We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I have been going to this hotel for about 20 years and it has always been excellent. The team there under Dougal guidance has always been excellent and especially James the 2nd in command has become a family friend. Since been purchased about 11 years ago they have invested a large amount of money including the indoor heated pool etc. This hotel lives up to its name and is situated in perfect surroundings and in a fantastic village that always makes you feel very welcomed.
Hogmanay is really the best night in the grand hall with live group and pipes etc ANC a feast for a King.
I love this hotel and so do my entire family and hope to be able to come many many more times in the future.
Fantastic Atholl Palace from my 4 year old son.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Mapledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you ever so much for your glowing review! I'm delighted you keep coming back to visit us, and will pass your wonderful comments onto James and the rest of the team.
Hope to see you again very soon!
Best wishes
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just returned after our xmas party weekend.Once again another fantastic weekend.Many thanks to Gillian and staff for the work they put in to make it a great weekend.The usual high standard was on offer.Loved the buffett breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pumphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you ever so much for posting your lovely review. I will personally pass on your comments to Gillian and the rest of the team - they are sure to brighten up their day!
Delighted you enjoyed your Party night - look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
With best regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I spend my Honeymoon in the Athol Palace Hotel 38 years ago !!went back for some nostalgia !!not disappointed but can do with improvement , we asked for "the old room" but were given a small room facing the roof of the function suite !! not a good offer the hotel did not even acknowledge the reason for our visit even that I confirmed the reason . the food was good the Dinning room management can do with some improvement !! the front disk staff need to learn how to be helpful and not be dismissive when asked for information about the activities
The loge fire place in the lounge and bar give a wonderful feeling of welcome the young man in the bar is a STAR he get my vote for hospitality and service

Room Tip: Ask for either a front or a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you feel let down, especially since you were visiting for a special occasion and a walk down memory lane! Given the fact you advised us of the reason of your stay and it was not acknowledged, I can only apologise as this is clearly an oversight on our part. I am delighted you enjoyed the food, and will pass your kind comments onto the bar staff.
I hope you will visit us again.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and in-laws for a special occasion at the end of November. This was paid for by my in-laws and we were booked into two superior doubles. The drive up is impressive the car park needs re-surfacing potholes everywhere. I wasn't aware you normally got a welcome drink when you arrived until I read some of these reviews not something we got, although my card did get swiped even though I made it clear we weren't paying for the weekend.

The rooms were not clean, both were grubby and needed new fixtures and fittings. Towels were left in the hallway and toiletries were not replaced. The snooker room has a hole in the wall filled with rubbish and whilst we were there three members of staff walked through and not one of them cleared away the empty glasses that had been left by someone previous to us.

The breakfast service on the Saturday was good however we were in early, the Sunday morning we went later and proceeded to wait 30 minutes for poached eggs with no apology. The food isn't bad but this is a four star hotel so it should be good not average. The staff are over-worked, under paid (I know this as the kitchen staff were stood outside complaining about their wages) and taking the blame constantly for things they can't fix. This hotel needs a serious upgrade it does not deserve the four stars it currently has nor the price tag it comes with. A real disappointment.

Pick somewhere else unless you are getting a bargain and even then I would think twice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suziqueue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay. We serve out welcome drinks on reception from 2pm so I am sorry you did not receive this. A swipe of your card is purely a pre-authorisation and no monies are taken, this is standard hotel practice. We do appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms and the breakfast service, and all your comments have been passed to the directors.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

25 years ago my wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Atholl Palace Hotel in Pitlochry, which now has a 4 Star rating, and we returned this year with members of our family to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
We had booked 2 superior four poster rooms as viewed in their brochure and on their website.

We were utterly disgusted at the poor standards of the room.

Room 211.
The bed had the four posts but minus the drapes, as per advertised on their website!
My daughter-in-law had to clean the bathroom taps, and the rusty chrome corner vanity unit.
There were no bath-robes, and on the second night there were no toiletries.

Room 111
The carpet had not been hovered, as my wife found some money on the floor.
The bathroom was the same condition as Room 211.
Bathroom taps and other chrome fittings, were dirty ie old soap and toothpaste.
The coverlet at the bottom of the bed was covered in stains, either human body fluid, or other such things. When we complained, all that the cleaning staff did was to turn it over. My wife complained and the coverlet was removed, and not replaced.

On our departure my wife made official complaints to the Deputy Manager, who was also the Head Housekeeper.
My wife also telephoned the General Manager Mr D. Spaven, and made an official complaint.
I have received an apology and part refund, which was of very little compensation to redress the matter.

It is most unfortunate that the 4 Star Rating was utterly, misleading, and not a guarantee that the accommodation is of a high standard.

Room Tip: Read all reviews before deciding to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NanandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We appreciate you posting your review, however as the has been communication between yourselves and our managing director we do not feel that further dialogue is necessary.
Kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel with friends for the second time. We were given a welcome dram which was very acceptable as we checked in at reception . We relaxed on the sofas in the big entrance hall with our dram beside the blazing fire before we went up to our spotlessly clean rooms. We were on a package deal which we thought was an absolute bargain. It consisted of a theatre ticket to see the Christmas musical at the Pitlochry Theatre, a bottle of wine each, three course pre-theatre dinner with coffee, bed and full Scottish breakfast and also transport to and from the theatre all for £90 inclusive. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the dinner we ate was excellent albeit too big portions for our appetite which I didn't consider a fault as we had gorged ourselves at the Highland Chocolatier shop prior to checking in at the hotel. We look forward to a visit next year with the purpose of seeing the Pitlochry Theatre Christmas show. Thank you staff for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marguerita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you ever so much for posting your kind review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon.
With kind regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife Diane and I revisited the Hotel on a 2nights stay from Monday 18th November 2013 and we went to our room and realised that the tv did not work or should I say other than one channel and I phoned down to the reception desk and a staff member came up and reset the channels and it worked showing the normal channels . The restaurant meals were ideal and their staff each time was very friendly and helpful as usual . The toiletries in the room were not replaced on the second day as we stayed for Dinner Bed & Breakfast for two nights. When we arrived at the Hotel the receptionist at the desk took our card and swiped it through their machine and I asked her why she required it and she said that its the procedures there but thats the first time that weve had to give in our bank card to have it scanned and we have been customers of this hotel for around 10 times over the years . The staff member told us that there was no charge but the till receipt showed £1 charged . We were not able to use the jaccuzzi area on our first day and a bit as the painter was refurbishing that area but the pool was open for use being the quite season in the hotel to get on with some work in maintenance etc . My wife has arthritis in her hips and she found getting into the bath to shower was hard due to the position of the bath in that room so we intend to ask for a walk in shower next time we visit. We were sorry not to see the usual staff but we heard that they were taking a well earned break with hotel being quieter prior to the Xmas /New Year season . We did not see any Red SQUIRRELS in the grounds this time

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letham45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSpaven, General Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with the television, but glad to hear it was resolved promptly, and I am sorry your toiletries were not replenished on day 2. We have recently appointed a new Front Office Manager who has put the procedure in place to take a swipe of the payment card on check in, but this is just a
pre-authorisation, and no payment is actually taken.
I hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace Hotel again soon, please do ask for a walk in shower and we would be delighted to fulfill this request for you.
With best regards
Dougal Spaven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £141 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing