We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atholl Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Birchwood(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosemount Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moulin Hotel(Pitlochry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,028)
Filter reviews
2,028 results
Traveller rating
807
578
346
190
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
807
578
346
190
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslavender spaturret suitetennis courtsplunge poolpitch and puttstags headmanor houserestaurant managerafternoon teasteam roomwedding partywelcome drinkputting greenhotel groundsspa breakspa arealovely grounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,395 - 1,400 of 2,028 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel stands within some beautifully maintained grounds and stunning views. We received a very warm welcome along with a welcome drink and found our way to a spacious and appointed room. As with most rooms there were a couple of niggles such as no soap dish in the shower but these were minor.
The breakfast was pretty standard but plenty of it and well laid out. Be careful if the suns out as while the view from the dining rooms windows are stunning, the sun can be pretty intense there. We only took breakfast in the hotel so unable to comment on the evening meal.
We had a great time in the spa and loved the walk in the grounds over to the waterfall and along the stream. There are also loads of places to visit both in Pitlochry but also surrounding areas. Queen's View is a must!
A beautiful setting and we returned feeling as though we had been on a longer than just a weekend break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezza773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel in the future.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were impressed as we drove up in our tour bus, but our room was cramped and not up to par. We can sleep almost anywhere for one night, but during a heat wave and windows that did not open made for a restless night. This is lthe only place we stayed in two weeks without at least a queen bed. Nowhere to put luggage either. Other than the room, we were treated well. Food was very good and our group had some nice entertainment during dinner. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was attentive, but busy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry that you did not find your room up to standard, and we have taken your comments on board. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and the entertainment, and we hope that you will come back and visit us some time in the future.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived at 10am and the staff had told us fluffy robes would be left out as the staff were busy deep cleaning that day. No robes left out and the changing area is in need of attention to detail. Some of the lockers are broken, the mirror is almost disguisting to look at and no toiletries for guest use. The pool is lovely, as is the wirl pool. On through and it is lovely to read the history on the walls. No staff to be seen anywhere but cleaning things out for us to see...I am trying to have a day away (2 hour travel to get there). At time of spa, 2 staff did arrive and the treatment as quite good. We then asked about the lunch (part of the deal), but the staff member was not aware we had booked (was on the email sent back from hotel). The shower is annoying as you have to keep pressing every 7 - 8 seconds.Nothing to wash hair with which for the money paid, I would expect. Oveall, I cannot recommend for a spa day - other hotels do it much better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scubagal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that our spa day experience did not meet your expectations and for this I can only apologise. All of your comments have been passed onto the staff and we will do our best to resolve these issues going forward.
If you would like to discuss this in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

stayed at the Atholl Palace as part of our road trip around Scotland. The approach to the hotel is lovely, you were greeted at the reception with a wee dram, which was very nice. Staff were very attentive. Our room was on the second floor, with a nice view, there is a lovely garden in front of the hotel where you can sit out with a nice coffee or glass of wine. Room was very nice, and bed really comfy. Food in the hotel was good, with a good menu to choose from. Breakfast was very good, buffet style, but everything there anyone would wish to choose from. This is a very nice hotel, and one would go back to again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed your welcome dram on arrival! I do hope you managed to enjoy the lovely weather we have been experiencing recently! We very much hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived in the middle of a wedding. Kilts everywhere (lovely) but a room facing the front entry where all the guests were congregating made it quite noisy. The room was incredibly hot, and when we requested a fan we got some kind of heater that had a cooling function but did not move any air. The window had to be propped open with a tea tray. At around midnight the staff started heaving all the bottles that had been consumed during the wedding and dinner into the trash bins. One at a time, until the container was light enough to dump all at once. What a racket. That plus screaming kids running up and down the hallways made it a very unrestful night. The breakfast was a big buffet and the scrambled eggs were horrible, appeared to be powdered egg mix. We couldn't wait to leave in the morning. Very impersonal and not worth the money.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank kathylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Your comments have certainly been taken on board, especially with regards to the window in your room and the noise levels with the bottles late at night - this is unacceptable and I have spoken with the restaurant manager. I'm afraid little can be done about the noise level at the wedding, but I do sincerely apologise that you found your stay to be very unrestful and unsatisfactory.
We hope you can accept our apologies and do hope you will visit us again sometime in the future.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews