We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pitlochry Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rosemount Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Birchwood(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
23
18
13
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
18
13
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchendining room areone nightstayed hereenchanted forestwifidormfacilitiesbeddinglockcomforthighlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed a night at this hostel , nice and handy for the town and an evening walk . The view from he dining room was great . We had a lovely room with a good view too including a beautiful garden next door.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Pitlochry YH has incredible views overlooking the town. I had a warm welcome from the manager, who was helpful in telling me where everything was. All of the bedrooms are upstairs, and with subtle steps in between. it's a bit short on car parking. Dining room views are amazing, looking across the Tay Valley, and the town. Kitchen fairly small, if you are self- catering, especially if there's a member hogging a lot of the limited workspace! Very clean and tidy, my bed was comfortable, and I slept well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

But it depends on your definition. I picked this place based soley on the nice location with the views over Pitlochry and I'm in 2 minds now whether it was the right choice for me personally. The location is certainly very pleasant and the views are as good as promised but the hostel itself is not really what I think of when I think of a hostel.

For certain the hostel is very clean, very cosy and very well run by the very friendly and dedicated staff but the general atmosphere and rules in the hostel are what might be considered old fashioned compared to a modern day backpacker's hostel. I'd almost describe this hostel as being like a Travelodge but with more than one bed per room (it even has the same boring blue and white colour scheme!). The rooms are excellently presented and very clean, bathrooms fantastic, common rooms nice and they serve good food. If this is what you look for in a hostel then you will absolutely love this place.

On the other hand it has many features that aren't so appealing to some: you have to make your own bed (I haven't stayed in a hostel in a very very long time which makes you do this), they charge an outrageous £1 per 20 mins of wifi access, the breakfast is nice but costs £4.50 extra (£6 for a cooked breakfast) and they close the hostel completely from 11am to 4.30pm each day, they ask £2 to hire a towel, not to mention that if you aren't a member of their association you also pay an extra £2 on top for your bed bringing the total up to a not so good value £26 a night (although still decent value in the very expensive town of Pitlochry). Things like this are what I've come to expect included in the price in a hostel- usually these days you get wifi and in many cases breakfast in the price of the bed, which you normally don't have to make yourself.

For me, this place wasn't good value considering what I've been used to on my travels but it would maybe appeal more to older hill walkers and ramblers (who seemed to be the main clientel with the exception of a group of about 15 girl guides who checked in for the night).

Pros: Comfort, location, views, cleanliness, excellent bathrooms, friendly staff, nice breakfast

Cons: Extra charges for everything, membership required, hostel closed most of the day (fine if the weather is nice, you have a car or you are a seasoned all weather walker, not so good if you aren't as Pitlochry is very boring and expensive to spend 6 hours in!)

In short, if you just want a clean, quiet, comfy bed you will love it here, if you are looking for more of a backpacker's hostel stay in the one in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PotterNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

First the reception will be open late in the afternoon (and so hoping you can sleep there). And then the person at the desk might like you or not, if not you get that noticed. Later that day I get warned before going to kitchen that i need to clean the kitchen after using it, with a mad voice. I was a bit suprised about that .

In the evening the main entrance will be closed at 2200 hours (its a youth hostel, so im respecting that). But also, all rooms will be closed at that time (even the tv room), you will be forced to go to your room.

Ive just stayed one night in this youth hostel, but this experience made me a bit mad about the service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bertus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here for one night with a friend during a cycling tour of Scotland.
The hotel is exactly how it should be, efficient, clean and wecoming. Staff offered us half price tickets to the theatre upon arrival and although we were too tired to go, it was nice of them to offer. It felt more welcoming than the usual sign in procedure.
Slepped in a room for 6 with an en suite however there was only one other person in the room. It was very quiet and peaceful and the beds were fairly comfortable although squeaky.
There is a tv room, well equipped kitchen, internet access and a selection of books and board games. Also a locked bike shed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muppet333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews