We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned and stunning park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This old fashioned hotel offers quite good rooms but an impressive dining/breakfast room with a anoramic view on the park and landscape. Wonderful hall and fiendly staff. The price was the best rate maybe because booked in advance (£ 90 for a double)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rigube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,411 - 1,417 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

Had the spa day package which included a Lovely lunch in a beautiful dining room followed by an afternoon of spa treatments. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely be returning for an overnight stay and spa treatments!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayelle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed three nights at The Atholl Palace which is a magnificent building in a beautiful location. However the "standard" room that we were given was small (with a small double bed), sparsely decorated and furnished, and had a very small bathroom. I returned to reception and complained that it was unacceptable for the price and they immediately moved me to a room in the "Manor House", next door to the main hotel. At least there was no discussion or argument needed!

This was a much larger and relatively newly decorated room. However it seemed as if the person who designed it had never stayed in a hotel. There was nowhere to put cases to lift them from the floor. The bathroom was a decent size, but there as nowhere to put anything down and no towel rails apart from a small radiator rail. The towels were put on the end of the bed (new towels every day) as there was nowhere to hang them in the bathroom.

The decoration was new, but poorly done. The curtains were not suitable for the rail, so the tops hung down looking rather tatty, there was a large fuse box on the wall and exposed wiring, the bathroom floor tiles had been put down on uneven floorboards and so were cracking up.

They also had maintenance problems. In the room a couple of light bulbs had gone and one of the bedside lights sparked and crackled alarmingly.Outside the room, the door handle of the front door to the "Manor House" fell off on the first day making it difficult to close the door and the outside light had blown so it was hard to find the keyhole when we returned in the evening as it was quite dark.

The breakfast was poor, all the fruit was tinned, the fruit juice was clearly long life rather than fresh and there was a very limited selection of low quality bread and some croissants that were like cardboard. The breakfast buffet was OK, bacon, sausages, eggs, etc. On our second day we had to wait 20 minutes before we could be seated for breakfast. This was clearly not due to lack of tables as there were many empty tables but they they had not been cleared, the hotel obviously did not have enough staff.

We had dinner on the first night. The food was only just adequate, tasteless and poorly prepared. My guinea fowl was dry and hard. The wine waiter was quite rude when I ordered the wine and then when it came it was at room temperature. When I asked if it could be chilled he insisted that it was already cold enough, but eventually brought a ice bucket with all the bad grace he could muster. He had all the customer empathy skills of Andy Murray!

It wasn't exactly a fine dining experience with several of the other diners dressed in tracksuits and football shirts. The woman in the table next to us threw up into her ice bucket. Needless to say, we didn't eat in the hotel again!

We enjoyed the location but the hotel is clearly badly run and does not provide the quality of food or service that you would expect at the price. The standard room that we were initially shown was very poor value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WNGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Room was not ready upon our arrival (3pm), girl at reception very friendly but was told they had 'no idea how long it would take'. It took approx a further hour. Room was not worth the wait. We had tower room with 2 bedrooms and 2 very small bathrooms. Was clean but very basic and certainly not worth the £169 (DBB enchanted forest offer). Had expected something quite special given the money they were charging but wish now we had stayed elsewhere and booked enchanted forest separately. Could hear neighbouring room using their bathroom! Kids enjoyed the swimming pool and hubby enjoyed the sauna but changing room was filthy. Dinner was disgusting, badly microwaved goats cheese and red onion tart with chewy pastry, served with a couple of boiled potatoes, a chopped up lettuce leaf, slice of pepper and half a tomato! Awful. Frozen desert, again not homemade. Breakfast was better with good selection. On checking out not asked how our stay was but I told them it was disappointing and food was awful. Receptionist said they would pass it on but get the feeling I was just another unhappy customer. Will not return or recommend.

Room Tip: You will strggle to find a room without creaking floorboards!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Have just read last review and can't believe we were staying in the same hotel! My family and I stayed for 3 nights in a Manor House room and we could not fault our stay. Room was immaculate, staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was excellent. As with previous reviewer our room was not ready upon arrival but we later found out this was due to a large party of guests checking out late. Hotel was child-friendly and spa facilities including the pool were very good. This was our second stay at this hotel and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emms2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

From the outside the hotel is undenyably stunning, however inside leaves a lot to be desired. Our receptionist made no effort to make us feel welcome - we werent advised of times of breakfast, what the hotel facilities were and our room wasnt ready for us on arrival so we had to go to the unattended bar and phone for someone to come and serve us!! The prices of drinks were quite high (£6.50 for a glass of wine) and the range on offer small. They also never had wine glasses readily available and had to go elsewhere to source them! The room was clean but really small. We never dined in the restaurant at night as the barmaid basically told us the food wasnt up to much!! Breakfast was lovely though, although we did have to wait in the lounge outside to be seated for about half an hour. The spa facilities were nice although reception was un-manned and the ladies changing rooms were absolutely filthy with bins overflowing with nappies and dirty towels lying all over the floor, really dirty floors too. Have been to other hotels in pitlochry for a fraction of the price but with much better service and general overall enjoyable experience. This was a big let down for us and 3 nights away from our 5 kids that we feel was wasted.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zumba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We decided to take a one night break at the Atholl Palace which included a ticket for the Enchanted Forest having stayed at the hotel a couple of years back.

Overall our stay was pleasant, unfrotunately the rain didnt stay away!

One thing i will say is that the breakfast area was very busy, with a wait required before we could get a table. The wait wasnt very long, but given the number of guests would have thought a bigger area required to accomodate all guests maybe required for breakfast time.

Will hopefully come back in the future.

P.s what happened to the Glayva at reception that guests used to receive a glass of on their arrival?!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmclean73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £116 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing