We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointing Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I decided to have lunch here as we were visiting Pitlochry for the day. The hotel has a lovely situation and the decor is very presentable. It was an ideal setting for the wedding which was taking place at the time of our visit.

Our choice of seating was at the far end of the dining room so that we could be far away from the open windows. It was still chilly given that the temperature was only 5* outside and the surrounding hills had snow. We both started with the mushroom soup. It was lovely but was served with soda bread which was thick and dry. The butter had obviously just been taken from the fridge and the bread crumbled when attempting to spread the butter on it. Our next course was breaded haddock with chips, a small amount of lettuce and an onion ring. The chips were served in an open basket and were very cool on arrival. By the time the waiter returned to the dining room and we mentioned this, we had started eating our fish the chips being inedible. He offered to replace the chips but felt it wouldn't be worth it as we then would have cold fish but hot chips! We just felt the lunch we had been looking forward to, was ruined. We decided to leave and not wait for a sweet as planned. Part of the problem may have been the distance the waiter had to travel from the kitchen with the chips in an open basket and not on the warm plate. The salad was poor so really we ended up with a main course of fish. The waiter did not charge us for the one glass of wine but this hardly made up for an unpleasant lunch experience. We will not return.

Something else I must mention. While the wedding guests were waiting for the bridal photographs being taken outside they were having drinks and nibbles in the area just outside the dining room. It was fairly crowded and we had no other option but to excuse our way through this crowd to get to the exit door. It must have been as annoying for them as it was for us. Surely in a place the size of this hotel such guests could be accommodated in an area other than a main passageway to the main door of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marionhas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,837)
There are newer reviews for Atholl Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,838 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked an overnight stay, travelled with husband and two small children. Nice room, very spacious, close to a baby room with fridge and microwave, great surprise and very useful. Pool was small but good. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1980x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hi we've stayed at atholl palace a few times but the last time was about 15 years ago. However atholl palace didn't disappoint it is still lovely and retains its Scottishness . The grounds are beautiful great for walks . Food is great couldn't fault it. Atholl palace is a lovely place to stay a real treat

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for coming back to visit us after 15 years - I do hope you wont leave it that long again before we can see you back! Thank you for your kind review and I look forward to welcoming you back!
With best regards
Jenny Dow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked this Hotel for 1 night when travelling with Grandchildren.

The Location and setting is fantastic as is the Hotel and Grand features within. The Staff were most helpful when we arrived, the Family room on fourth floor was first class. The onsite leisure facilities were very nice and enjoyed by all of the party.

The breakfast was first class in presentation and finish and provided a great start to our day, followed by a walk through the grounds after breakfast was most enjoyable.

As an observation the one small lift may not be sufficient enough for a Hotel of this size.

The Location, setting, service and Hotel experience was first class and we will most definitely return again in near future and highly recommend the fabulous Hotel to all and sundry.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

I am delighted to hear you all enjoyed your stay, and thank you for posting your review! I hope you are already planning to come back and visit us again with the rest of the family, we would love to see you all back.
With best wishes
Jenny Dow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

To class this as a 4 star is nothing short of ridiculous.

Room was small, bathroom door wouldnt close, bed was small, staff were very unhelpful (in fact got angry with us when we raised issues with our room).

To give credit where its due the food was really good.

I would seriously look elsewhere if its 4 star you are looking for, dig deeper and you will find something worth paying for, sadly this place isnt it.

Room Tip: I asked for an upgrade and was simply refused, our room was shocking, situated next to lift shaft, i...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The views from the hotel are breath-taking and from the minute we entered in to the hotel we were made most welcome. Our stay overall was of an enjoyable time. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with lovely views from the windows of the surrounding countryside. Breakfast choices was excellent and dinner in the evening were of good quality and choice. We found all staff to be polite, helpful and hard working ensuring our stay was most pleasant. The walks in and around the hotel grounds were excellent. We made use of the Spa facilities and we were not disappointed. We could not honestly find anything negative to comment from our experience at the Atholl Palace and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

What a lovely review to read!! Thank you so much, we are glad you managed to "break the winter blues" with us here at the Atholl Palace! I hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
With best regards
Jenny Dow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here 15th february,fantastic looking building with even better grounds, were met with a warm welcome when entering the hotel.All staff were helpful & polite during our stay,room & food excellent views from our room & the front of the hotel breathtaking. Would have no problem staying at this establishment in the future.Walks around the grounds in the summer would be fantastic seen 3 young deer when out for a morning stroll through the woods.

Room Tip: Higher floors tremendous views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APManagement, Sales Manager at Atholl Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review - I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay over Valentines weekend! Its great that you managed to spot our resident deer on the estate, there are a few squirrels jumping around now too! I hope to welcome you back to the Atholl Palace again very soon.
With best wishes
Jenny Dow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#13 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Palace Hotel

Address: Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pitlochry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £127 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scottish Highlands, wild and rugged, have a timeless romantic quality. At their very heart, where the River Tummel flows to the Tay, sits the historic small town of Pitlochry. The Atholl Palace Hotel, the epitome of Scottish Baronial splendour, stands overlooking wooded parkland grounds and the town to the surrounding hills. Originally opened as the Athole Hydropathic in Victorian times, the hotel retains many features of the traditional large country house, with bedroom facilities and standards which often exceed expectations and complement spacious, relaxing public areas.With 107 bedrooms, self-catering lodges, apartments and 10 function suites we can cater for your needs whether it is leisure or business purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Atholl Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Palace Pitlochry
Hotel Atholl Palace
Atholl Palace Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing