We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overnight break in April”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An overnight break in April”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Like many people, my wife and I are taking advantage of the growing number of deals on offer for hotels across the country. The Atholl Palace is a Victorian Spa hotel on the edge of the Perthsire town of Pitlochry. Surrounded by hills, with a light dusting of snow on top our first view of the hotel reminded us of the Hogwarts school from the Harry Potter films with its many windows and turrets. The drive up had been great, easy parking and a grand entrance into the hotel. Booking in was quick and easy, the staff were friendly and offered us a whiskey liqueur before we headed up to our room. We walked thought the large hall ways with easy chairs beside the wood fires crackling away on either side. We knew we had chosen a cracking venue. All unpacked we headed down for a smashing lunch in the restaurant before walking through the grounds and down to the Bells Distillery at the bottom of the road. In the late afternoon we headed down to the pool and after a dip we flitted between the steam room and the jacuzzi. Suitably refreshed we got ourselves ready for dinner. My wife is vegetarian and a bit fussy - we should have done what we always do and speak to the head waiter before service - to see what the chefs could come up with. But we didnt. The choice was fine, but not quite what my wife likes - so the chef did what he could in a short time. My wife enjoyed it all the same. My meal was really good. After a nightcap and a coffee beside the open fires - we headed to bed. In the morning we went down for the buffet breakfast which was both plentiful and well cooked. We could have stayed on for another swim or jacuzzi - but decided to spend our day taking the tourist roads home along Loch Tay and down through the Trossachs - a fabulous away day in perfect surroundings - the staff were great and overall everything hit the mark. With the special deals on offer it didnt break the bank either - loved it and would go back again

Room Tip: so long as you get a view it will be perfect - there are beautiful vistas in every direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilledoutScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    506
    299
    166
    102
See reviews for
364
812
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at Atholl Palace for 2 nights wonderful rooms, fantanstic views from the hotel. We used the leisure facilities on both days and was fantanstic way to relax. Staff of the hotel we happy to assist with anything. As there was 3 of us I thought it was really good as we did not have to pay single suppliment compared to other hotels. Hotel was lovely and will definately return. Thank you to everyone at Atholl Palace.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Hotel looks fab from the outside but dated and a bit tired inside. Good facilities though including swimming pool and sauna. our room was small and above the disco where a wedding took place. Music didn't go on until too late so not too bad.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

What a lovely surprise! An old hotel that's been beautifully refurbished and such a great deal. Went for my friend's 40th birthday trip away - 10 girls(!) together. Our rooms were lovely - spacious with great views. We had afternoon tea where the scones were just perfect (though don't bother if you are wheat intolerant - this option was poor), then dinner which was great. A wee trip downstairs to the ceilidh which was great fun if a bit sweaty, then up in the morning for spa treatments and a walk into town. Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Templeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Beautiful gardens and buildings. Enjoyed my stay very much, reception staff and chaimber maids very friendly..rest of staff just done there job and were polite. Our room was in a converted house which was opposite the palace, room was lovely well equiped and clean. Only negative we have is that its a little over priced...we had a weekend break deal which was fine for the money but if we had been paying full price I would have felt a little cheated.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lorrainerobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I recently spent a weekend at the hotel spa and just had to write a review . For one the building and it's surroundings are absolutely beautiful . Perfect for a wedding or just a romantic weekend away . Me and my partner stayed in a room which has a four poster bed it was lovely - traditional but very romantic. Most of the staff where very friendly and helpful. The manager was very nice and welcoming too all. The views from the hotel are just breathe taking. We had breakfast included in our package, which was a buffet breakfast which has everything u could want. We had lunch and dinner there and the food was to a good standard and not too pricie. The stags head bar is a bit pricie but it's a nice place too chill and have a drink. One thing I would mention is the bar not always covered by staff, so u can ring reception for service which was a bit annoying. However overall my staff was lovely and I will be back. The icing on the cake for me and my partner was having a lavender treat massage deal at the spa, thank you girls . The manager of the spa and the girls are lovely. I used all the rest of the facilities swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room etc which was great. Would highly recommend this hotel , it has that special touch to make your stay one to remember. Thank you to all the staff and manager :)

Room Tip: Four poster bed room- bit extra but well worth it. Nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah1982_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Beautiful hotel in fantastic surroundings. Rooms spacious, clean and have fantastic views of the countryside. The spa area was good and particularly quiet early morning. The relaxation room is great after your treatment. I has a full body massage and would recommend. I was a bit concerned about the food after reading some reviews but could not fault the dinner and breakfast provided. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing