We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rain in perthshire!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We decided to take a one night break at the Atholl Palace which included a ticket for the Enchanted Forest having stayed at the hotel a couple of years back.

Overall our stay was pleasant, unfrotunately the rain didnt stay away!

One thing i will say is that the breakfast area was very busy, with a wait required before we could get a table. The wait wasnt very long, but given the number of guests would have thought a bigger area required to accomodate all guests maybe required for breakfast time.

Will hopefully come back in the future.

P.s what happened to the Glayva at reception that guests used to receive a glass of on their arrival?!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmclean73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,501 - 1,507 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay for one night in one of the special occasion rooms. The room was beautiful - spacious and very comfortable with 3 picture windows and stunning views. We had a very tasty dinner, although has been mentioned previously, found all the additional charges for some choices a bit much. Staff were very helpful and friendly too. The only downside was that some of the communal areas seem a bit tired and could do with updating - that said there was also evidence that this is underway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackaydebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in the Baledmund room, which is above the main entrance and gives quite a good view of the grounds. The food was amazing we got the package with both breakfast and dinner at the hotel and bother were delicious. The view from the dining room show an equisite view down the valley and the wait staff are extremely professional. The breakfast was buffet style with many hearty and lighter options. The dinners were phenomenal and some the best food my wife and I have ever had. Pitlochry provides agood taste of Scotland and is close enough that you could use it as a staging point for other parts of your journey.

Room Tip: Splurge and get one of the turret suites or one of the feature rooms. Also we wish we'd picked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattpam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

pleasant friendly staff large airy and cosy bedroom large cosy lounges pleasant pool and spa
helpful waiting staff and very enjoyable dinner although extra charges for certain choices on the menu (a bit greedy consider the charge for dinner bed and breakfast) very enjoyable breakfast beautiful views from the hotel and lovely walks overall a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel looks fantastic, the grounds are beautiful and the public rooms are spacious and look wonderful. My friends and I had three rooms for single occupancy, 2 doubles and a twin. All the rooms were spacious but in need of an upgrade but the beds were comfy We had tickets for the theatre each night so we had to eat in the Stag Bar as the Dining Room didn't open early enough. The menu in the bar didn't change so we had the same six items to choose from each night, however the food was good. Perhaps the hotel could consider putting on a couple of 'specials' onto the bar menu each night. We all used the spa and we each thoroughly enjoyed this, good facilities here. Can I also mention the Hotel Museum in the basement, well worth a visit and free for residents. It is set out in two parts, staff in one section and guests in another and showed the hotel from its inception. All the staff were helpful and friendly and we will all consider coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Another excellent stay, to celebrate an important Birthday.
All the staff were Friendly, Helpful and Efficient.
Bedrooms were warm and cosy.
Perfect food, and immacutely clean restuarant.
We will be back
Many thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This building certainly looks like a Palace with its setting in magnificent grounds, thus upon arrival ones expectations are by default set high, but you are destined to be disappointed, as what you see on the outside is not what you get on the inside.
The public rooms are of a palatial scale as befits a hotel billing itself as a ‘Palace’ and on these there is little adverse comments apart from some furniture and fittings look a little tired; BUT although superficially a ‘Palace’ (and with prices to match), like lifting a stone from herein things are not quite as they should be and what one would expect and want for the price:
Bedrooms are small (cramped would also be a valid word), with somewhat worn furnishings – they are though clean and quiet and have good views.
Bathrooms are small (tiny is a word that also describes with accuracy the size) being formed within the room layout of the original building, here the range of toiletries gives an indicator as to the real standards adopted by the management.
Dinning in what is an undoubted an impressively large and grand dining room, allows one to feel very much just a number rather than a customer whose business is valued. The room although impressive in size is simply too big to give any sense of a nice dinning experience, this probably makes it ideal for functions for several hundred people who are expecting mass cooked food, but it’s certainly not the environment in which to enjoy a meal. Surroundings to one-side as this may be matter of personal preference; the food itself is a BIG disappointment in respect of quality and taste and represents very poor value particually given the additional cost of many items on the menu. The food is similar in taste and texture to better class cafeteria type food and one senses that this is mass cooked food that has been kept warm for too long. Service is quick and efficient (as it would be, if as suspected its mass cooked food that’s being served). Breakfast is buffet style, so get down early if you want a selection of food that not been hanging around for too long or no longer is available.
This hotel sells on its outward appearance of which it is well blessed and thus the management have decided that it’s OK to look good even if what is ultimately delivered is of a poor standard that absolutely does not warrant the name ‘Palace’ or the price associated to that name.

Room Tip: Find a diffeent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip-from-spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
6.6 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#11 of 17 in Pitlochry
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £119 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing