We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Atholl Palace is a great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staying at the Atholl Palace is a great experience.”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I visited Pitlochry for my first wedding anniversary and the Atholl Palace exceeded expectations.

It's a striking building perched above the town. This gives it breath taking views, especially at sunset.

The rooms were first class - enormous, spotlessly clean and well decorated. The staff were friendly and professional.

In terms of vfm, I can't fault the Atholl Palace, it's an amazing building, with a wonderful history and the swimming pool has natural spa water.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Roseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    506
    299
    166
    102
See reviews for
364
812
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leven
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent one night at the Atholl Palace on 3rd/4th September. We had booked one of the basic rooms only a few days before and were given a small room at the front of the hotel with a beautiful outlook over the town. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean but the bath enamel was slightly chipped. We had breakfast in the hotel which was self service with a good selection of hot and cold dishes. We found the staff efficient and helpful. There is an interesting display about the hotel's history in the basement. The hotel is over 100 years old and that obviously puts some restrictions on what can be achieved - i.e the water pressure on the 3rd floor is not great so don't expect a power shower! The public areas are comfortably furnished with lots of bif comfortable sofas.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

On the whole a nice stay; could have done without the cold 'hot' breakfast which was from a self-service buffet. The heat in the food storage units was not hot and by the time I and my plate of luke warm English breakfast had walked back to the table, it was a cold 'hot' breakfast. Bring back table service, a hot plate served with a lid on to keep the heat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This stunning building has so much potential and could be a spectacular hotel. It is what is though and you pay for what you get. The room we stayed in was tiny but clean and had all the amenities you expect. We ate dinner in town but breakfast was a feast and thoroughly enjoyed by our group. The bar area was a bit tatty and there were areas that needed a little care but we had a good time and I will stay there again when we next visit. Pitlochry and the surrounding area is breathtaking and I will visit every opportunity when in bonny wee Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoDrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Had 2 nights here on a flying visit to Pitlochry for a family visit. My room was pleasant and very quiet and the bathroom huge and beautiful. Excellent view from my window. Beautiful grounds, good breakfasts (the only meal I had in the hotel). Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Juroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

An Irish gentleman who turned out to be the owner walked among the guests enjoying their breakfasts. He was warm friendly and dressed in an expensive suit with expensive shirt etc. As he spoke with us it became obvious he had lived in the shirt for a while and last night's dinner was in evidence. And this sums up the Atholl Palace. It's all there or thereabouts but just a wee bit grubby.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hertfordtalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Making the turn into the hotel's long winding driveway is already wonderful because the Gatehouse is so adorable. Winding up the road to the hotel is peaceful and seeing the hotel from down below is breathtaking. The staff was pleasant and helpful. My room was wonderfully decorated, the character of the hotel kept up by enhancements of the 21st century. We had high tea which was lovely and made me feel like I was the owner of this huge mansion. Downstairs from the main lobby is the museum which tells the story of the hotel from the late 1800s. It was wonderful roaming around on my own, sitting in the mini theatre watching the DVD about the Atholl Palace and it's history. We decided to have dinner in town so I'm unsure of the hotel's dinner service but if it was anything like High Tea, it would have been wonderful. I didn't have time to use the spa, but the next time I come to Scotland, I will use the Atholl Palace as my hub for touring.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing