extremely friendly ginger cat (I saw all three over a three day stay, though not all at the same time!). If arriving by car you will find ample parking space right at the door. The welcome from all of the staff from the moment you arrive at reception is not only polite and helpful but has a true, genuine warmth; the people here form a happy, successful team and have that truly classy skill of making every single guest feel special and important without ever being in any way intrusive. The food is of the highest quality; fresh, cooked to perfection and presented in a pleasing but practical way. The breakfast selection is particularly impressive with just about every type catered for, from continental to full Scottish. In the bar there is a selection of over 100 malt whiskies and the staff are highly knowledgeable; I was glad that I had taken each recommendation and there is a wide range of other types of soft and alcoholic drink too. The rooms are quiet, pleasantly warm and well appointed, furnished in keeping with the hotel's period features and supplied with much appreciated extra touches such as a soft face flannel, shoe shine sponge and large selection of herbal teas in addition to the usual tea and coffee on the hospitality tray. I had the deepest, most comfortable sleep on sheets which had some soft quilted material underneath them so that I was instantly warm and snug. There is ample seating in the bar and lounge (the latter featuring an authentic log fire which sends the most wonderful aromas around the building in addition to those equally wonderful ones coming from the kitchen) and books and board games are thoughtfully provided. The safety and comfort of children is always paid attention to and the staff are always willing to cater for each guests's individual requirements; I had a dinner, bed and breakfast package and was going out one of the evenings I stayed and they were happy to let me take lunch instead of dinner as my included meal. It is a point worth bearing in mind in this hectic modern age that the hotel has a policy of no business meetings on the premises, fostering a truly relaxing, away from it all kind of atmosphere; at the same time there are plenty of modern facilities. The only drawback to the Pine Trees is having to check out. It feels like leaving the always welcoming home of much loved relatives and I would recommend that you plan some kind of treat for yourself on the day you have to go home because as you go into your own kitchen the next few times to get yourself a snack or a drink, you will suddenly and poignantly find that you miss seeing the friendly faces which greeted you as you went for refreshments at this shining example of Highland hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InterCity125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

We had a restful and enjoyable two night stay in this traditional Scottish House Hotel which is situated in a very quiet wooded location on the hillside at the north end of Pitlochry.

I can only echo recent reviews of this hotel in that the staff are efficient, attentive and friendly, the service superb without being intrusive, and the rooms are cozy and comfortable.

As this is an old traditional property don't expect state of the art bathrooms or minibars in the rooms however we found ours to be compact with plain period furniture, adequate space and a functional bathroom with one of the fastest filling baths we have seen in a long time. The rooms have an efficient and adjustable warm air heating system which kept us perfectly warm in some very cold weather. The beds are really comfortable, using duvet type quilts on top of the mattress and under the sheet to make for a really comfortable and cosy sleep. I have only seen this once before in a plush New York Sofitel ! Flat screen LCD TV's provide the main terrestrial TV and radio stations.

The restaurant food is superbly prepared and presented, with ample menu choices including lots of local produce and game including rabbit and hare.

In summary, if you are looking for peace and quiet, wooden panelled walls, open log fire, excellent food, wine and personal and attentive service then you must give the Pine Trees a visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

The Pine Trees hotel is exceptionally well placed in a quiet area above Pitlochry but within easy walking distance of the town. The hotel has interesting historical associations; the rooms and furnishings are very attractive; the service was exemplary; and the food extremely good. Even if Pitlochry and its surroundings were not so beautiful, a stay at the hotel would be memorable.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bird003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penicuik midlothian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

It was a lastminute decision for my husbands birthday would we choose the Atholl Palace with spa or The Pine Trees Hotel after checking reviews for both I decided on The Pine Trees. I knew I had made the right decision when we drove up the drive and seen the hotel a beautiful country house on entering the smell of burning open fires on a cold crisp day was welcolming. The decor and furnishing where in keeping with the period of the house my husband nodded in approval and said beautiful. Our room was beautiful and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay it had the biggest most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We had dinner in the restaurant it was excellent but the jewel in the crown for this hotel is its amazing wonderful lovely staff they are fantastic very very attentive without being overbearing they cater for your every whim and make you feel very very relaxed and pampered they are the jewel in the crown for this hotel. After dinner we relaxed in the lounge with coffee and mints beside the biggest roaring log fire it was sublime. After playing numerous complimentary board games we both agreed who needs spa facilities and large hotels this hotel is small intimate friendly, full of charm and history, atmospheric and has the best staff we have ever came across and we have stayed in few large hotels the hiltons, cameron house but this wins hands down with service. Oh and on leaving pitlochry we checked out the Atholl Palace we made the right choice we will return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the Pine Trees Hotel, having been there in December for two nights. We enjoyed it thoroughly and returned again in March. We were not disappointed in that the service and food was as pefect as first time around. There is great ambience in the Hotel, particulary sitting around the log fire. The staff are excellent and having stayed in many hotels we can honestly say this is the best service we have ever received. Great value for money, will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Trees Hotel

Property: Pine Trees Hotel
Address: Strathview Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5QR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Trees Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pine Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Trees Pitlochry
Hotel Pine Trees
Pine Trees Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing