We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect from a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pitlochry Youth Hostel
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in April 2012. We phoned up on the day to book a room for three and were offered a discount as the hostel was quiet. We were very warmly greeted upon arrival and slept in a quad room with en suite bathroom. The rooms are a little old, and the metal bunk beds were very squeaky. Cannot complain at the price paid though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KowaIski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

Having stayed here twice I would recommend it to people passing through the Pitlochry area. This place has all of the facilities expected of a modern Hostel, including a TV room, internet access (no wifi though) and a fairly well equipped kitchen. There is a a large selection of board games, books and magazines available to read as well. The staff are friendly and eager to help out should you have nay trouble. The rooms are comfortable enough for a short stay and bedding is included in the price. The only downside is that in the autumn and winter the rooms may be a little cold and the hostel does have an 11pm curfew, however the local area is quite quiet so this is unlikely to affect many people staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Nothing to complain about here, good facilities and friendly staff running a good hostel.

Room Tip: Always book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cragglerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Perched with a commanding view over the town you really do feel away from it here. The hostel is very clean and warm, good facilities and ease of access to the town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

One of the best SYHA hostels (well, most of them are excellent, to be honest)... A wonderful view, well furbished and cosy rooms, friendly staff, just try it!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuna1yuna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nuestrafamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Pitlochry Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank karen_schmutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Pitlochry Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.2 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenbrittle Youth Hostel
Glenbrittle Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Glenbrittle
41 reviews
24.2 mi away
Braemar Youth Hostel
Braemar Youth Hostel
#2 of 2 in Braemar
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitlochry Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitlochry Youth Hostel

Address: Knockard Road, Pitlochry PH16 5HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Pitlochry
Price Range: £23 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitlochry Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitlochry Youth Hostel is situated only 10 minutes' walk from the busy but small Victorian town. With 53 beds and en-suite bedrooms, Pitlochry Youth Hostel is ideal for families, groups or individuals looking for budget accommodation. Visitors can enjoy the spectacular views of the town from the youth hostel dining room. The youth hostel, which opened its doors 35 years ago, offers two separate lounges to enjoy some quiet time or to speak with other guests. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Pitlochry Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitlochry Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing