We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in picturesque Pitlochry”
Review of Dunmurray Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunmurray Lodge
Ranked #9 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect place in picturesque Pitlochry”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

When planning our 11 day trip to Scotland, we picked the three small towns we visited based on what there was to see and do around them (duh!). However, we also had our preconceived ideas of what these towns would look like. While Oban and Portree had their highlights, neither really met what we had expected in terms of look and Scottish feel. Then we got to Pitlochry and WOW, what an awesome town.

Part of what made Pitlochry the town we will always treasure from our trip is Dunmurray Lodge. Not only is Dunmurray the most quietly elegant B&B we visited, but there is also the Tony and Irene factor.

You will never meet in your travels anyone more glad to see you than Tony. He overflows with enthusiasm and personality. Tony is clearly a person that has found his calling.

As for the B&B, you come into a warm entrance hall with the lounge on the left. The lounge does not look like one created for paying guests, but rather one there for friends and family; candy on the table, family pictures and mementos around the room, cozy furniture, and a big bright window facing the street. Before your day, it's the ideal room to sit and plan your travels. After a day exploring, it's a wonderful place to return to and relax with a dram.

The rooms don't have numbers, but names. We stayed in the Kerr room, which faces onto the rear of the house. The room is compact, but bright, well laid out, and adequately appointed. Everything you need is there, including kettle, tea, coffee, cookies, etc as well as hair dryer, two clocks (including a dream machine) and a very comfortable bed. If there is one thing lacking, it's available outlets for charging phones, tablets, or camera batteries, but we unplugged one of the clocks near the bathroom and made do just fine. The room is carpeted and there is free wi-fi. Facing a serene back garden, the room was very quiet for sleeping. We were there in May and the Willmores support and attract a wide variety of song birds. So, after a good night's sleep, we enjoyed leaving our window open to hear the birds happily singing in the morning.

The bathroom is also small, but very well arranged. The shower was plenty large and worked well. There is a clever shelf behind/above the toilet for storage of cosmetics and the like. The vanity and sink were also just fine and there is a shaver outlet that can be used to charge low draw devices without having to have a UK adapter (provided they can handle the voltage and 50hz frequency). In the bathroom are, of course, towels, but also wash cloths--something we did not expect in a UK B&B. Shampoo, soap, etc also provided.

We never had a bad breakfast at any of the B&B's we visited, but Tony and Irene took it to another level. The locally produced sausage is the best I have ever eaten anywhere. We also enjoyed the waffles, eggs, fruit and coffee (provided with a french press). The dining area is tight, but the table is country elegant in setting and has a great view onto the garden area behind.

After breakfast, Tony will come in and ask what you have planned and offer great suggestions for how to get there. He knows where to send you (for anything), how to best get there, and what you might do along the way. Not only is the info helpful, but his enthusiasm will get you jump started before you set out.

Irene is also delightful with a great smile and an evident shared joy with Tony in what they do. On our last morning there, we were looking to shop for female friends back home and she gave us the best shopping tip we received during the entire trip.

All in all, you can tell that we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Dunmurray If you plan to stay in the Pitlochry area, you simply can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: I don't think you can pick a bad room. However, the one useful tip to offer is not to set your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
179
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Tony and Irene were excellent hosts who had thought of everything. Fancy thinking of putting a bowl of tiny Easter eggs and chocolates in the guest lounge so when you return from a day out so there is an instant reward! Their house is beautiful and the breakfasts set you up for the whole day. Tony was very helpful and knowledgeable about advising where to go for interesting day trips for both walking & sightseeing, as well as entertaining us with his fascinating life stories. Would definitely go there again if they are still there!

Room Tip: The Murray room has an interconnecting door into the twin room so suits a family perfectly and both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
severnlea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

When in Scotland in May, during a glorious summer, we stayed at Dunmurray Lodge. We chose it from the positive comments on Trip Advisor and were certainly not disappointed. It was all we expected and more. Of course, the total experience is dependent on the hosts. Tony and Irene were exceptional. We were made to feel very much at home and in every respect they went the extra mile.
An all-round great experience, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Point, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed at Dunmurray Lodge for only two nights (1st & 2nd Nov) but I wished it had been longer. The home is elegant in décor and yet has a warm and inviting feel about it, and I felt totally relaxed. I had a room at the back of the property which was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable and dressed in fine linen. The bathroom was immaculate. The added touches of bone china cup & saucer and a good selection on the beverage tray was good to see. Breakfast was delicious and served piping hot, in abundance and with quality produce, and each person selects their choice(s) the previous night on a menu sheet which is left on the information folder upon arrival and after each daily clean. Great idea in my books. Location is good and above all quiet, with a leisurely stroll down a hill (not too steep) into the town if the need be. Tony & Irene are warm, welcoming hosts who take a genuine interest in their guests and they make sure all needs are catered for. I highly recommend Dunmurray Lodge to anyone who is visiting Pitlochry and seeking total relaxation in comfort. I marked "excellent" to all sections of this review because that is what I experienced whilst staying there. Thank you Tony & Irene for welcoming me into your home and all that you did to make my holiday memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faraway_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We last stayed here over 10 years ago when the previous owners were in charge. It was excellent then and still is under Tony & Irene. The rooms are very comfortable with all amenities, there is a lovely guest lounge and the breakfasts are outstanding. This is a B&B that shows over-priced Edinburgh hotels how British hospitality can and should be! If you are visiting Pitlochry this is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodtroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We loved Dunmurray Lodge. Tony is an excellent host, and our room was cozy and beautifully decorated. Since there was a local festival that weekend Pitlochry was very crowded, so Tony recommended we eat at the local country club - an excellent idea. We had filled out a breakfast menu request the night before and the result was delicious. We wish we could have stayed longer, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasannie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a delightful place to stay. Irene and Tony could not work any harder to ensure that their guests have a pleasant stay. Our room was beautifully decorated with complimentary tea, coffee and a well stocked en-suite with a selection of lovely toiletries. The attention to detail is wonderful and breakfast was amazing. On the morning of our departure it was rather dreary and cold and to our dismay the car would not start. We would like to thank both Tony and Irene for their extended hospitality as we were invited back into the guest house to keep warm and given tea and biscuits until our breakdown Company arrived and repaired the car. Top class service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilsaW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 66 in Pitlochry
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.3 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 66 in Pitlochry
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmurray Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmurray Lodge

Property: Dunmurray Lodge
Address: 72 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorraine and Mike would like to welcome you to their beautiful home in the highlands... Dunmurray Lodge Guesthouse is perfectly located in the centre of the Victorian Spa town of Pitlochry. The house is situated on a quiet street with views overlooking the hills yet only short stroll from the town centre with its welcoming restaurants, cosy coffee houses and speciality shops. Attractions including Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Pitlochry Dam & Fish Ladder and Pitlochry Golf Club are near at hand and the railway station and A9 motorway with its links to Perth, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, Aviemore and Inverness are minutes away. This splendid Victorian Bed and Breakfast has been lovingly maintained and retains many of its original features including an open fire in the cosy guest lounge . The accommodation boasts a lovely family suite which consists of two adjoining rooms and further 3 double rooms. Two of the rooms can be made into twin accommodation. Single occupancy rates are available All of the rooms are ensuite and have been tastefully decorated and furnished in keeping with the character of the house. The sumptuous beds guarantee you a great nights sleep. Each room boasts tea and coffee making facilities, TV, I pod docking station, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. For breakfast we offer a delicious buffet of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt, granola & fruit compote. Our cooked to order breakfasts include porridge served with honey, whisky and cream, traditional Scottish breakfast using local produce and Dunkeld smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. We also offer a light continental breakfast and 'Breakfast to go' for those looking for a very early start. A warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a hearty breakfast awaits you at Dunmurray ... we hope to meet you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunmurray Lodge Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing