We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Pitlochry”
Review of The Acarsaid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Acarsaid
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great find in Pitlochry”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

As fairly regular visitors to Pitlochry, we had a first-choice hotel that we tended to use but due to the family growing up we now needed two rooms, which meant we had to look elsewhere - and we are so glad that we did !

Arrived at the hotel early on the Saturday - doesn't look the most modern from a distance, but the two lounges can be seen, and got our attention. Looked really comfortable. Despite being about two hours early, we got a warm welcome in the Acarsaid, and were able to get into our rooms (1 and 10).

The double room (1) is up the stairs at the back of the hotel and is a nice sized room with a really comfortable double bed and a pleasant view. Tea/coffee facilities were good - mugs for the tea is always a winner. The bathroom had a shower and bath, which was fine.

Room 10 was the twin, and it was a bit smaller but perfectly adequate. Shower only, no bath and no tea/coffee facilities (but am sure if we had needed them we could've asked at reception). As this was for the toe kids, wasn't an issue. This room did have a nice wee bit to sit in at the window and watch tv.

Didn't eat dinner in the hotel as we were on a bit of a tight turnaround, but the quality of the food we had for breakfast means that when we make it back to the Acarsaid, we will try our best to dine in.

Need to mention the lounge - we sat in here after coming back from the theatre, to have a drink and a game of cards. The open fire meant it was cosy and very comfortable - this was much better than either of the other places we have previously used in the area. Probably not the place to go if you're looking for entertainment or a late night (the bar closed while we were sitting, but we were offered another drink before it closed - we declined as we were headed to bed anyway) but for a place to chill out after a busy day it was great. Superb whisky range too. One suggestion I'd make would be to offer one of the many great local ales on tap, rather than the Best that's available, but I guess there may not be the demand - would be a winner with me !

The service in the hotel was top notch. Genuinely friendly and helpful.

This hotel fully deserves to be a roaring success after it's thorough refurbishment, and I'm sure it will be. Will be our hotel of choice on our next visit to the town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DaveBhoy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
A Big Thank You to you & the family for taking the time to give feed-back on you short visit, I'm glad that we made you all feel welcome & even on a cold Winter February day when outside is not the best, you found the hotel offering a warm & friendly atmosphere.
We have recently refurbished all the rooms & public areas in the hotel, we are all very proud of results - (One small point we do have tea/coffee trays in every room - we just keep them in the wardrobe, so might not have been obvious)
On your next visit I hope you will have the chance to dine with us the Steakhouse is also really worth a visit.
Thanks again for your comments & I look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards

Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    95
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
55
225
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Polmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Arrived on Friday 21st February to a very warm welcome from Allison at reception.
Our room was warm and comfortable and beautifully decorated with a small seating area and flat screen TV. The food was excellent and all of the staff very pleasant and helpful. Our next visit may not be very far away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make such kind comments on your short visit.. We really hope that your next visit will be soon, we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The outside of the hotel isn't exactly the prettiest in the town but inside is lovely with a cosy Scottish feel. We had a family room and it was roomy and comfortable. It looked like it had been freshly decorated and other than a couple of minor points, like some unfinished tile in the bathroom, it was spot on.

Breakfast was ok - little bit disappointing with things like no beans on the fried breakfast and we had to send the pancakes back first time because they were solid (obviously frozen and given a blast in a microwave).

Overall what you'd expect for a 3 star hotel with a little bit extra in the lovely reception rooms etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Acarsaid - I am glad you were comfortable & made to feel welcome - please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you found in the room, we have indeed just finished a programme of re-furbishment & whilst this problem has been identified on our "snagging" list this does not excuse the defect. It has now been rectified.

Whilst we do not offer baked beans on our Breakfast menu we do have them available if you had asked - however I cannot make any excuse for you being served cold pancakes & for this I again apologise.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back at some future date.

Kind regards to you & your family

Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

An excellent hotel in the center of Pitlochry with plenty of parking space, only £59 for bed and breakfast.
We had a newly refurbished room which was a good size with a comfortable bed. A bit 'old school' with keys for the door (we've got used to key cards as we've stayed in a lot of modern hotels) but that's an observation not a complaint.
We didn't have dinner there but the menu looked good, the restuarant is a steak house.
Breakfast was very good, a good choice, not just the usual 'Full Scottish'.
Only one criticism, the bathroom didn't have a shaver point despite being refurbished, we pointed this out to the staff so hopefully this will be rectified.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebrods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about The Acarsaid - indeed you had a newly refurbished room, but all of our rooms have been refurbished this year ready for the 2014 season.
We still have a few items which need our attention but we are all very proud of our new product.
I sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again, perhaps on your next visit you will have time to enjoy our Steakhouse as well..

Again, Thank you and we look forward to seeing you next time you are passing through.

RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killearn.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here when we couldn't reach Aviemore due to the dreaded A9 being closed by multiple accidents. Made very welcome on arrival, room was ready despite booking it only 5 minutes earlier. Just finished refurbishment; the rooms are very well appointed with excellent en suite facilities. We didn't eat there, which may have been an error, as breakfast was excellent. I had poached smoked haddock topped with a poached egg (not extra £) which was perfectly cooked. We would definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymund61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed your short visit and I hope that when you eventually got up North you had a good time there as well.
Thank you for your kind remarks - we have only recently completely renovated the whole Hotel and am pleased to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay.
Next time you are on your way up or down the A9 I hope that you will have the chance to come to stay with us again or even have the time to stop for a bite to eat in the Steakhouse, either way I thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We arrived in torrential rain to a very warm greeting. We couldn't fault the professionalism of the staff who delivered service which was nothing short of excellent. The rooms are fresh and we particularly enjoyed the little seating area in our room. Public areas are cosy and nicely decorated. Breakfasts were yummy- we had the full breakfast the first morning and I had the pancakes with bacon and maple syrup the next day. Evening meals were also very good- no complaints from us! Yes, there was a problem (as mentioned in the previous review) with the boiler which meant limited hot water. The guest who was complaining should have taken this up with staff in a less public place but the lady dealing with her handled it beautifully. All in all we enjoyed our stay- please give the Acarsaid a try- we don't think you will regret it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraulyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your very kind remarks following your short visit to The Acarsaid - I am glad that you were pleased with our rooms, we have just finished a complete refurbishment of the whole Hotel and we are all very proud of the new place...
Unfortunately, yes we did have a problem with our hot water system, which has now been fully addressed and I really appreciate your understanding of what was a difficult situation for our Duty Manager to deal with.
Next time you venture up to the Highlands I hope to have the opportunity to thank you in person.

Kind regards

Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Acarsaid just last week. Fantastic to see its new and seemingly expensive refurb! I loved it and the staff are a treat. I stayed here last year and was wowed by how cozy it was, admittedly the rooms were in need of a refurb and what a great job they have done!

Comfy and warm room with lovely hints of heather and the highlands! The bathroom was amazing, huge and powerful mira shower and beautiful tiles and fixtures and fittings!

Nice pics in the hallways and rooms too, which I was told were the work of one of the staff!

I loved how welcome they made me feel and now they have the product to match!

Cant wait to come back Acarsaid, again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc1edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you, Thank you for your very kind comments about The Acarsaid, I am really pleased that you are happy with the improvements we have made - indeed the muted colours we have chosen fit really well in our Highland environment, I'm glad you approve.

The photographs around the Hotel were indeed taken by one of our Managers he does'nt seek any recognition but we are very pleased with his work - If I can persuade him there might be some more to add.....

The team here are very proud of our "new" hotel and it really does make a difference to read your remarks.

We hope to be able to welcome you again, perhaps I will have the opportunity to thank you in person next time.

Kind regards

Richard D Main
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
1.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acarsaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acarsaid

Property: The Acarsaid
Address: 8 Atholl Road | Pitlochry, Pitlochry PH16 5BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Acarsaid 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Family owned Acarsaid is THE small hotel destination in Pitlochry. Our renowned highland hospitality, great service, delicious food, cosy lounges, well stocked bar, free off street parking & free WIFI all contribute to make your stay with us special. The hotel is in an enviable position only a short level walk from the centre of Pitlochry & its variety of shops & cafes. See a play at "The Theatre in the Hills" visit a castle or malt whisky distillery or simply enjoy the beautiful Perthshire scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Acarsaid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acarsaid Pitlochry
The Acarsaid Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing