We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe at end of a good walk.”

Pitlochry Boating Station Cafe
Ranked #34 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Near the Green Park Hotel beside Loch Faskally. It's a cafe with outside seating and boat hire
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cafe at end of a good walk.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This cafe has a surprisingly full menu. Everything is well presented and delicious. There are lovely views over the loch and the opportunity to feed the ducks or take a boat out on the loch before or after your lunch or snack.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank margaret_cubitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    30
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Lothian
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best cheese scone I have ever had in my life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a lovely little cafe in a beautiful location. On the day I was there, I had a very tasty bowl of cauliflower soup and THE BEST cheese scone I have ever had (and I have had a fair few...). Recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great spot and super food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We are regular visitors to the Boating Station and used it as our regular coffee and lunch spot whilst we were away on our most recent 2 week holiday based in Pitlochry.
It's hard to think of a better location from a view point of view, overlooking Faskally loch. Indeed you can choose, as we did, to hire a rowing boat or pedalo and venture onto the loch.
Service is very friendly and the food is always excellent. Basic fayre, but very well done. Great breakfast too. They have a lovely selection of cakes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank craigozwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Scenic location next to loch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

My friend and I always stop here at the beginning/end of our forest walk.
Soup always my choice, tasty!
It has a good selection of food, cater for meals to a light snack.
We had an extra surprise yesterday as one of the fighter jets flew over the cafe.

I think she thought her end had come, priceless!! Very low flying aircraft , a bit like experiencing an earthquake . I thought it was brill!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmbpaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

we go to this café every day of our holidays,the food is lovely and the family who run it are very friendly,the soup of the day is a must have,the views from the café are amazing this is a fantasic place to sit and relax,it is pitlochrys hidden gem.you will love it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmitch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pitlochry Boating Station Cafe also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Pitlochry Boating Station Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing