We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Traveller Returns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here a few years ago, it was great; full of old world charm, you easily could imagine what this place was like at the turn of the century. This time, much the same. A friendly reception on arrival, with a nice complementary liquor, a couple of fires (one real the other gas) in the main lobby, it was nice just to sit to soak in the ambiance .... oh this was a Sunday, so nice and quiet. Well went up to the room, how many lifts do you know that are carpeted? Our room was small, especially when we looked at the plan on the wall for surrounding ones, but it's clean, with nice views, warm and only in need of a little TLC, but that's the charm here. The room refreshments were very well stocked, linen fresh and my girlfriend loved the bed, so comfortable she said.

We were here only for one night so chose to eat in. A couple of drinks in the Stagshead bar first, again very old world with a log fire, but unfortunately didn't give out too much heat and after dinner it had virtually gone out. Back to dinner though, we had the 3 course option, starters excellent as were the mains, served with appropriate speed and rest in between courses. Desserts were just as nice, I'm not a big dessert person so easily pleased. There was a pleasant interlude for all the dinner guests, early on at least, as the owner was in town and took time to circulate and have a nice anecdotal chat to all as he went round tables.

The sleep was excellent, warm rooms, no undue noise .... many floor boards creak though; like an old house should! In the morning breakfast ..... great! All self service save for the coffee & tea, a large selection of cooked food, nicely presented and looked after/stocked. Orange juice that was not chilled to an inch of loosing real taste, and a selection of cereals (I couldn't manage those, not after the fry up .... yum)

Finally was time to go, check out was quick and painless ... and the staff continued to be pitching the pleasantness appropriately, some places are just to 'thank you have a nice day'!

So would I go back again, yes no doubt, despite the charmingly dated interior; which for me is a draw. Its has always been quiet and very roomy here this when coupled with the setting and beautiful exterior for me makes it a must. Thanks :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChilledJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,840)
There are newer reviews for Atholl Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Having just returned from Atholl Palace with a friend for a spa weekend to celebrate her 30th we have been left very disappointed.
Rooms are lovely and clean but could use a bit updating as could the rest of the hotel. The heat in the hotel is ridiculous I understand it was cold outside but the heat at times could be unbearable. We also had a visit from a bird but apparently this is normal when reading other reviews.
Firstly dinner on Friday night was edable, it is a restricted menu and if you want to have a steak for example you have to pay a supplement. The price of soft drinks is absolutely ridiculous £8.40 for 4 250ml (smaller than a can) is a disgrace considering you can buy them in the local shop for 39p a bottle. We walked into Pitlochry and ate in McKay's pub on Saturday and the food was lovely. A warm and welcoming pub with a coal fire and reasonable prices we would highly recommend this place.

The spa was lovely we had booked a spa break so had a massage and facial included in our trip this was lovely and relaxing and we really enjoyed this as well as the swimming, sauna and steam room. Beware of the jacuzzi the water is boiling!!!! We had booked to have a manicure and a pedicure, which was just a mess. My friend had to repolish her nails again when we returned to the room as the beautician was shaking so much.
On leaving the hotel on Sunday I questioned £150 which had been added to our bill we had expected to pay extra for the manicure and pedicure but not this much. when I questioned it the receptionist said that the spa duplicated our treatments and would remove them.
On returning home I recieved an irate telephone call from the Spa Manager claiming that I had refused to pay for treatments when really it was the receptionist who had made the mistake not me. I agreed that we had not payed for the extra treatments but due to the mess of the manicure I was not willing to pay for one of them nor was I willing to pay £40 for a pedicure that I could have done a better job of myself in the house. She didn't even apologise.
All in all we were pretty disappointed with the whole experience, we will return to Pitlochry as it is a lovely village but would not stay at this hotel again.

This is the first trip advisor post I have ever done as I do not normally complain but felt other travellers should know what they are paying for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My husband and I got married here last week and only have very positive things to say about the hotel and its staff. Our whole experience was wonderful, and our guests were all extremely pleased. We had 70 people staying at the hotel (some in rooms and some in the lodges) and they all had a great experience at the Atholl Palace. We stayed in the turret suite which was out of this world - panoramic views of Pitlochry and the countryside, as well as a lovely lounge area which was separate to the bedroom. Our experience of the food was excellent - breakfast especially amazing! Some of our guests ate in the restaurant the evening before the wedding and were very impressed with the food. I had a bar snack which was very good value for money and was delicious. All the staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to accommodate us. We hope to come back for our Anniversary - very fond memories! Thanks to all!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place, beautiful building though parts of the interior are very dated. Arriving was exciting - driving up to this lovely historical hotel. However reception was unhelpful - we had four rooms booked, two were not ready at 12.30, we used two but had to phone back to get updates on the others, although er had asked for a call.
However dinner was the cruncher - the meat served was tough, the vegetables minimal and overcooked. The vegetarian option was a frozen nut roast which was served dry and tasted of mould - been in the freezer a while....
Breakfast was fried, dried, and inedible. The tea tasted of an urn that is regularly bleached(!?!) and coffee had crept in somehow.
At lunchtime we checked out the menu, found that a sandwich order was over £7 and decided to go elsewhere.....
The serving staff were pleasant, the lovely big fire in the lounge was nice. Views and walks gorgeous.
Overall we were simply astonished that management could allow the kitchen to let the rest down to the extent it did. And reception could have been more welcoming - it's not that hard!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Musicaltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We went here on a *last minute deal* still cost £100 (B&B) so not exactly cheap.
Got told at reception we had a "garden room" this actually means basement. views of back on wedding venue and car park, lovely.
Room was freezing, i fiddled about with radiator and couldnt get it to work so i called reception. I was told heating was off because "its had been a nice day!" It was October, not middle of summer. She grudgingly said she would turn heater on, and fair play it came on pretty much right away. Room was totally ordinary, nothing special whatsoever. To be honest i prefer Premier Inn rooms to blandness we got. Bathroom was dull and outdated. And something you might find any old place.
We decided to eat in hotel rather than go into town. Bit of mistake really. Went to bar for pre dinner drinks, luckily we got in just before guests attending a wedding in hotel invaded and the ONE barman on was struggling to cope. The queue was miles long, if i'd been a wedding guest i'd not have been too happy,
Off we went to dinner. Maitre D was very attentive and cheerful, waitresses less so and we had to ask for water and for the wine which arrived after our starters.
Getting to the food. It was mediocre at best. We had haggis to start, it tasted cheap (i'm in catering, i know good haggis) and the Smoked Haddock wrapped in Ham sounded lovely but was a huge let down. Minced Haddock? very odd texture, tasted ok but it was almost like it had been mixed with other cheap fish then minced to bulk it out. Smoked Haddock should be lovely big succulent Flakes. This was none of the above.
We passed on desert and went into the lobby for our tea/coffee, Think its nice touch to serve it there as for older guests i guess its a relaxing enviroement and gets the diners out restaurant so they can reset it.
Talking of older guests, this place was full of them. I reckon if you want to take your elderly parents away for weekend then this is the place for them, it was a bit like a nursing home sitting in that lobby, nice though it was. To be fair to the hotel thats not their fault.

We decided to finsih our tea/Coffee and head into town to find a bit of life, and thank goodness we did, it saved a waste of £100 quite frankly.

Breakfast was again mediocore, juices not chilled,actual buffet are was a right mess. No bread for toast, we had to ask them to fill it up and the place needed someone to go tidy it up in general. Quality just wasnt there.

Funnily enough my partner had stayed her about yrs ago for a works conference and wasnt inpressed then, it would seem nothing has changed since. I'd always wanted to stay there as the grounds are stunning as is the actual buidling. The views from reataurant were also magnificent., Shame it's all show and subtance. I booked there looking for the granduer we are used to with 4/5 star hotels we normally stay in. Sadly disapointed.

we wont be back,

Room Tip: dont take a garden room! its actually in the basement,
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santababy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have just returned from three night stay at the Atholl palace taken during the recent mid term break. We have two 'children' 18 & 16 years. We took the train to Pitlochry and on the advice of the hotel reception we booked a taxi to meet us at the station and bring us to the hotel.
We arrived on a Sunday evening and 'due to a large check out' that day we were offered an upgrade to the Cluniemore suite. We ate in the restaurant for the first two nights and I could not find fault with any of the dishes served. We were undecided on the third evening and then decided to stroll down to the village a eat there.Pitlochry is a picture postcard village with plenty of shops and restaurants. Service in the hotels restaurant is excellent and it has the buzz of a busy dining room in the evening with terrific views at breakfast time.
Having workied in this industry for almost twenty years, I can't help looking around to see who is doing what. There is an excellent staff here and they all appear eager to assist. They cover a lot of ground serving in the bar, restaurant and tending to the log fires in the lobby. Before returning I asked reception for some train times and was provided with a printed list of all trains.
The Atholl Palace is stunning on arrival and the wonderful thing is it lives up to its appearance, there is a lot to discover here be it the pool, the walks outside, full size snooker table. We were fortunate to still have an 18 year old still holiday with us but both said they would happily return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albarin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This is the first time here for many years. The great welcome from the staff and the warmth of the log fires in the spacious lounges was great on the first really cold day of the winter. The rooms and public areas were decorated to a very high standard. The views are spectacular and even had snow on the mountain tops on our last morning. Breakfasts buffet style but very good food. We were not so impressed by the dinner in the dining room, although we had a great bar meal on our second evening. Despite being a big hotel there is a very friendly relaxed atmosphere and excellent service, Would certainly consider returning. We will look out for more special offers!

Room Tip: I asked for a room near a lift for my 91 year old mum so she would not need to walk far. It turned...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £127 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing