We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn spleandour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at the Atholl Palace in Pitlochry which was excellent. The ambience was perfect, Edwardian grandeur, just to our taste. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the food was good with plenty of choice. The flexibility of the kitchen to deal with dietary requirements was very pleasing, The setting of the hotel was beautiful and a walk in the surrounding woodlands added to our perfect four day break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cateferguson2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,483 - 1,489 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

My partner booked two nights at this hotel as a surprise. The location was lovely especially looking out at breakfast to the hills. Breakfast was a buffet style with plenty of choice. We also ate dinner on both nights, the food was ok nothing special given the price. Bedroom was big enough massive bathroom which could do with a upgrade. Spa and pool very nice, one thing could help here bit of music in the back ground to encourage you to spend more time in the pool/sitting area. Got to say the bar prices were good not your usual over price drinks. Overall nice stay in a lovely location. Whilst here we visited the enchanted forest which was magical well worth a visit!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clappison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

WE stayed in this hotel over a weekend, 20-21 October. For the money we had paid for the two nights we were very disappointed in the very spartan rooms and basic furniture. The windows were covered in condensation, the bathroom was small, and the bath was in poor condition with the enamel coming off from inside the bath. The shower was just attached to the bath taps.

The first night we stayed, we were going out to the pitlochry festival theatre (which was excellent) and as we arrived late in the day to the hotel, didnt have time to organise ourselves for something proper to eat, we decided for quickness to have something to eat in the very small bar. This was ok, fish and chips bar meal. With the intention of getting something later on from the room service menu. However after coming back to the hotel from the theatre, we called down for some room service, we were going to order some of the macaroni cheese, but were told that as there were no chefs on there was no food available, they could make us up some sandwiches if we wanted. We declined. We were surprised to not be able to get any food from the 24 hours room service menu except sandwiches. We ended up driving down to Perth for something there instead.

We also found the room quite noisy, there was a wedding on and we could quite clearly hear the music in our room, and later in the night, some type of electrical humming noise from outside.

The standard the the hotel is decorated to is very average to poor, the carpet in the small bar was quite dirty.

Definitely would not stay at this hotel again, believe they are more concerned about their wedding events guests than their normal guests. And would not recommend a stay here to anyone else, family or friends.


Very very disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalumRoberts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with elderly parents for a couple of nights midweek. Despite a very clear description of the mobility difficulties of my parents, we were allocated a room with a shower inside the bath. This was impossible for them to use.
However, the way this was dealt with was quite outstanding. A new room was given to my parents with a separate shower. Our own room was upgraded to a suite. An extra pillow was provided personally by the young lady on reception late at night. Quite simply, my parents felt very well cared for and I could not have asked for more. Bottom line is that a mistake made in allocating the rooms turned into a very positive experience due to the quiet, efficient and helpful attitude of staff. It's amazing how much a smile can achieve. Reception staff were great!
The only thing that slightly spoiled this high level of service was the over officious gent managing breakfast. A bit short with us to say the least and with many others when he found the numbers for breakfast difficult to handle. He would do well to remember that he is there to help and serve guests rather than make them feel awkward about asking for a table! But this won't spoil a great memory of our stay.
Good breakfast, over-priced but decent bar food with great staff. The swimming pool is unsupervised and very difficult to get into and out if there are any mobility issues for guests. Great grounds and lovely walk into the village centre.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossk1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Cannot fault this palace at all. We stayed for Valentine's Weekend. Our room was beautiful and the food was amazing. There was a rose and a box of chocolates of our bed when we arrived. Perfect walking distance into the village.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holley_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed for two evenings 19th and 20th October. If you prefer a quieter time do not go on Friday's or Saturday's as there are Weddings on most! This is truly a lovely hotel in the most beautifull grounds.It is similar to many Hydro hotels but superior in overall decor. We bought a bargain break costing a total of £169 for two nights dinner bed and breakfast advertised in the press. The evening meals were of very high standard both in taste and presentation though desserts I suspect were "bought in". The service overall in the restaurant was excellant, though can be very busy as wedding parties in on both mornings. Lovely food also at breakfast. Previous comments on supplements we did not find justified as each evening we could have chosen at least three of the starters and mains without supplements! also a very good wine list with a good range of prices. Bar prices are normal for a four star hotel. Service in bar can be hit or miss as bar staff frequently dissapear to help with wedding or I assume that was why we had to phone reception three times for bar service. The swimming pool is very small with small room for changing though attractive setting with a jacuzzi. The rooms vary I am sure in size and quality we were in room 401 tucked away in one of the front facing turrets/towers our room was small with a tiny en-suite with the most fabulous view from the window. I suspect the radiator needs to be bled as was not heating but reported to recepton who were going to have it attended to.
A couple of friends were attending a wedding on the Saturday and paid £149 for room and breakfast a wedding package rate so watch out for the offers! I will definately return to this hotel in the future. Last comment look foreward to meeting the owner a charming Irishman and superb host with the most wonderfull name Fionn Machouill apoligies if incorrect spelling?

Room Tip: Fabulous views from bedrooms-watch out for a bargain!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyandour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This old fashioned hotel offers quite good rooms but an impressive dining/breakfast room with a anoramic view on the park and landscape. Wonderful hall and fiendly staff. The price was the best rate maybe because booked in advance (£ 90 for a double)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rigube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 17 in Pitlochry
2,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £126 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing