We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel.”
Review of The Acarsaid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Acarsaid
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 day break in Pitlochry and feel we just have to make a comment about the Acarsaid Hotel. The food was first class, staff very attentive and the room we had on the ground floor overlooking the garden to the rear of the property was very well decorated, and spotlessly clean, in general the décor throughtout was very tasteful, have stayed in many 4* hotels, in many different places and they did not reach this standard, we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apples1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Your kind comments on our hotel are really appreciated, it's a great boost for our small team here to be able to read these.
We closed the hotel earlier this year for a major refurbishment of the bedrooms and public areas and I am very happy that you liked the results, we are all very proud of, what to us is almost a brand new hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were welcome by a lovely lady at the reception who after a small chat about our trip made us comfortable with our room whereabouts, gave us recommendations on what we could do to spend the evening and politely explained the hotel policies. The hotel is well located and the property cannot be missed. The next morning breakfast was an elaborate Scottish meal and fantastic it was ! A definite stop if you're visiting the highlands !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NidhiAnandBatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Acarsaid - I agree Allyson is a "Lovely Lady" & I am proud that she can make people feel so at home while they are here.
Glad that you enjoyed your visit & hope to see you again sometime.

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Acarsaid Hotel. We have stayed two or three times previously as the food is five star!! This time we had a lovely surprise as the hotel has been totally refurbished and is absolutely beautiful. The public rooms and bedrooms have been very tastefully decorated and refurnished with bathrooms completely refurbished also.
This hotel has all the right ingredients for the perfect stay-- comfort, cleanliness, excellent service and delicious food . It is also close to the town centre and less than fifteen minutes walk from the theatre ( although transport can be available).

Room Tip: We had room 8 on the ground floor . We loved it as it was so private we could leave curtains open ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Liz & Norrie
Thank you for the very kind comments you have made about The Acarsaid, earlier this year we embarked on a full refurbishment of guest rooms and I have to say we are all very pleased with the results and I am glad to see that you agree.
Hope we will see you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at the Acarsaid to celebrate our anniversary in March and had a great weekend. The hotel is very tastefully decorated, the rooms are very clean, the bed super comfortable and the bathroom very modern, good shower as well. The breakfast was delicious, one of the best I've had in a hotel. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. I couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you indeed for your comments on The Acarsaid - I am glad that you found everything to your liking and we hope to see you back again soon.
I've said this before on some other reviews but it really does make a difference to our small team here to read that people have enjoyed the improvements we have made here.

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for one night in May. Booked the hotel as we were looking for somewhere that would allow us to take our dog. The hotel has two rooms that are pet friendly.
We got a warm welcome on arrival and the man we spoke to at reception was happy to give us a map and some information on where to go for a picnic. We found all the staff to be welcoming and friendly and happy to help with any queries we had. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is clean and fresh throughout. Our room (11) was spacious with a big walk in wardrobe and sitting area with small table and two chairs. The bathroom had a shower cubicle and was small but fine for a short stay. We got quite a lot of noise in the morning from the floor above but you expect this in a small hotel and not a major problem.
Perfect location at the start of the Main Street and set back off the road.
I think this hotel was very good for the price we paid and I would be happy to return in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise8322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments - we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Not in the main part of town but not far to walk. Some may say it is to close to railway line but it didn't bother us and we were at the front of hotel. Rooms at the rear would be quieter away from road and station. The outside looks a little strange with the extensions either side of the main house. Inside is very nice, the restaurant is clean and modern so is the lounge area. Upstairs is where the building looks a little dated but it is clean and tidy. The restaurant is a steak house for evening meals, food was good but very expensive for the amount you got. Think we may have been short changed in the meat department. The guy running the restaurant was spot on very good at his job. Good value for money bed and breakfast only. Evening meal good but at a price.

Room Tip: may be quieter at the rear but front room didn't bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a short review of The Acarsaid, whilst we have done as much as possible to make the inside a relaxing haven there is not too much we can do about the outside (much as we would like to) however we are taking steps to try to smarten up the outside appearance and hope that this will help in some way to give a better impression on arrival.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon

Kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for 2 nights, a really good hotel in a great location near the main street in Pitlochry. The room was very comfortable, the staff very helpful, & the breakfasts great. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Suelizj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, General Manager at The Acarsaid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a short review, these days these are so important to our business and the fact that you would be happy to recommend us means a great deal.

Thank you again and kind regards
Richard D Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,912 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acarsaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acarsaid

Address: 8 Atholl Road | Pitlochry, Pitlochry PH16 5BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £63 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Acarsaid 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Family owned Acarsaid is THE small hotel destination in Pitlochry. Our renowned highland hospitality, great service, delicious food, cosy lounges, well stocked bar, free off street parking & free WIFI all contribute to make your stay with us special. The hotel is in an enviable position only a short level walk from the centre of Pitlochry & its variety of shops & cafes. See a play at "The Theatre in the Hills" visit a castle or malt whisky distillery or simply enjoy the beautiful Perthshire scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Acarsaid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acarsaid Pitlochry
The Acarsaid Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing