We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Dunmurray Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunmurray Lodge
Ranked #9 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Faultless”
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Comfortable and immaculate room, friendly but not intrusive hosts, and the biggest and best breakfast either of us could recall anywhere.The porridge was simply superb. I would unhesitatingly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juniusCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
179
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

My wife and No 2 son had a very enjoyable two night stay at Dunmurray Lodge. There is off street parking and a lovely garden. We enjoyed a very warm welcome from Tony and Irene and were delighted with the Murray family suite, which comprised a super king double bed and ensuite for us and an adjoining twin bedded room for our 10 year old son, as No1 son was working this week. The rooms were both of a good size and have a nice view.

The rooms are very well furnished and decorated in a light and contemporary style with high quality furnishings, lots of towels and tolietries. The rooms and ensuite shower room were exceptionally clean and we enjoyed the use of the WIFI (no problems here) and a wall mounted LCD TV. The bedooms were very quiet and sleep quality was excellent.

A light and airy guest lounge is open and contains books, games, HIFI, guides, however Tony and Irene have a wealth of information about places to visit, walks, restaurants etc.

The range and quality of the breakfast is excellent and utilises local produce. Lots of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, cheeses, yogurt then kippers, bacon, sausage ,..... the list is endless with lots of toast, tea, coffee etc.

Having stayed at many hotels, cottages, guest lodges and B&B's we keep returning to Dunmurray Lodge as we know that we will be well looked after and have a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Please trust my review, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmax66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Myself and three friends spent 5 nights at Dunmurray Lodge and we were sorry to leave.
We were warmly welcomed on arrival by Irene and from then on we were at home.
Both Tony and Irene always had time for a chat and were so helpful giving us directions to popular areas and places to eat etc.
My room was front facing and I loved going in each evening to see the sun streaming through the windows and the room so bright and fresh looking.
The breakfasts are to die for! Such a choice, Scottish, Continental, cereals, fresh fruit salad every morning, oatcakes, yoghurts etc. We did try to bring Tony and Irene home with us but, unfortunately they had other guests to cater for!
There are two routes from the town centre to the Lodge, both are uphill but one is a gentle climb and it was a pleasant stroll after dinner from one of the town centre restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

2 nights b&b in July 2010 in wonderfull Pitlochry, Very good quality for price On the small side but well ordered. Kerr room at the back on the small side as was the bed but for two nights it was acceptable. Great b/fast first class, only main gripe was wifi did not work, shame.
On the whole very good wee B&B

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We only spent on night here on our journey further North. Dunmurray Lodge was a perfect stop. Tony was very helpful in advise about where to eat, walks and where to visit.

The breakfast was exceptional, the best I had on this holiday. I ordered poached egg, a challenge for any B&B but Irene cooked it perfectly.

The building itself is delightful and very confortable. Our room was a little on the small side, perfectly adequate for one night but had we spent longer there it would have felt claustophobic. howver that is only a very small gripe and I wouldn't hestitate to stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50_s0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal, RN
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

If you are considering visiting the heart of the Scottish Highlands, Pitlochry is an ideal base with easy driving distance to the Cairngormes, Avemore, Glenshee ski resort, Loch Ness, Loch Tay, Balmoral Castle and many other very scenic places. In Pitlochry if you are seeking to stay in a very nice, spotlessly clean, family affordable Bed & Breakfast with a family atmosphere and fantastic breakfast then contact Tony and Irene at <www.dunmurraylodge.co.uk> My family and I, we live in Natal - Brazil spent a wonderful three days in Pitlochry during April 2010, will certainly return there. Pitlochry also has excellent shopping and is home of the famous Heather Gem business.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PontaNegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This is a clean, well run, impressive place. The couple who run it are very welcoming. We arrived late for a local wedding, and having asked hastily for a taxi number, were told without any fuss that the proprietor would run us in her own car, which she did! Great breakfast. It really cant be faulted, except take cash as there is no card machine.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 66 in Pitlochry
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.3 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 66 in Pitlochry
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmurray Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmurray Lodge

Property: Dunmurray Lodge
Address: 72 Bonnethill Road, Pitlochry PH16 5ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorraine and Mike would like to welcome you to their beautiful home in the highlands... Dunmurray Lodge Guesthouse is perfectly located in the centre of the Victorian Spa town of Pitlochry. The house is situated on a quiet street with views overlooking the hills yet only short stroll from the town centre with its welcoming restaurants, cosy coffee houses and speciality shops. Attractions including Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Pitlochry Dam & Fish Ladder and Pitlochry Golf Club are near at hand and the railway station and A9 motorway with its links to Perth, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, Aviemore and Inverness are minutes away. This splendid Victorian Bed and Breakfast has been lovingly maintained and retains many of its original features including an open fire in the cosy guest lounge . The accommodation boasts a lovely family suite which consists of two adjoining rooms and further 3 double rooms. Two of the rooms can be made into twin accommodation. Single occupancy rates are available All of the rooms are ensuite and have been tastefully decorated and furnished in keeping with the character of the house. The sumptuous beds guarantee you a great nights sleep. Each room boasts tea and coffee making facilities, TV, I pod docking station, hairdryer and complimentary toiletries. For breakfast we offer a delicious buffet of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt, granola & fruit compote. Our cooked to order breakfasts include porridge served with honey, whisky and cream, traditional Scottish breakfast using local produce and Dunkeld smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. We also offer a light continental breakfast and 'Breakfast to go' for those looking for a very early start. A warm welcome, a comfortable bed and a hearty breakfast awaits you at Dunmurray ... we hope to meet you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunmurray Lodge Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing