We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear, what a waste!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oh dear, what a waste!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stopped one night at the Atholl Palace. The approach to the building is stunning and the grounds are kept magnificently. The receptionist was helpfully, as we're all the front of house staff. Our room was of 'travellodge' standard, only not quite as good. The pillows were not much thicker than the ones handed out on airplanes, the TV had a small screen & the shower had low water pressure. We can live with that, of course, but the quality of the food in the dining room was just awful. I sent back my lamb because it was a tough as old boots - clearly cooked earlier and left under heat lamps. The very helpful Maitre d' offered an alternative which appeared within 3 minutes, so obviously pre cooked and just served up without any pride or care by the kitchen staff. Once again it was dire. It seems that the chef had gone home (8.30 pm) because the embarrased Maitre d' promised to "speak to him in the morning".

The food seems to be catering- pack type rather than bespoke restaurant food of four star hotel quality.

The hotel is a tourist trap, of course, catering for cheap coach tours, but there can be no excuse for such poor quality food. Stay and enjoy the grounds, but eat elsewhere is my strong advice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay.
At the Atholl Palace we welcome all feedback, good and bad and we pride ourselves on our high standard and customer satisfaction. On this occasion however we have clearly failed. For this we can only apologise and will certainly do our best to rectify the points you have mentioned to make sure these do not happen again.
We do hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel sometime in the future.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    515
    308
    169
    102
See reviews for
370
828
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glenrothes fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

we did the spa break 25/26 june for my daughters 21st and it was excellent, lovely afternoon tea then were were able to use the spa facilities... pool, jacuzzi, steam rooms etc. our room was lovely and spotless with a view over the hills, our evening meal was wonderful staff very helpfull . the next morning after breakfast back down to the pool etc before having a lovely back massage and facial, the therapist did a wonderful job. will certainly be back thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenaillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent Spa Break. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and please wish your daughter belated 21st birthday wishes from all of us here!! We very much look forward to seeing you all back again!!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here thursday to saturday. When we got there felt very welcome and we had a lovely suite. We had dineer on the thursday afternoon which was lovely and the dinner staff were very helpful and friendly. We had drinks down the village the first night which is a lovely quiet village which a few nice restaurants. We drank in the hotel the second night which has a nice quiet resideance bar. The hotel is nicely decorated and gives you a real feel of a castle, also the grounds are unreal with so much to do and lots of nice walks around the forest. Plenty to do and an all round fun trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pol86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had the most wonderful restful and relaxing week, 9 - 16 June, staying at the Corrie Cottage on the grounds of the Atholl Palace Hotel, Pitlochry, Scotland. Five of us met together from different parts of the UK and from Dublin to enjoy the beautiful setting of the hotel and avail of all the facilities there while having our independence staying at the Corrie Cottage. What space! It was sheer luxury in the cottage with no fewer than three bathrooms! We were a few steps away from the hotel, the swimming pool, jacuzzi and the Lavender Spa. As we're all retired, we've been meeting together for a holiday for about ten years and usually we aim for the sun (southern Europe). This time one in the group suggested Scotland and would you believe, we did get sunshine - almost every day! It was a perfect choice.
We like swimming, walking and taking a quiet rest in the countryside, communing with nature - what better place to do all that than in the superb location of the hotel. The shrubs, rhododendrons, flowers, birds, wildlife and trees in the woodlands are 'heavenly' at this time and we enjoyed every minute of our time, including our daily walks on the nature trails, especially to the magnificent 'Black Spout' waterfall.
The staff get an A-rating from us. They are so very friendly and helpful, always ready to tell more about the countryside and to advise on day trips to the Highlands. We indulged in the Spa facilities of course and were treated to the wonderful 'Lavender' treatment by very professional, friendly, gentle therapists. We also ate in the hotel, breakfasts (everything to offer that keeps you going for the day!) lunch one day and then and evening meals. We had to best of both worlds - our own space and the chefs/waiters at the hotel to cater for our meals! We all agreed hat the choice to 'do' our week in Scotland could not have been surpassed. High praise of the great week we enjoyed. Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for making our week so memorable. Oh, and, when we were leaving on Sunday, we pledged to come back again! A big 'thank you' to all the friendly staff at Atholl Palace Hotel - you make visitors welcome and feel at home, all of which makes a holiday memorable.

Room Tip: The Corrie Cottage is spacious with three bathrooms. Its location is close to the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Corrie Cottage! I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon! We will of course arrange to have lots of sunshine next time you visit too!!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed on our way home from a wedding in Elgin. We last used this hotel for company Dinner Dance and overnight stay back in the mid 1980's. it was great then and did not disappoint this time. The staff are well trained and from the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome and special. A great bar meal served just before a power failure (external problem, not the hotel). The staff dealt with it professionally, kept us informed and found alternative ways to provide a service. All in all, a satisfying experience.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the hotel and I will pass this onto the rest of the team. The power cut was very unfortunate but luckily didn't last too long, and we are glad it didn't disrupt your stay too much!
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the hotel, and hope to welcome you back again soon!
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My friend and I recently did the Sunday Spa for £99, well worth it. We had an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast with an hours spa treatment. We both had full body massages which were so relaxing and the therapists were lovely. We had full use of the Spa facilities and provided with robes and slippers. Our room was delightful, everything you needed including hairdryer. Dinner was excellent, 3 courses then coffee in the lounge afterwards. The views over the mountains in the dining area were amazing! All you could eat for breakfast too which was also first class. Could not fault anything and the staff were all pleasant and helpful. Going back with my Daughter for another treat!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 281YvonneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is most kind of you to take the time out to review the spa and the hotel. I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel with your daughter soon.
With Best Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,168 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Atholl Palace Hotel, sits atop a granite outcrop and offers superb views over the Perthshire countryside. Built in the best Victorian Style it truly is magnificent. The Gardens/Grounds are probably the best of any hotel in Scotland.
We stayed for 2 nights on a DBB basis and greatly looked forward to dinner in the Verandah Restaurant. What a let down. This was "School Dinner" cuisine at its worst !!! We paid a supplement for the Chowder, which the Menu, promised a lot....but singularly failed to deliver !!!! Over salted....over smoked fish, barely edible. The lamb seasoned with sea salt and rosemary stuffed with black pudding, never existed. !!! What we go was a couple of slices of questionable lamb, non-nutritional vegetables...covered with red jus, to take away all evidence of what we were actually eating. Like all school dinner desserts, "Apple Crumble" didn't have any crumble !!! An unmitigated disaster. The Breakfast Buffet was great, other than every single item was stone cold. Did someone forget to light the flames ?????
Given that Scotland has probably one of the best larders in the world, the food presented at the Atholl Palace, was an embarrassment and I was quite ashamed that the hotel had the audacity to offer this to tourists from abroad let alone locals like me.
I could use more colourful adjectives, but will refrain from doing so.
Finally, on the 2nd night, the roast venison, turned out to be a stew, which bore an uncanny resemblance to "stewing beef"....the root vegetables, had been "mashed" resulting in something akin to a "bowl of sick" !!!! Disgusting....no thought on presentation or again nutritional value. An absolute disgrace.
To the Manager.....send for "The Hotel Inspector".....after you get yourself a chef !!!!
The only redeeming feature were the staff, who must have been embarrassed with the fayre produced. Oh forgot, we seemed to be on a speedy conveyor belt......50 minutes for a Three Course Dinner......world record......simply great for the digestion !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pump/generator room and don't eat in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As you can imagine, I was most disappointed to read the review of your experience at the Atholl Palace Hotel. At the Atholl Palace, we pride ourselves on our high standards of our food and customer service, therefore I am extremely concerned that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, so that we can avoid this happening again in the future. If this would be of interest, I can be reached on dougal@athollpalace.com or 01796 472 400.

Kind Regards
Dougal Spaven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,862 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Property: Atholl Palace Hotel
Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing